Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication for almost 8 years for anxiety issues. It has been extremely helpful for me. Very recently I was experiencing a bit of anxiety for the first time in many years, so my dosage was increased from 7.5 mg 2X/day to 10 mg 2X/day. The increased dosage has eliminated the anxiety attacks. I see that a lot of people review this medication after only being on it for les...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

Don't like shape of pill doesn't comply work

Shared reviews and ratings

HelpNeeded | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked well in the beginning and then I stared having severe fatigue but didn't attribute it to the medication at first. Then I started having intense muscle pain and weakness along with fatigue. Read article about Buspar and muscle pain and realized the connection. Remembered when fatigue started and it was at time of Buspar. Tapering down 15 mg per day dose and trying something else. I'm very sensitive to medication so prayerfully there is something that can help me and my GAD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaco616 | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking buspar for about 2 weeks now no real side effects to note. Honestly it's given me my soul back. I don't wake up thinking how my brain will torment me today. I wake up actually excited and focused on what I'm doing. It mellows me out and relaxes me. I don't have thoughts I latch on to and overthink about all day that leads me to anxiety and panic attacks. If you're thinking about trying it out just go for it. The worst that happens is it doesn't work and you find a new medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/17/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with OCD for over 30 years. I have tried many medications. While Buspar isn't typically used for OCD it has been a God-send. I went from OCD hell to normality. While this may not be the experience for most people, Buspar has given me my life back. I've taken it for 3 years now (started off at 30 mg and increased to 40mg) and it has eliminated 90% of my symptoms and has little to no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Callmedaisy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/11/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr replaced Ativan with buspar. It does absolutely nothing for anxiety for me. Complete waste and anxiety is worse without Ativan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Buspar for 30 years. It has saved me from losing jobs and relationships. I take 60 MG a day. I love it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine due to constant anxiety and anger issues. I felt relief within the next few minutes after taking it. I have been taking this for about 3 months. I am much happier and nothing worries me like it did before. My anger issues have dissolved for the most part and I have had no side effects thus far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wulfenyte | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Buspar gave me massive dizzy spells and did not help my anxiety in the slightest. It's been years since I took it so I don't remember the dosage, but I remember very strongly how badly it affected me. Ironically, my first pill gave me a panic attack because it made me so dizzy I thought I was going to die.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
| 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this med a few days after I developed heart flutters it felt like a heart arrhythmia than I felt dizzy almost felt like fainting. It increased my anxiety having panic attacks thorough out the day so I had to switch to another med..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lsjd | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldnt even take the recommended dose for a week because my side affects were so bad i was throwing up and incredibly dizzy i could barely walk and cant ride in a car for longer than 5 minutes without getting nauseous

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started at 5mg 2x a day, increased to 7.5 2x a day, now at10 mg 3x a day over thr course of 3 months. I cant feel it work but I know it is because I'm not on constant edge anymore. I feel like my fun self is coming back. If you don't like SSRIs I highly suggest this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BoXo | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed to fiancé. He became withdrawn and unable to feel or process emotion. He died by suicide 5 months after starting this drug. I strongly believe he would still be here had the not been prescribed Buspirone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only had mild side effects (dizziness, lightheadedness, headache) for around the first week / week and a half and then they disappeared. I’m on the lowest dose (5mg twice a day) and it has worked so well! I feel like a functioning / “normal” person and it makes life so much easier! They say to give it a month, but I think I started noticing the first changes as early as week 2? I didn’t have my normal anxiety symptoms like the adrenaline rush, racing heart, sweating, shortness of breath, “floating” sensation, etc. My social anxiety also improved so much on it!!! Very happy with it. I honestly never want to get off of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspirone | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst medication for my body, I had two episodes of panic attack and I decided to visit a psychiatrist because I had a plan to travel overseas and I was anxious to get panic attacks in the plane, he prescribed me buspirone which made my anxiety worst, for two weeks I felt I am going to loose my mind, several panic attacks at night, couldn’t drive, even with someone driving, I was not able to go outside of my house and I ruined my family program for the vacation, we missed the flight, I total changed 180 degree, I lost my feeling and I had a strong depression because of this medication, I went to other doctor and he asked to stop it which I did and now I become normal as I was before, if you are taking this medication and you feel that you are more anxious and living in fear, or you feel you lost your desire, stop it as soon as possible, this medication can be good for some people and can be bad for others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking buspar for anxiety. For two weeks I felt nothing. No different at all. At the two week mark I started feeling jittery like I drank two double shot espressos (I hadn’t had any caffeine). The day after I got slammed. I had never felt so sick. The people with me said I looked gray and was acting drunk. Had my worst panic attack that night. I don’t recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication for anxiety, but I had to stop using it because it made me feel terribly depressed. I was even having suicidal thoughts and got so low that I couldn't get out of bed most days. I started to feel better as soon as I discontinued its use. Lexapro has been far more effective for me personally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Only second dose | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only trying second dose, first time I took it in the morning and soon after began getting waves of terror and anxiety. I had to ask my manager to take over my meeting for me that morning because I couldn't do it. I also had weird feelings like I was high and was having a very hard time focusing. I am trying another dose now but at night instead of the morning since obviously I can't focus on work if I take it in the morning. Already feeling a little airy but I'm hopeful this will pass after I stick to it for a little bit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taking buspirone for about 9 years and the last 2 yrs Iv have constant non stop stuffy nose major sinus drainage in my throat to wear it stays irritated and coughing iv tried allergy meds, antibiotics ect...nothing helps does anyone else have this issue?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prittypritt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had anxiety my whole life. I’m 29 now. I never wanted to try medication because I was always too nervous. One day I woke up and decided I didn’t want to feel that way anymore and thought trying buspirone was worth a shot bc how could I feel any worse. I’ve been on this for 2 weeks now and I can honestly say I’ve noticed a big difference already. I can drive without feeling dizzy, go to the grocery store with my toddler without panicking for no reason and enjoy work. All three of those things have shown me this medication actually works. I had nausea the first 2-3 days but after that no side effects. The fact I’m not even at the full potential of this yet is crazy to me. I think anyone suffering from anxiety should try this. It has helped me tremendously.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SJP | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took only one dose but that was enough for me to decide to throw these out. Dr. prescribed these as they're "non-addictive" -- I suppose he is one of the increasing number of psychiatrists wary of prescribing actual anxiety/panic drugs that work. Immediately after taking these, my body began tingling, I became lightheaded, and nauseous. Eventually I developed a throbbing headache that has only gotten worse the past 24 hours. Upon waking up, I felt severely dehydrated and hungover, vomiting stomach acid in the shower, headache only contributing more to the nausea. Anxiety is through the roof; feels as if I am about to convulse. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I changed from another anxiety medication that caused many issues including more anxiety to buspirone. Night and day, this medication has helped tremendously. Let me just say to anyone having issues with this medication. Talk to your doctor. Hopefully like me there is something else that will help you. For me, it was switching to buspirone, for you it may be that one of the other options better suits you. Hang in there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More