Show ratings & reviews for

2.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

I am reviewing this drug to share the minor side effects of taking the oral (pill) vaccine. Of the four times I took it, I had diarrhea on two occasions. No other side effects. I don't know the effectiveness of the drug as I just took it but it's better than traveling overseas without it.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Get the shot. My nurse never mentioned that there were any symptoms or downsides to taking the pills but Iâ??ve experienced severe stomach pain and Iâ??m on pill 3. Literally been in the fetal positions all day and I took the pill last night.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ryders | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gotten the shot before and had no problems. This time, they only had the oral pills at the travel clinic. How bad could they be? At first, i had no reaction, but about 6 hours later, incredible nausea. Then, at 3am, I woke up with excruciating stomach pains, the worst of my life, and I was in the bathroom all night. This morning, I'm still having crazy horrible stomache pain. I cannot imagine taking another one of these terrible pills. The only trip you will be able to take with these is a trip to the bathroom. Horrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ny123 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Typhoid Vaccination
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t know if the oral vaccine was effective as my trip was cancelled due to Covid. Had no side effects until the day after the 4th pill. Worst stomach pain of my life and nausea lasting almost ten days. Nonstop. Couldn’t sleep just laid on the floor every night moaning. I was so miserable I went to the hospital and got an IV since my stomach pain was too severe to eat or drink. I’m a healthy 36 year old woman, had never been so sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2020
Condition: Typhoid Vaccination
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience severe stomach cramp after the 2nd dose from the oral typhoid vaccine. I wish I’ve read the reviews before taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been sick to my stomachâ??loose stools, bouts of diarrhea, horrible stomach cramping, gas, some nauseaâ??since taking the first dose 23 days ago. I took it to prevent typhoid on my upcoming trip to the Philippines, and now am concerned that I am going to have to miss the trip because of the side effects of this medication. I almost would rather have taken my chances with typhoid. Would definitely recommend getting the shot instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I had read what others had said before taking the pill. I took the first dose around 8am and about 6-7 hours later I got bad stomach cramps followed by vomiting and diarrhea. I’m not going to finish out the rest and will get the injection instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
11/22/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'd had the injection in the past, and felt a bit nauseous from it. Choose the oral meds this time and I'd have to say the nurse and the company have downplayed the side effects. The worst has been the BURNING cramping in my stomach for the last 5 days, to the point where I wonder if I've done serious harm or permanent damage to my stomach lining. I would not recommend the pills to others and wish I'd opted for the injection, which I will do in the future.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
quanticbolt | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/11/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mean it was okay for me for the first three doses. No crazy side effects on those days. The last dose however... Excrutiating stomach cramps, and nausea. Hopefully these symptoms go away in a day or so...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got the typhoid injection years ago and didn't have any adverse reaction. This time my doctor recommended the oral vaccine because it lasts longer. About 7 hours after taking the first pill I started having bad stomach cramps, which lasted well into the next day. I also had a slight headache and felt very fatigued on day 2. The side effects were so bad that I called my doctor to get an injection rather than finish the series of pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every day after taking a pill I was nauseous and had a headache. Then when the course of 4 pills was completed I thought I would be ok....but 5 days later, sudden diarrhea and the worst headache of my life. After those just daily headaches that are lessened, but annoying. 10 Days after finising the 4 pills I still have headaches and some nausea. My doctor says to just get rest and drink lots of water and I should be fine soon. I was warned that the side effects were bad. Hoping all this is worth it to prevent typhoid!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cannoncone | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first three pills were bearable — some nausea and a little diarrhea, but manageable. After the fourth, I was bedridden for half a day with a fever and the worst diarrhea of my life. I don't think my insurance covers the injection, but if I ever need this vaccine again, I'll pay out of pocket to get it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Get the shot. My nurse never mentioned that there were any symptoms or downsides to taking the pills but Iâ??ve experienced severe stomach pain and Iâ??m on pill 3. Literally been in the fetal positions all day and I took the pill last night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I just would have gotten the shot. I had hot flashes the first day I took the first dose and now the second dose three days later I have terrible stomach cramps. If you are between the oral and the shot- get the shot. I've had the shot before and I've never had these kinds of side effects from it. A sore arm for two days is worth avoiding these nasty side effects from the oral.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cmonfolks | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was not made aware of just how uncomfortable the side effects could be from taking the oral version of this vaccine. Mild symptoms ie. loose stools on dosage days 1 through 3, but severe symptoms on the final dosage day. Approximately 7 hours post ingestion, I experienced severe abdominal burning and cramping, followed by nasty explosive diarrhea that lasted for the duration of the day/evening and worsened with the ingestion of food and/or beverages. I will definitely get the injectable form of the vaccine next time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Worried | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not able to take last two pills due to complications after first two. I had similar side affects as posted, horrible stomach cramps, fever, vomiting, lack of appetite, exhaustion, for the entire day after each pill. I am still having issues with stomach cramping and diarrhea 20 days after starting the treatment and Iâ??m wondering if there has been permanent damage to my colon or stomach. It feels like someone tied my colon in knots. Has anyone continued to have issues months after taking oral medication?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cruzen | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having stomach cramps and constipation! The cramps were so bad I went to the doctors. I am on my last pill and I am hoping this all goes away before my trip in 5 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
My stomach is on fire | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is pure agony, I almost wonder if something backfired and I have typhoid now. Severe stomach cramps, worse after each dose. Took the last dose this morning and stomach started burning about 7 hours later. Iâ??m an atheist but Iâ??m pretty close to praying right now, because no pepto or tums are doing the trick. Please donâ??t take this pill. If youâ??ve started just stop and go get the shot instead itâ??s not worse the misery. I wish I were exaggerating but itâ??s honestly maddening Iâ??m having a hard time writing this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
My bootyhole got wrecked | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Holy Crap! Is all I can really say, make sure you are near a bathroom and have the days off when you need to take the pills. You do not want to challenge these pills to a duel because they will have you on the toilet in no time begging for mercy. Good luck to all, and as someone else said it’s better than getting typhoid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GhanaBound | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Explosive diarrhea on first day, there's no way I can complete the course of treatment. Biggest waste of money as I have purchased the pills for well over $80.00 and have quickly come to the conclusion that I am not a viable candidate for these pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TN | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medication to prevent typhoid in Africa while on a mission trip. From Day 1, 1st pill, stomach pain has increased. I am doubling over in pain. 2nd pill was even worse. I took 3rd pill and nausea increased. I have 1 pill to go and could not be any happier. Hahaha. I did not expect this medication to have such drastic side effects but it sure beats getting Typhoid, right? Thankful we even have an option to prevent it. Ready for Ghana!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zap18 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Typhoid and Paratyphoid
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wish I had gotten the shot- and I HATE shots. I’m on my third pill today. I took it at 8am and around 11am I started having stomach pain. Now it is 2pm and I’m still having stomach cramping and vomiting. I had to take the day off work. Dreading taking the last pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More