Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

This has a bland flavor that I wouldn't say that I liked it but it wasn't nasty. It comes flavored (I had berry), but the flavoring isn't strong enough to make it flavorful.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

This stuff was ordered for a CT scan. It is horrible tasting. I was given two sets of directions from the same place about how to take it, one guy told me to take no food or drink after midnight and drink this crud in the morning two hours before the test, the next woman told me to drink one before bed, eat some light breakfast and drink the other one hour before my test. So, which one is it pe...

Shared reviews and ratings

HeatherWasHere | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2022
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so nervous about taking this after reading horror stories on review sites. Honestly it's not that bad. It tastes sort of artificial, but it is NOT chalky. It's also not thick (the flavor says "berry smoothie" so I thought it would be thick but it's almost like the consistency of milk). I held my nose and chugged it through a straw. I was a little nauseous just from drinking two cups of liquid on an empty stomach, but not from the med itself. Did not cause diarrhea, headache, or any of the other things people report. For reference, I am a very petite white female, 39 years old, no disabilities. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redc Colon Blow | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Berry flavor. Refrigerated made it easy to consume and tolerable. I wouldn't seek it out as a refreshment, but again, it was tolerable. Yogurt drink consistency. However, I'm glad to be near a bathroom after drinking this! It ran right through me. Yikes! I almost drank it and went out grocery shopping. That would have been very unpleasant. Overall, suck it up and get 'er done.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anywho | 19-24 | Female | Patient
6/30/2021
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to drink two bottles before an abdominal CT scan. I got the banana flavor, and I must say, after having a colonoscopy last week, this stuff is a DREAM compared to colonoscopy prep haha. The taste was like a watered down banana laffy taffy, with the consistency of a yogurt drink. There was a slight metallic after taste, but it wasn’t distracting. I had no problem drinking it (honestly if you had just told me it was a regular cup of banana milk I wouldn’t have questioned you lol) Definitely recommend drinking it chilled, and with a straw! As for the side effects, it did have a bit of a laxative effect (but again no where near as much as the colonoscopy prep so my butthole was pleased) and some mild gas pain, but aside from that I would 10/10 drink this again, and now I’m craving banana yogurt Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Waystation49 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PRO Banana tastes better than most protein shakes. Very drinkable! Was extremely surprised. Years ago drank pink gunk that looked like peto bismol and chalk. This brand is light years better on flavor. CON As a bariatric revision candidate, this product did "not" work well after upper GI! Five days later, and after drinking a lot of water - even tried Coke-a-cola to dissolve this-- I still have a "rock which feels like a ball about 8" across on left side partially under rib cage. It doesn't seem to be gas as it isn't painful. It just seems "stuck." Makes it hard to get a meal eaten and water has to be sipped or drank slowly. Otherwise system seems to be "normal." Does this have a thickening agent in it like guar or xanthum gum? I have a similar problem with those food additives. Used for upper GiRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/18/2020
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The contrast is effective in providing clear imaging. The taste is not at all bad if refrigerated and a straw is used. Two bottles seems excessive given that not all people have the same kidney function. This stuff gives me terrible gastrointestinal issues for the rest of the day. Anything I eat or drink continues right on through. I'd be clean enough for a colonoscopy after my all too regular CT's!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure why so many people on here seem to be complaining of the taste or the "effects". This gave me a bit of gas, but nothing like I was expecting based on some of the other reviews. I had the Berry, and it tasted like a really watered down Otter pop. The consistence was that of melted ice cream. Trick is to drink is refrigerated cold. Overall if I had to have a CT scan in the future I would not hesitate to drink this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B 5856 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2019
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having pain above my belly button since August of 2018. This month we decided to go through with a CT scan with contrast. I picked up my Readi-Cat 2 mixed berry flavor oral prep 2 days prior to my CT Scan. After drinking my first bottle I was awake at 3AM to go diarrhea and it was a lot. After my second bottle, it increased. Be prepared for a lot of super loose and runny diarrhea. Others have complained about stomach pain but the pain is very similar to that of gas pain (nothing compared to the pain I have experienced). Going diarrhea for this long of time is super agitating. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bkprice | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2019
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was told to drink 2 bottles of the readi cat 2 smoothie in the berry flavor. I managed to get about half of one bottle down, gagging with every sip, before calling the hospital and asking them what to do. They told me to stop drinking it and come in 2 hours early. They will have something else that I'm sure will be much easier to take. This was like drinking glue or slime. Absolutely terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gr8shpr | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2018
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here I lay having drunk two bottles of Ready-CAT2 oral (1 Sunday and 1 early Monday morning. I think Iâ??m having a reaction. After drinking one bottle, I felt very full, somewhat nauseous and just rather bad. (Achy joints, intestinal tightness.) called the imaging place the next morning (Monday) and was told to drink the 2nd bottle anyway. Iâ??m having problems with IBS -C and here it is Wednesday early am. I was so dizzy and sweaty during the night and now Iâ??m dizzy and shaky too. I have not managed to get the READY-CAT Smoothie out of my system and Iâ??m afraid it has turned to concrete. Iâ??m calling PCP, GI and Imaging place when they open. My suggestion is to discuss this with your doctor for guidance before taking it, especially if you are constipated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/6/2018
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The minute I saw this, I knew I would not tolerate it. Drank less (cold and with a straw) than 1/4 of 1st bottle and vomited. Nasty taste, consistency of Elmer's glue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uncomfortable | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this in the berry smoothie for a CT with contrast. I was not given a choice of flavors. I did not plan to take off work and should have. I wish I would have had a warning. The CT went as planned so I am guessing it did the job. I drank one bottle before bed and woke up to a rumbling stomach and lots of gas. I thought it would settle and was already wishing I had taken off work. By the time I finished the second bottle 15 minutes before my appointment I felt very uncomfortable. It was at that point I realized taking the day off would have been in my best interest since I work in an operating room and can not go to the bathroom whenever I feel the urge. I went straight to the operating room from radiology hoping it would settle and I wouldn't have to leave. 4 hours later I left for home with explosive diarrhea. I have read this didn't happen to everyone and assumed it wouldn't happen to me but if I would recommend staying home just in case. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience was not so horrible with drinking the Readi-Cat for a abdominal CT. After doing some research, I decided that the day before the test I would eat lite and drink lots of water. So far, I think that has helped me. I followed the instructions given to me by the imaging center, who told me I could refrigerate the smoothie (I got the mochachino one.) That helped as well, as I could imagine that drinking it at room temp would be gross. The smoothie didn't actually taste that bad and I wasn't so put off by the texture, but it did burn my throat some. I was able to drink both bottles (although finishing the second was a struggle) and go to my appt. As for the after effects, I did experience some diarrhea shortly after I finished the CT, but I also started drinking a lot of water as soon as the test was over to move that stuff out of my system. Since that initial upset stomach moment, I've mostly just been bloated with an occasional rumble going on. For reference, I did not have iodine contrast for the CT as I am allergic, so this was it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I assume the drink did its job. And I thought the banana flavor would help me ingest it. However, from the moment I drank it I felt nauseous. Before I even got my scan I could feel it went straight through me. I had terrible diarrhea for two days that was basically clear liquid. I also had terrible nausea and my mouth smelled like vomit although I had not and kept brushing my teeth and tongue as well as using mouth wash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2016
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given the berry flavored "shake" in the ER prior to a CT scan. I'm allergic to contrast dyes so they said this was the alternative to having that done. I've got IBS-A and I throw up really easily--I haven't been able to have a colonoscopy yet because I can't drink any of the preps. I was able to drink this without any trouble. It wasn't that bad at all. The hospital had it very cold and gave me a straw. I didn't have to go to the bathroom the same day but the next day I woke up with horrible stomach cramps and had to run to the bathroom. Stomach hurts pretty bad as of this writing and feels really gassy. Don't think I would do it again just because of this. I have enough stomach problems and don't need more. Taste-wise though, it's a piece of a cake to drink.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the banana smoothie one not to bad taste like a banana smoothie with water instead of milk

