Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking this for a couple months and am pretty satisfied. I take it at night because I sometimes experience nausea with medication. I experienced three side effects: breasts swelling (went from a c cup to a d cup), vaginal dryness, and extended periods. My periods are now more regular, but I went from three days to five. For those who sometimes forget to take their pill, I suggest an app ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this just a month or two ago and I am already having bad side effects, for one, I've had a full on period for three weeks now, I even skipped the period week and went straight to my new cycle. For two I keep getting super nauseous some days, I don't even want to move. Three I've been getting blurred vision like crazy and massive migraines hat have me in tears. Was on ortho tri cyc...

Shared reviews and ratings

Gggggfgghhh | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2022
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no side effects and it has gave me energy. I have no headache or cramping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mainly take this medication to skip as many periods as I can because they make me extremely dysphoric. My doctor called this in because my regular brand was out of stock at the time. Since taking this I've been spotting badly, getting headaches, and my joints hurt like hell. I took a week off because that usually fixed the occasional spotting on my old brand, but I've been bleeding for almost three weeks now and my actual period was heavier than it's ever been- I went through 4 overnight pads in an 8 hour work shift. I'm calling my doctor to call in for my old brand and marking it as medically necessary for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hailey | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First month using it, so far I had really heavy period with bad cramps. Umm it’s like I’m not even on birth control! I will try the next 2 months and see. But it worries me that it causes blood clots, kinda sus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lmacie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Mibelas 24 Fe for eight months, and developed blood clots in both of my lungs, I spent 4 days in the hospital and have only been out of the hospital 2 days. I don’t know the long term effect of this , if I will be permanently damaged, but hopefully don’t die from this! This drug is made in India, and distributed from Maryland, USA and is generic! Our insurance companies have to stop using out of country made drugs and these cheap generic drugs! I am so scared I can’t google,this right now to see the long term effects of this and I am a long distance runner and health food nut! I better be able to run again! I do marathons, but couldn’t breath when this happened! I was sick for three weeks before diagnosis! Don’t take this drug! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiley | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/12/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked well for me, besides breaking in mouth and genital sores, like I’m allergic to it. I was hospitalized for 5 days for it this past year because of the sores. I was testing for numerous things, including herpes and they all came back negative more than once. I had sores in my mucous membranes and all over my body. The year before, I got mouth sores. After being hospitalized, I kept getting sores in both areas, just not as bad. I took a break from the BC and didn’t have anything. Just started it back up less than a week ago, and developed the sores again. I’m thinking it’s an allergic reaction so no more of this for me. I’m 23 and have only had two sexual partners. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hello | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on contraceptive pills for almost 5 years, but unfortunately they discontinued my original pill. They switched me to another pill which was fine, but then my pharmacy gave me â??NORG-EEâ? which I do not recommend. I took this prescription for one week and experienced migraines, loss of appetite, depression/mood swings, and had lack of motivation. I switched it immediately because I never experienced anything so horrible (in a sense of impacting my body). It all depends on how it reacts with your body, but I will be one to say donâ??t risk trying it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this to help regulate my periods and cysts. I've been moody, crying, vomiting, and month two I started a period that's going into the next pack and it won't go away. Let's not forget I had a yeast infection the 1st month. They say allow three months but I'm miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moodswingpill | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a healthy 25 year old and began taking the pill again after giving my body a break from birth control. I am experiencing extremely bad mood swings very often and crying more than I ever have before. This definitely is not like me and I am going to stop taking this immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kittykat | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor changed me to this BC a little over a year ago. The pill does do it's job, so I am satisfied with that part, however, It does cause my face to break out sometime and it causes Melasma (Dark sun spots on the face)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IsTaCu | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After have Nexplanon and a horrible cystic acne my doctor recommend me use Starylla. I took the pills only 2 day,( before going to bed).I woke up in the middle of the night with horrible nausea and I vomited both days after 2 hours of suffering. Headache, dizzy