Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

I have taken Penicillin VK for tooth infection. This medication works very effectively for the infection. I have seen many comments on this drug with people saying they are still in pain. Pen VK does not treat the pain of the tooth infection it just takes care of the infection. I would be better to ask your dentist or doctor for a pain medication to take with the Pen VK. The only time Pen VK gives...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

SPIT UP BLOOD

Shared reviews and ratings

N/A | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums and Mouth
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked well for my infected tooth, but I felt nauseous after an hour taking it, then got sick with a fever the next couple of days later, and was throwing up due to this medication. Now I have anxiety about being nauseous and throwing up for the rest of my life. I blame it on penicillin. Glad it was burned at the dump when my parents threw it away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2016
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication for infection prevention from the dentist pulling my tooth. The only thing I noticed different for me is the smell of my urine and I have been spotting blood between my cycle. I have another week to go, and I started spotting the day I started taking these pills. I know spotting is common naturally between periods, however, I haven't spotted before. I use the app 'MyDays' and it works to the T and never had any issues regarding that, until now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2016
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Experienced extreme nausea with this, though it wasn't as severe when taken with food. Unfortunately even after a ten day course of penicillin vk, I ended up with step again 3 weeks later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2016
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two days taking it I feel worse than before going to dentist. Stomach bloated, ear ache and sores on my gum. And take 4 times daily, you got to be kidding.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2015
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused stomach discomfort that lasted for weeks after I stopped the med. I stopped it early as advised by the dentist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michele | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2014
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had strep throat after taking 2 pills (every 12 hours) I felt SO much better, Didnt even feel like i was sick anymore, GREAT medicine!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
11/28/2013
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SPIT UP BLOOD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smekcs | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2013
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no side effects for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2013
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was precribed this medication for Strep Throat & it has done it's job killing the virus, but the side effects aren't great for me. Extremely naseaus, upset stomach, with a mild heaache all the time. I hadn't eaten in 4 days when I started taking the med because of my illness & continued with little food intake for the 10 day duration of my prescription. People who are complaining that this drug doesn't take away pain are correct;this drug is NOT a pain medication & will not help your pain, but will kill bacteria that might be causing your pain. If it kills the bacteria then it's working as it is supposed to & as it's intended.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OneLove | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2013
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had strep throat I was prescribed this 3 times a day for 10 days and after about 3 to 4 days my throat started to feel better after about 6 days I was completely healed. YOU MUST FINISH ALL THIS MEDICATION EVEN IF YOUR SYMPTOMS ARE NO LONGER PRESENT OR THE INFECTION WILL COME BACK HARDER AND STRONGER WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME! I had only one side effect from this medication it made me really sleep and drowsy but other than that im happy it took out that strep. Stay healthy my friends!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allen2280 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2012
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stop the ear aches after the second day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Caregiver
11/10/2012
Condition: Chorea Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kk | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dentist has me taking these pills 4 times a day, every 6 hours. its to rid of any bacteria that might be in my mouth for my wisdom teeth to be removed so no sure how effective its being as of now. however, this pill makes me so irritable, tired, space out, and sick to my stomach. I hate taking it, it taste like a rubber band, and i can hardly function like myself. If I'm ever told i have to take this again, i'll opt for something different next time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
windy92 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2012
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reaction to this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chrismac | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/20/2012
Condition: Scarlet Fever
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter (5 yrs) was diagnosed with scarlet fever and this was prescribed. It's cleared up the infection very quickly and she appears to be making a good recovery however, one of the side effects not listed is that it's badly stained her teeth. Really not happy about this, her teeth were perfect until this drug, now it looks like she's never brushed them. Grateful she's so much better, but sad that her pearly whites are ruined :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bozy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2012
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2012
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not work for me. Second day on drug caused stomach cramps, diarrea, and vomiting which caused me to miss another day of school. Quit taking medicine and the stomach problems subsided.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ssltset | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums and Mouth
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Infection under the Crown of my tooth. I was given pain killers as well but by the third day I was able to go without any pain killers so I am pleased with this Antibiotic. No side effects that I know of!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jayson | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this med because of pharyngitis.. Help the first day..Then the second days all symptoms returned.... Why would they work 1 day then not work for you the next?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2011
Condition: Infection Prevention from Tooth Extraction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Penicillin VK for tooth infection. This medication works very effectively for the infection. I have seen many comments on this drug with people saying they are still in pain. Pen VK does not treat the pain of the tooth infection it just takes care of the infection. I would be better to ask your dentist or doctor for a pain medication to take with the Pen VK. The only time Pen VK gives pain relief is when the infection is gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More