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XsXs | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/22/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Readi-Cat 2 Smoothie. Used before CT scan of abdomen and pelvis. I chose neutral vanilla. Taste was acceptable. I recommend chilling in refrigerator at least overnight and shaking vigorously for 5 minutes. Because my instructions put info about possible diarrhea in all caps, the night before the scan, I ate 3-5 slices of cheese, which tends to constipate me. I produced plenty of gas but no diarrhea. Any difficulties that I had drinking the Smoothie was not because of taste but simply the amount of liquid in a bottle. Much better experience than I expected. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildolive | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2016
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had to drink 900 ml (2 bottles) of vanilla flavored readi cat. this stuff has a slimy, chalky texture and a terrible cheap, fake vanilla and metallic taste. The stomach cramping and nausea generated from drinking this horrible stuff was FAR worse than the stomach pain I was there to diagnose. It was extremely hard for me to now throw the solution back up. Hope to never take this stuff again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noneo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2015
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mochaccino smoothie wasn't bad. Like others are saying, it tastes like watered down hot cocoa with a thick creamy texture. I had 2 bottles, but got full on one bottle. The second bottle was not finished and the tech who came for me said I had to take one more sip. I did. The solution the tech put in my IV in my arm was a weirder experience and made me feel warm. The Cat Scan lasted about 4 minutes and was over. I also had explosive diarrhea and gas after I got home from the Mochaccino smoothie. ( I ate soup, dinner, more soup and drank bottled water to help get the smoothie out of my system.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2015
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a contrast abdominal CAT scan. The Berry Smoothie was easy to use. Much better than the colonoscopy concoction I've had to take. Is pretty gassy and caused explosive diarrhea so go straight home and take the day off if you work. Other than the after effects was easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joules423 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2015
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was pleasantly surprised at how good the vanilla smoothie tasted! It was cold and (almost) delicious. I was expecting thick and chalky, but it wasn't either. It was like drinking vanilla skim milk. You do have to drink quite a bit of it, and that was unusual for me. I don't usually drink much at one time. I felt full about 3/4 of the way through the bottle, but still had to finish it. After drinking the Readi-Cat, I sat for an hour waiting for it to coat my stomach and intestines. I felt full, but not crampy or nauseated. It was a very easy drug to take.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More