Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

My mother is on the liquid Vancomycin and it is " ALOT " cheaper ! About $100.00. The medicine Shoppe's can make it. It is for 30 day supply.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Am getting vancomycin infusion at the hospital every morning. The first day I got the "red man syndrome",but after taking 50 mg of benadryl beore I go I haven't had it anymore. Am having some trouble with my legs hurting and involuntary jerking in my arms and legs.

Shared reviews and ratings

Cdiff pro | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/28/2019
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got Cdiff last May while in the hospital. Was given flagyl and liquid vancomycin. Cdiff again in July, more vancomycin. Cdiff again in September, more vancomycin. Cdiff again in October, dificid and clinical trial with fecal transplant pills. Was in hospital in January with bacterial lung infection, no choice but to take antibiotics. Cdiff (different strain) came in January, tried dificid. Cdiff now back again in March. Back on vancomycin and then another fecal transplant in my future. Does this EVER go away ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deana | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2019
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like others on here have taken for months and the diahrrea has stopped,however still taking drug as prescribed,however my blood pressure has escalated. Having to take another bp med. Also frequent urination over 12-15 times a day.Is this a side effect. Dr says dont drink so much water. did a finger prick test,normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2017
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
9/8/2016
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Vanco for 3 months, continued to have UTI's, bladder pain, frequency which became worse getting off this drug. Could not get rid of CDIFF, ended up on Dificid for 3 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mhg123 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2016
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the severely toxic strain of C. diff (NAP1/027) for about 2 1/2 years (yea it got rough) starting when I was 14. I didn't get it from a hospital or antibiotic usage or as a nosocomial infection - just community acquired somehow. I was prescribed vancomycin as part of an aggressive treatment plan (I was a few weeks away from dying) but I had to take intensive probiotics for 1 week, then take probiotics while taking the vancomycin just to reduce the amount of C. diff in my system. The doctor (a holistic/homeopathic doctor) said that the vancomycin wouldn't work completely to treat the C. diff because the infection was too strong. The vancomycin was only used to weaken the infection, but it barely did that - the doctor was pretty upset by it. After the vancomycin treatment was done, I had to wait for 2 weeks before starting the second part of the treatment (an anti-parasitic drug called Alinia (nitazoxanide) (not FDA approved to treat C. diff) and in that 2 week timeframe, the C. diff came back even stronger and I had to be immediately hospitalized. The Alinia actually worked incredibly well (but made me pretty sick in the process), but I know most people wouldn't use it or be prescribed it because it's not actually FDA approved to treat the infection - but it does work! Just check out the research sometime. It saved my life, literally. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bryan | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is my 2nd time on this drug. it is not as effective this time. have been on it for 3 weeks still have diaharea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 3rd bout of c-dif. This time each time I took Vancomycin capsule I also took an Acidophilus capsule in order to replace the GOOD bacteria that have been wiped out with the antibiotics and it is working. I feel much better than I have all summer. Try it it works. Yogort is good for maintenance but not for c-dif, it needs more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kamala1227 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2015
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had C Diff for five months without knowing it. It would clear up and come back. Took this and it killed the C Diff well. The only bad thing is it kills pretty much everything so I am still recovering. I tolerated well with just some stomach pains but I had that with C diff so I don't know and some nausea and unpleasant taste.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JAG | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2015
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second round of treatment Dr says it may more than likely come back again it is just so frusterating always being sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dbtigger2 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/18/2014
Condition: Infection of Intestines caused by Staphylococcal Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been fighting C-diff for a year now. I did flagyl twice and vanco once. This is my second round of vanco and im on it for 6 weeks plus flagyl. Ive been in the hospital and on IV antibiotics. Then sent home with flagyl. I cant seem to knock this out of me. Im 43 years old and now im getting bad back pain my joints hurt. I feel like I have the flu im freezing. I just hope this does it this time. IM done with this C-shit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ar | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/12/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had c diff 6 times in the past 3 years. I think I got it while in the hospital after hip replacement surgery and big amounts of antibiotics. Also have ulcerative colitis. Started on Flagyl, it took care of it but came back. Flagyl again, worked for awhile, but c diff came back, again, and again. Vanco capsules for two weeks (very expensive and put me in donut hole with my insurance). Then put on liquid for 2-1/2 mos...it worked...temporarily, and c-diff came back. on my second liquid Vanc now for another 2-1/2 mos. Liquid much cheaper. It works within 48 hours, and I hope when I'm done, it won't come back as quickly as before (2 weeks). What is next if it doesn't work? Probably fecal transplant. Don't know if my insurance will cover that, but I'll pay out of pocket if necessary. Anything to get rid of this horrendous infection.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
11/3/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated w/C Dif | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My situation is much like the others described here. I have been suffering with a sever case of C Dif for over 4 months. I have been on contact isolation since diagnosis, not that I could leave the house if I wanted too! I have had 2 rounds of Flaggle and now 2 rounds of Vancomycin, I am being changed to yet another medication. The reviews for that one is less encouraging. I was looking to see what the long term side effects were to this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jewels | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/6/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will attest that the Vancomycin is easy to use, and its effectiveness while on the medication is good. Except, I've been on Vancomycin for 8 months now and am still not cured. After finishing up with my Vanco regimen, approx. 14 days later i'm down sick again. They are consididing sending me off to OSU in OH. I am so done with this bacterial infection I have !! :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Infection of Intestines caused by Staphylococcal Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great for c-diff. But after taking the oral vanco for 54 days, about 10 days after stopping the medication my mouth began to burn, went to a dentist who said that it could be nerve damage from the extended use of vanco. I now have Burning Mouth Syndrome which is very painful. Has anyone else had this experience. Thank u.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimmiego | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am still suffering the same symptoms before starting meds but Dr. took another stool sample and said it came back negative. Since stopping meds severe headaches, plus no change in original symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vancomycin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good results for c-diff. But curios as to its effects on Thu.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having FOUR bouts of C-diff, the ER prescribed Vanco. I could not get it...who can afford over a grand? I was fortunate enough to have a social worker at the hospital obtain a voucher for a free week from walgreens, the hospital was contracted to participate. I also got another free week from an online company by having my doctor fill out a form, and proving financial need. Keep trying...it works!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/10/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was given the oral vancomycin right after he was released from a hospital in to a rehab. The day before he was to be released the C-diff began again. This med was given to him thru a peg tube. I took him home after 3 months at the rehab and we were told to see an infectious control doctor--which we did. She went aggressive by giving him twice the amount of mg. every 6 hours. After 9 days, his blood work showed his hemoglobin to drop and his platelets dropped from 110,000 to 43,000 in a matter of two weeks. He was hospitalized and I asked the Dr. had she ever given this dose to anyone with the peg tube. Her answer was No. I think if anyone out there has to be put on this drug that has the peg tube--they should investigate with several doctors before using it with the peg tube. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jewels | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2014
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lets see...where do i start. I've had C-Diff since Christmas and out of work. I've been through 2 treatments of Flagyl and this will be my 3rd treatment of Vancomycin. Nothing has worked. I've even tried one of the best ProBiotics on the market (Florastor). I'm a mess and dont know what to do. The dr. is putting me on a protocol that consist of 14 days of vancomycin then after that 14 days of Rifaximin. The last resort is to have harvested stools placed in my body. Not many places do this. I hear its very effective.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More