Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

had leg cramps - started taking med and they went away. Stopped med and they came back

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

have been given this med for leg cramps. i now have all the symptoms of malaria. chills like hypo thermia,sever sweating fever,eyes burning slight cough.symptoms started 3 days after taking meds . will try and hang in until tommorrow,to see doctor.

Shared reviews and ratings

kilbylumber | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a type 1 diabetic and have suffered severe leg, chest, neck and back cramps since I was 6. I take diet Quine tonic water with splenda. I use to use Kroger brand, but it has aspertane. I drink it 50-50 with diet fruit punch drinks. I also take calcium with magniesium which helps alot too. Make sure you don't take too much potassium if you have kidney problems. THis is a life saver. Neck cramps feel like someone is choking you, and having upper leg cramps for 10-20 min can and will produce pain. Waist Watchers has the splenda tonic water and I find it at Ingles supermarkets.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marlle62 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

spastic leg movements and severe leg cramps. taking tonic water with low dose quinine has been effective in lessening the severity of my symptoms

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SNOINPA | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I USED 12 GRAINS OF QUININE FROM 1955 TO ABOUT 1984 THEN I WAS FORSED TO USE 5 GRAIN UP TILL 1997, THEN I COULD NO LONGER GET QUININE. WHY BEATS ME I USED IT OR ALLEEGS, LEG CRAMPS, AND FLU BUG. PLEASE RESTORE QUININEWI NEVER HAD A SIDE EFFECT. NOW BEING INMY 70'S I WOULD USE IT IFI COULD GET IT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rusty | 75 or over | Female | Patient
7/18/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use no pills,just Schweppes tonic water w/quinine in it, miraculous, NO MORE CRAMPS, half cup before bed. Good luck

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not use this on a regular basis but when a spasm comes on, i take a pill and it works!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prevents leg terrible leg cramps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmwadde | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also have used this drug for cramping of the inner thigh, legs and toes. I have tried other drugs but nothing works as well as this. I've been using it for several years now and suffered no repercusions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bevk | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even if it hasn't been "proven" effective for leg cramps, it works better than anything else. It also provides immediate results usually within 1/2 hour. Now health insurance won't pay for it being used this way, but if you have severe large muscle cramps, such as inner thigh, this does work to stop them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used for severe colds when I was 4 thru 12. They had a cold medicine also that was called Bromo-Quinine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered for years with leg cramps and have been using quinine for the past ten years without any side effects. It has been a saviour for many a sleepless knight due to the leg cramps. I can't get it in the US and have to go to Canada to get an RX filled as I can't afford the cost in the US and my medical does not cover it. My md will no longer give me an RX and I am at a loss as to what else to use. Miraplex does not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pamela | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has not worked for me. I have very itchy lower arms and stomach pains. It also leaves a very bitter taste in mouth as well. I think I would rather do without

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jerryb2339 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So the doctors would not let me use this drug for my very severe leg cramps. Instead....they recommended that I drink Tonic water (I was skeptical that it could not possibly be strong enough). My cramps have subsided about 75-90%. I drink about 2 glasses a day (and try to drink some before bed. I'm not crazy about drinking the sugar in the tonic water, but it's a trade off

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eliminated night time leg cramps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
valhallamaster | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Jerky spasms of the leg when I am going to sleep. Not cramps. I have been taking one capsule of Quinine Sulfate 300 mg (APO) every third day for over two years. I have found it to be completely effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To treat leg cramps at night has relived severe cramps but still get cramps at night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olliechops | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered with leg night cramps and taking one 200g tablet every night has stopped the cramps. Additionally, I am now able to really have a good body stretch when I wake up without getting cramp.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GreenThumb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/22/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to get "charley horses" in my legs that were so severe that I would wake up screaming--more than once I scared my husband out of his wits to the point he was ready to call an ambulance! I Took "Qualiquin" (I think that was the name) for many years; worked GREAT! Now the FDA has decreed that it doesn't work on leg cramps. Hmph! Obviously, no-one there has had cramps like the kind I experienced. Fortunately, I found a homeopathic remedy. Have to take 4 or 5 tablets to get the same effect, since homeopathic remedies are so diluted & weak. But I think my body got sensitized to the quinine & now accepts it in any dosage. I found out I can still buy quinine sulfate without insurance--but at over $800 for a 90 day supply, that's way beyond my budget.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary jordan | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/13/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took quinine for years to prevent nocturnal leg cramps, until the FDA took it away---yes I have severe tinnitis, but it does not effect my hearing--I am 78 yrs old and can hear a spider walk across the floor---lately I have started having frequent leg cramps at night--sometimes 5 or 6 a night, which, needless to say, interrupts my sleep a great deal--I want to start back taking quinine even if I have to order it from Canada

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/1/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience cramps in my feet and the drug works almost immediately. My doctor told me the drug is no longer available. I'm researching to find out if that is true.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/29/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the only way I can get relief from severe leg and foot cramps at night. I normally one 325 mg capsule about twice to three times a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More