Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with benign hand tremors by my neurologist. I was prescribed Primidone 50mg. This stuff is great, no more hand tremors and a return of strength to the effected hand. I was a little drowsy the first week of taking it, but when taken at bedtime, it can actually help you sleep. Now, I don't get the sleepy side effects, but my hand is tremor free. Even if I miss a dose, my hand im...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My daughter takes this drug for essential tremors. The tremors have helped minisculey but I don't like what it's doing to her face. She looks like a chipmunk. Her checks are so puffed out. I have to decide if the slight improvement is worth her looking like a freak

Shared reviews and ratings

dt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/1/2020
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lowly worked up to 200 mil a day. tremors still there. waiting for dr appt to get go ahead to increase dosage. so far not satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2019
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking primidone for a few weeks. Propranolol,after many years stopped working for me. It also lowered my blood pressure I was instructed to take 50 mg at night, and the nest day I was shocked to see that I didn't spill the coffee. That wore off after a week or so and I am up to 100 mg now at night. Very active nightmares and some nausea but I was told the side effects would pass. Hope so. There is some hand shaking if I am anxious but so much better than at the end of propranolol Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rskloanman | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: Excessive Involuntary Trembling
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pills are easy to take. I am however experiencing some loss of concentration while on this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2018
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can't say it worked. Didn't last a week, serious depression. Needed to stay with friends for a few days. Have been on many antiepileptic drugs and this was the worst!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr_Dave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/7/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm still not sure of my dosage. The tablets are small and round - not square like the ones pictured here. I take two every morning and two every evening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told to start at 150 mgs. at bedtime. I did a and slept for about 36 hours. The next night I dropped the dose to 25 and increased it by 25 Mgs. every week. It helped my Tremors by 50% when I reached 175 mgs. I could not get any higher because It's the most sedating drug I have ever been on. I'm on other drugs that cause sedation but I didn't have a problem and didn't need to drink caffeine before starting it. I still have to take .25mgs of Valium twice a day to control Tremors. It also helped my chronic migraines a lot but due to having to take hight doses of caffeine to function, I started getting Migraines again. I have decided to taper off the medicine and go back on Neurontin 300 Mgs at bedtime which worked better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 80 years old. Have had shaky hands as far back as I can remember. I always managed OK until recently when the tremors increased to the point where it was embarrassing and difficult to function. Pyrimidine stopped this and now my hands are normal. Still shaky when anxious but that's OK.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first noticed my Essential tremors in my left hand and facial muscles in my early 50's. By the time I was 60 it was becoming bothersome, lips would tremble, it was difficult to screw the top back on the toothpaste, I was dropping glasses, my wife would have to carry my plates at dinner or a buffet. After seeing a neurologist I was prescribed up to 125mg of Primidone taken towards bed time. Everything is quite manageable now and I sleep great at night. I'm very satisfied with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SpiderWebb | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2016
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am 77 year old male. Have used propanolol since I was 42. Had ET since I was 14. Cardiac Dr. said propanolol was damaging my heart valves and took me off it because I developed afib. Neurologist put me on 50mg Primidone twice daily. About 90% decrease in tremors. Am left handed and could not write or eat with it. Lots of sandwiches. LOL I experienced foot and hand swelling and roof of mouth is tender. Slight stagger now and then. I sleep a lot. 9-10 hours. Never felt so rested. I never knew my body was taunt like a guitar string but the Primidone relaxed all the tightness. Some of the large muscle spastic moves remain but are vastly decreased. Very satisified. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinecone | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started out on 25mg tablet, but when tried cut the 50mg tablet in half as instructed by my Dr they shattered. So I up myself to 50mg, my Dr was OK with that. But I still shake, I'm left handed and that's the one that shakes the worst. So I have about ruined all my shirts from trying to eat and spilling on me. I take primidone when I'm going to bed. No side effects so far. I think I'm up my dose to 100mg when I go to bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/28/2016
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I was taking primidone I was on the non-generic form Mysoline. Thats how long i've been taking this drug. it has helped stabilize my seizurzes so they are almost non-existent. 2 250 mg pills a day plus my other meds and i'm fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/14/2016
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on medication now for 7 month originally 125 mg twice a day, was to have worked up to full dosage...right away server stomach problems, headaches,tired like loss of energy, dry mouth.... cut back to 125 mg in a.m.....side affects continued....now going to come off Primidone...I do not believe my tremor improved

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
accustomed | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/13/2016
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of imbalance, loss good coordination, and some mental impairment were by no means desirable, but surely was better than the alternative of uncontrolled spells and seizures. The medication has worked well for me in that respect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PaxGeist | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a 50 mg dose the first night and it made me very sleepy, I then took 50 every other night for a few days then stayed on 100 mg per night. Tremors in my hand subsided, I can use a spoon and shave without shaking. Dreams are very vivid and quite good at times. Aside from that no side effects. Take it with or after eating and all is well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gramma RosaLee | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/23/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

71 yr old female. 50mg TID. Essential Head Tremors. Embarrassed when many children asked why my head shakes. Side effects: nightmares lasted a week or so. Numbness of hands occurs occasionally. Very effective. Head only shakes when I am trying to do something very quickly. Primodone works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RosaLee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Primidone 4 years ago. Because of side effects I stopped and changed to Propranolol for my essential head tremors. After too many friends and family commenting on my head shaking I went back to Primidone 50mg tid. I was determined to get pass all the awful side effects, nausea, night mares, tingling and coldness of extremities and more. After a few weeks the side effects subsided and my head tremors decreased. Head tremors are not eliminated because my head shakes when I concentrate on something like reading instructions. Sometimes I know my head is shaking and I tell myself to calm down. Rarely does anyone comment on me having head tremors. I recommend Primidone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jitterbug | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This made a significant difference in my tremors, they are not gone but are considerably less noticable. I work in an office, typing is a large part of my day and I have noticed I have to correct less double letter errors caused by the tremors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems after taking the medication for two months the tremors had returned some. I had also started to develop headaches and dreams that were scary as if hallucinating. Also developed constipation even with increasing fiber and fruit intake. Had to stop taking the medication. Tremors have retuned 100% but side affects were worse for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rc | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

crazy stuff crazy dreams I take 50mg at bedtime but I feel great also get botox shots in my neck also helps with shanking of head

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More