Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have Multiple Sclerosis and one of my greatest complaints was that my knees always felt like they were grinding. I couldn't be on my feet but a few minutes at a time,and I walked w/ a limp. But after taking this for about 2 weeks the pain is barely there and my walk is almost back to normal. Although it was prescribed to get rid of my daily headaches it worked wonders for my legs.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

After takiing this for 3 weeks I experienced a severe red blistering rash from the top of my head to the bottoms of my feet.

Shared reviews and ratings

Carole | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/27/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drug for decades when my arthritis flares. It reduces the pain and inflammation considerably, and, since it doesn't affect platelets, I am able to use it before and after surgery. I think it's great! But why isn't it covered under Medicare prescription plans??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
willinPA | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2015
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took about a week before effective, but since then I can get around like a teenager. I'm impressed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
salsalate | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cannot afford to maintain the price of the medication. $175 per month at Walmart!! What equivalent cheaper medication can I take?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems seen for years.Price has gone very high.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
my_pain | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only on this medication for 4 days. caused more ringing in my ears, burning in my throat and stomach and already take medication for my stomach 2 x daily, but burning increased. swealling in feet and hands and nauseaed since taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/16/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not like this JUNK as it does not work at all.I had rather have nothing than this trash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cathiej | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been off my previous NSAID for 3 1/2 months and was in so much pain from the swelling of my knee and then it went into my hip and my shoulders too. I have been on this medication since Aug 16th and my knee is so much better. It is even better than when I was on the other NSAID. It is not cured, because I have bone on bone, but better than before and much better than having to endure a knee replacement at this time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/13/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the 1970's, Salsalate was used in the treatment of diabetes. Now it is more likely to be used for Osteo-Arthritis. It is known to have less harm on the blood platelets. Source: Endocrinologist, Pittsburg, PA

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dottiew | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get better relief from over the counter ibuprofen 400mg every 12 hours, where i am taking 1500mg twice a day of the salsalate and getting very little relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tinear | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took this for one week- did not relieve any pain from plantar fasciitis - did develop tinnitis - quit taking on Dr.s advise - still have tinnitis after 3 weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glopac | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it takes care of the pain but it dosent last long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

real long time to work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had two back surgeries, one disc related, other one scar tissue from first surgeryl Also, arthritis in neck, hands and back. Cannot and do not want to take any type of narcotic pain medicatiion. I did use Vioxx, but had a reaction to it, so back to salsalate - it was called Monogesic when I first started taking it. Doctor said it would be easiest on my somewhat sensitive stomach--and since 1986 it has worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dwbvab | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2012
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

with having only 18% OF MY SMALL INTESTINE AND NOTHING else left. I think I am not getting the full dose nabsorbd into my system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems to help me alot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/22/2011
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have tried all kinds of things and haven't found anything yet that really helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works for me with no side effects.I take 750mg three times a day for Still's Disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coffeeaddict | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in pain for most of my joints. Ibuprophen worked ok, Dr changed to this he feels is less risky. I have had significant results on 750mg 2x a day. It has made the pain tollerable and I am able to do much more than before. However, there is a lapse in between when I am hurting. I would recommend this to other meds such as prednisone, celebrex, etc... I think those have higher risk of heart attack and stroke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LittleRedLioness | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More