the whole day...This does not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dontusethisbc | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this just a month or two ago and I am already having bad side effects, for one, I've had a full on period for three weeks now, I even skipped the period week and went straight to my new cycle. For two I keep getting super nauseous some days, I don't even want to move. Three I've been getting blurred vision like crazy and massive migraines hat have me in tears. Was on ortho tri cyclen for years and never had such I problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The last birth control pill I tried made me experience extreme depression. I have had no negative side effects at all with this pill! It works great! It makes my period last for a fewer amount of days, it helps clear up acne, it hasn't changed my emotional health, and I haven't gotten pregnant! The only complaint I have is the spotting when I first started taking them, but that's with every birth control pill and is manageable. I'm very satisfied with this form of birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scarr | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gone through many different types of birth control. Ones that made me depressed and very moody but this one works for me. Everyone who reads these reviews needs to understand that birth control effects everyone differently. This works for me but as I have been reading not for a lot of other woman. Give it 3 months before you decide it is right for you. Don't get discouraged, it took me two years to find the right one for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After my second baby I started getting really bad cystic acne it was driving me crazy. My derm suggested I take bc pills. I was on ortho lo brand name for close to 10 years before I had children with pretty much no problems so naturally i chose that again. Ofcourse due to insurance I was only given a generic. Lots of side effects right off the bat but I figured I would ride them out. 8 months later I'm still bloated everyday and just recently my hair started falling out. I am praying I will go back to normal after stopping this. This stuff is poison. I've had major stomach problems, headaches, bloating everyday I mean my stomach has not been flat one day since I started these. Major fatigue and just no motivation, and weight gain. The last straw my hair is falling out. Interestingly enough it has cleared my skin, but I'm not willing to be bald for clear skin.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Khaleesi | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 23 and have been using this b.c. For over a year now. I never had Acne and when I moved to Arizona I had acne all over my chin and near my mouth and wouldnt go away. After 5 months my face cleared up with this birth control and has STAYED gone. I haven't gained any weight. No mood swings. No crazy side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thinning Hair & not happy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking ortho tri cyclen lo forever about 4 years and when my insurance changed CVS switched me to this. I very long thick hair and since taking this my hair has extremely thinned out. I'm only 21 years old & shouldn't have be losing hair like this. I called my gynecologist and I am definitely switching birth control pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norgestimate-ethinyl est | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2016
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is going on 3 months, I take BC to treat PMS symptoms. The first month was hectic, nausea, vomit, very sick. That point has passed. Now it is a little weight gain, acne, and bleeding between periods. I do think everything will be alright after the 3rd month. (My fingers are crossed, I don't want to gain weight)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maduser | 55-64 | Male | Caregiver
5/2/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing as a parent of a 20 year old daughter. she was on Loryna for a couple months but the mood swings, uncontrollable crying and bf fights that came as a result were serious cause to stop taking it. visits with the doc and counselors were necessary and after a 2-3 weeks all calmed down. She was put on this instead and in 2 weeks time we were back to the same behaviors but worse. she felt like she was in an altered state and was found one night in an abandoned parking lot with a knife. Serious warnings need to come with this drug. Thank God she was found by caring friends and it all came out ok but we had several more days of endless worry until she came home from school, some 900 miles away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grumpy | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacist switched me to this medication from Ortho tricyclen low, which I was not happy about to begin with. Considering the cost went from free to over 600.00, if I wanted the brand. Therefore, I tried it. I began experiencing fatigue and extreme mood swings and no patience, which is rare. I was snapping at everyone. Also, retaining water and cramping mid month. I just returned from Obgyn, who called it "junk" and immediately put me on something else. I thought I was losing my mind. I am so relieved that others are experiencing the same symptoms. This product is terrible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gassy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I have been on this medicine for about a week and I have felt pain in my abdomen from the gas, I feel constantly nauseous, dizzy, and have had horrible mood swings. As soon as I finish my three months I am getting my prescription changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More