Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

i have fibromyalgia and my left shoulder has been having muscle spasms so bad that i could hardly move my neck and i was taking flexril and all that did was cause dizziness and then my doctor gave me methocarbamal 500 mg 2 tabs.. 4xs a day and that works for my spasms and i have had no side effects and i do not take them with my tramadol either. my advice for anyone trying out new meds.. do not ta...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I just started it two days ago, so I really don't know.

Shared reviews and ratings

LET'S GO BRANDON | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/28/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have many issues with my back I broke it back in 93 t 6 7 and 8, lumbar issues about AP lateral lumbar fusion at l5 s1 I have cervical issues are supposed to have surgery on my neck too but been on lots of meds this one didn't help at all the best muscle relaxer out there the old one it's called soma it's the only spasm medication that really works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lower lumbar arthritis with chronic and occasional acute pain. I've tried neurontin and flexiril in the past that I couldn't tolerate. Methocarbamol 500 MG along with tylenol and ibuprofen works quite well to dull pain for 4-6 hours. Also in physical therapy. Hope its effectiveness continues and I get back to normal soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken maybe 10 of the 500mg since I first got these on 6-28-22. I take them as needed. They do help with the pain in my shoulder. However, I have gotten 2 nosebleeds in the last 2 days. I haven't had a nosebleed in probably 10 years. And this is the only new medication that I've taken in awhile. Maybe it's interacting with one of my other Rx. Maybe it's a problem just with methocarbamol. Don't know.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Backpainsux | 45-54 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/2/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr prescribed 500 mg, then later 750 mg of methocarbamol.Historically took 4mg tizanidine for muscle spasms. Every body handles medications differently but tizanidine has been much more effective, however side effects are drowsiness. Did not encounter much drowsiness on methocarbamol, however if its ineffective for my muscle spasms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the recommended dose, but the only thing I seem to get is waking up to gut pain. Honestly, I do not notice much of a benefit. One extra strength Tylenol plus one Advil works much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't noticed any benefits after a week. The only change I feel is being much more gasy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy wanderer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it for muscle spasm caused by severe stenosis in the lumbar spine. I tried it at bedtime and it is like having a cup of coffee before bedtime (opposite of usual side effect) - it takes a long time to get to sleep and my sleep is short and restless. Taking a combination of methocarbamol and acetaminophen in the morning and again 6 hours before bedtime seems to help during the day and then I use a different muscle relaxant at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kbrint | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking it my pain goes away for about 2 hours. I then have to wait until I am able to use my next dose. After taking them for two days I started getting angry over things I typically wouldn’t. Aggression is my only side effect with this drug. I am diagnosed bipolar depression- hope this helps someone. I have now stopped taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it at night for back pain. Woke me up 4 hours later due to gas and stomach ache. Exploded the toilet...back still hurts. Not a fan of this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pinched nerve & does not help in any way

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a major car accident resulting in 8 broken ribs and a fractured lower back. The Dr prescribed 500mg tablets to take 1 & 1/2 every 6 hours. After a week I started having twitching in my lower jaw and upper thighs very intensely so he took me off and switched me to fleril. The only side effect from this medication I experienced was blurred vision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gives you a stomach ache and nothing else No pain relief whatsoever better off just taking a paracetamol table Been using for 4 days and have no given up. 100% don’t bother with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had on onset of sudden and very severe lower back pain for no apparent reason. Went to ER to rule out spinal injury and Kidney stones/infection. CT and labs are normal so they sent me home with this. It’s been two days and the pain is better but definitely not gone. This med really doesn’t seem to do anything but make me sleep (which is a plus because the pain has been horrific) and constipated (definite minus). I am going to continue to take it and I start PT tomorrow. Good luck to everyone! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking flexiril for months and it didn’t seem to work. This seems to be better so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KnowKnees | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 4000 MG./per day of methocarbamol for both chronic and acute pain for approximately one month. I've been severely suffering from chronic pain syndrome for the past 20-plus years and have tried just about everything available. Unfortunately, I'm also a rapid metabolizer of the vast majority of pain medications that I've tried. Very few pain medications (regardless of the dose) are truly effective at treating my condition. Consequently, methocarbamol has not really been very effective for me (big surprise), however, I have been fortunate to not experienced any type of side effects fron taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolute crap !! Might as well be taking sugar pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has not worked for a single back spasm. I can not recommend this personally but others seem to have better luck. It seems like a mixed bag.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cervicalpain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had multiple spine and cervical surgeries and they’ve had me try all of the different muscle relaxers to reduce pain and spasms and methocarbomol has been the only one with noticeable help. I don’t notice side effects, and it doesn’t make me feel high or foggy which is a huge plus for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given after knee revision and it worked great on my spasms. Would recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nonnie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/11/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for leg spasms that were very painful, waking me up several times a night!I was also having hand spasms with severe cramping due to my dystonia. This medication brought the spasms down to once a night, with some nights being spasm free! However.. I was experiencing almost every side effect listed except convulsions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More