Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

After using this med for over 40 years,my only quibble is that it does make you sleepy! Be that as it may,it works...and you do learn to adapt!

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was on this drug more then 20 yrs.. yes it worked ok...(BUT I'M DISABLED NOW PLUS HAD 3 KIDS WHEN TAKING THIS DRUG AT THAT TIME THEY SAID IT WAS SAFE ALL 3 SLOW LEARNERS, JOINTS ALL MESSED UP I HATE IT. THEY SAID IT WELL BE SAFE RIGHT!!!!!!!!!! ME 6 KNEE SURY ,BACK,NECK,ALL MY JOINTS ALL SHOT OUT BECAUSE OF THIS MED..TEETH MESSED UP JUST MESSED MY LIFE UP AND BLESS MY KIDS THEM TOO..THEY DON'T K...

Shared reviews and ratings

Grateful | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had grand mal seizures starting in 1957 when I became pregnant with third child. I was put on Dilantin which caused a lot of problems with my gums and did not control my seizures. I changed drs and was taken off Dilantin and put on 100 mg of Phenobarbital to be taken at bedtime. Iâ??ve not had a seizure since 1983 ( my 36th yr seizure free) I have no problems with teeth or gums, I sleep well, and I have not had to increase my dose. Far superior drug for me than Dilantin. I am 85- no bone problems. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pamish67 | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/29/2018
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my first seizure(grand mal)at age 15. After one year the doctors discontinued my use of it, chalking the seizure up to hormones. Within a few weeks I life changing grand mal seizure and spent 6 weeks in the hospital undergoing skin grafts and reconstructive surgeries. That was when the doctors put me back on phenobarb and officially diagnosed my epilepsy. I have taken this medication for 36 years now and my only seizures have been while I wasn't taking it. At age 51 I am just now experiencing some of the side effects, specifically bone/back issues, but it is worth the sacrifice to be seizure-free.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Garvy | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/7/2016
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this drug for over 30 years and now had a seizure due to being toxic. My doctor has put me on Keppra, what can I expect from this drug? Will it keep the seizures away?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan H | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/18/2016
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking phenobarbital since 1983. I am now 69 years old. It has controlled my simple partial seizures very well, with few side effects. At first it made me sleepy, that I got over that long ago. Dosage has been adjusted a few times over the years, but I have been happy with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glace | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/22/2015
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well no side effects been on for 31 years now tried other drugs and where not effect at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ramsxx | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/23/2015
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

well had 1st sz at age 13,been on it for 38 yrs,until a doctor wanted to play god and twice refusing me the med(after 38 yrs of suces),and his refusal resulted in a 30,000 van roll-over,now I have to pay a nuero 150 twice a yr for a $11 drug,but it works for me,as my sz give no warning,feb 2015.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
faith | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/29/2014
Condition: Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pheno was always used conjuctively with many other anticonvulsants since I was 17 years old gran mal. Over time (40 years) I found out that it was the phenobarb that was REALLY doing the job all by itself. If the activity increased , I added 30mg per hour (always within safe parameters) till the activity stopped. Then gradually reduced to standard dose. All the other meds have terrible side effects and huge dosages which. Phenobarb does effect bone mass, but at 57, I probably would have had the problem anyway. The alternatives were no less appealing, however, I have not had a gran mal in many decades with just this one drug. I agree with the other review. Old drugs don't necessarily mean bad. Each person is different with tolerances right along with it. Phenobarb does make you feel tired to one degree or another. Memory? well at my age its going the way of the dodo like all my friends. I just personnally feel we are overdrugged in general . Neurologists are doing their best, but my body gives me the info I really need. Help them to help you. Then, as epileptics, we only choose our poison. At least , we have that. God BlessRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sah | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/18/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

epilepsy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bpperk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

is it used to treat alcohol addiction

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
christopher | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im on 3 drugs at the moment Keppra Laosamide and now phenobrbital how can i tell which one is working!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phenobarbital | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/27/2013
Condition: Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking phenobarbital for 51 years and have never had any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/19/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed for my Boston Terrier dog who was experiencing seizures. She was taking it twice a day, and did very well until a month after the first seizure and had another one, had to up her dose.. so far it just makes her sleepy but shes doing great on on this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
freebrd06 | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was given to me by my parents as an infant because they thought I was too much of a handful. I was hoping to find a negetive finding for giving to infants or toddlers!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lstrm | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/3/2012
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Phenobarbital for 28 years for tonic clonic seizures. Next week, I will be off of it after spending 3 years s-l-o-w-l-y reducing my dose with my neuro. It has a lot of positives. It works, is cheap, and is easy. The negatives are staggering, however. Phenobarbital is a major depressive. If you are on much of a dose at all, plan on also taking an antidepressant. It changes your brain chemistry. Forever. Studies were finally done in the early 2000s on its impact on the unborn. It decreases our babies in utero. Their cognition is decreased. Forever. The list goes on, but those are the "biggies" to me. Thankfully, Topamax works for me too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
N/A | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps better than my max dosage of xanax and cloazapam both together.......not great, but more affective than benzos after the benis stop wrkng

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zerostate | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lately I have been taking this for clonic movements originated by stress at work. I had tried up to 4-5 different BZPs and they always stop working after a few monthsI don't want to up the dose anymore than I already have fpr valium, xanax, ativan, klonopin, et al; in case I get "out of it" and inadvertently damage something/hurt someone from inattentiveness. 100-300mg of this, taken every 2-4 days, helps to relax me and most importantly stops my stress-related spasms temporarily. I know there are alot of contraindications, and I use almost all of them, particularly alcohol (no more than 2 drinks day, usually drink six days of the week). I worried about contraindications including alcohol as well as other CNS depressants (e.g. BZDs, antihistamines, opioids(. Thanks!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/1/2012
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is for my Dachshund (canine) for severe seizures by her vet. She doesn't seem to have any problems but can this drug cause weight gain?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jini | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/24/2012
Condition: Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its very easy to use to my child..but after 2 years of usage,her eeg still abnormal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy101 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/16/2011
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

love it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2011
Condition: Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been a significant improvement over the medication I had been on for many years. No recurrence of seizures and no problem with droziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More