Show ratings & reviews for

2.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I take methyldopa (aldomet) for pregnancy induced hypertension (postpartum). Dr. started me on atenolol (100 mg) which didn't lower the BP enough, so she added methyldopa (250 mg, 3 times a day). This worked. I now take it only 2 times a day and it is still working. At first felt very tired when taking it, but now I've gotten used to the drugs and have no side effects.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I took 250 mg 3 times a day for over a month and it did nothing for me. I had no side effects but what good is that if it dont work.

Shared reviews and ratings

MethyldopaSucks | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for months, and no change at all. One pill a day, then 2, then 3, now I'm on 4 a day and there's still no difference whatsoever. I'd go on something else but we want to try for a baby, and apparently there is nothing else. Absolute rubbish medication. 0 stars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SINCE I BEEN TAKING THIS MEDICINE ITS MAKES MY LEFT SIDE HURT ONLY AND MY CHEST KEEP TIGHTING WHAT SHOULD BE DONE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TeeLife | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sweat when i carry out any activity and feel so lazy about walking even the shortest distance because my legs feel so heavy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scared but want a baby | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/11/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m trying to get pregnant and I have hbp. Iâ??ve been taking this drug 2x a day at 500. Now because itâ??s not working, my doctor wants to increase it to 3x per day at 500 each. Like another poster stated, Iâ??m scared. I need a drug that works. Iâ??m very tired, dizzy and bones ache. And of course my pressure is still high itâ??s making me lose hope with getting pregnant because Iâ??m thinking of going back to my losartin which controlled my hbp better that this drug, but I canâ??t get pregnant while on it. Just frustrated ladies! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/25/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for almost 4 years. I was put on it when I became pregnant. It has managed my blood pressure even while I was pregnant. The only side effect I seem to have is extreme fatigue. I am tired all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmyDS | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this since we wanted to get pregnant. First I was so tired I wanted to collapse, I slept almost all day, my legs would go numb while I was walking, that subsided then I started having bad chest pains, every day, lowest pressure had gone down to 138/upper 80s. Chest pain continued to get worse. I ended up going to ER from feeling like I was going to pass out several times in a few mins... my blood pressure was very high and heart rate was 120s... my hands and feet started going numb. I stopped taking this because it continued to get worse. I was constantly in and out the ER for this.I thought I was dying and going to have a heart attack. After some research I found out this med causes chest pain and linked to anxiety which I NEVER had before and took me 7 month to over come the panic it started.My pressure and heart rate continued to get worse and in what they consider dangerous limits they added labetolol along with the methyldopa 250 2x a day and had no effect... was 190/122 still to high, then added toprol xl.. I ended being sent to a cardiologist by my GP and having a full cardiac work up I'm healthy it was just the methyldopa. I am now on sectral which is also a class b for pregnancy and having no issues.., this med caused me so much stress and tons of medical bills to be constantly told we don't know why it's happening you are healthy. Thank God for the cardiologist I would have probably had a stroke or heart attack if he hadn't figured out it was the methyldopa... please be careful if you take this drug!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched to Methyldopa from Norvasc and Cozaar because I'm thinking about getting pregnant. Have been on 250mg twice a day for about 2 weeks. Experienced terrible side effects - dizziness, nausea, swelling of legs and feet, excessive sleepiness, decreased appetite, weight gain. Didn't even reduce my bp. At my last appt, they took my bp 5 times and the average was 165/105. Before starting Methyldopa, on just Norvasc, it was 135/80. My doctor just increased my dosage to 500mg 3 times a day. I'm scared... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kmilz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/4/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to be alone in this, but I suffered no side effects except the decreased blood pressure. My nephrologist put me on it for the duration of my first pregnancy, and I have taken it for 2 more months while trying to conceive again. No problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dots | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this because it was safe to get pregnant on. Within a month of taking it I was sleeping between 16-20 hours a day and could barely keep myself awake. This caused lots of muscle and joint pain and ultimately very painful chest pain. After getting the chest pain, I stopped taking it. A couple days later, I went to the ER where they diagnosed me with atypical chest pain. (Inflamed sternum/ribs etc) They also said it was because I STOPPED taking the medication. When I followed up with my primary, she told me it was good that I stopped taking the medication. About a week after stopping, and having taken my anti-inflammatory, everything was back to normal. I started up on Lisinopril and everything has been okay since.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

feet/ankle/leg swelling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redtbar | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this yesterday. 250mg 2x daily. I am tired and very sick to my stomach. The pharmacy said to give it a couple of days. I have not called my doctor yet I am still not sure. We are trying to conceive so I was told this is my only route.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mommy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was terrible I had every side effect and it did not control my BP I would not recommend it to anyone I spent more time in the ER and the hospital for serious side effects then I did at home while I was taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Methyldopa for the last 18 months (250mg, 3x/day). I have HBP which is secondary to Polycystic Kidney disease. I started taking it because my partner and I are TTC. After 11 months of trying I became pregnant but lost the baby 3 months later (that was 2 months ago). Today I went to the Dr. because my BP was 156/113 (at home - after having rested for 15 minutes). The Dr. informed me that sometimes this medication stops working after a while (or rather, your body gets used to it and therefore it doesn't respond in the same way). My options were to increase it to 500mg, 3x/day or switch to Atenolol. My Dr. said Atenolol is safe during pregnancy but I've heard and read the opposite. Does anyone have experience with this medication? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shanell | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I was started on this medication, because I became pregenant and have an issue with HBP. I was started on 500mg twice a day, then moved up to 500mg three times a day. This medication has helped some with my HBP, however I still lost the baby. I started spotting and still is spotting. I'm wondering if this drug had anything to do with me losing the baby???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bizzybee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/29/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took meds after developing HBP and Trying to conceive. Dosage was upped 500mg 3x a day after 8 months. It helped my BP...for a while. It stopped working, FATIGUE, mood changes, dizzy feeling all the time period stopped for 2months after final dosage increased. Liver function test show elevated levels and I switched to labetalol last week. My doc is testing me for Liver function, HEP B and HEP C which happen to be side effects. I will not recommend this drug for anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amber | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this medication because my husband and I wanted to try for a baby. Took it for 1 year and suffered through extreme fatigue, extreme dry mouth, muscle pains, lack of motivation, dizziness. Had no ambition to leave home at least not before a nap. Continued to take hoping it was best for possible pregnancy. Never got pregnant. After doing more research found this could make pregnancy difficult. Switched to Labeteol 2 weeks ago and still trying. So far side effects from Methyldopa are gone! Finally some energy!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this med b/c we are trying to get pregnant, this one should be safe for my baby. After one week of taking twice a day, my BP was back down to 110/78. I have seen it as high as 174/102, so this is great news. The first 3-4 doses I did get a little sleepy and dizzy feeling but for those results I will sleep for a bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently switched to Methyldopa in June of this year. My husband and I are planning on extending our family so this was a safe medication for me. I was currently on Micardis which I didn't like. Methyldopa has been fantastic. I have no side effects and my blood pressure has been great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with 250 mg twice daily, and then after three weeks was moved to 500 mg twice daily. This was to decrease the chances of me fainting due to side effects. I have experienced dry mouth, dizziness, and a few other mild side effects but they always go away within 3-5 days. I am also trying to conceive, so I was switched to this from diovan. I recommend anyone taking it to up the dose slowly - it has really saved me a lot of trouble and now my BP is under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More