Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication for almost 8 years for anxiety issues. It has been extremely helpful for me. Very recently I was experiencing a bit of anxiety for the first time in many years, so my dosage was increased from 7.5 mg 2X/day to 10 mg 2X/day. The increased dosage has eliminated the anxiety attacks. I see that a lot of people review this medication after only being on it for les...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

Don't like shape of pill doesn't comply work

Shared reviews and ratings

lsjd | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldnt even take the recommended dose for a week because my side affects were so bad i was throwing up and incredibly dizzy i could barely walk and cant ride in a car for longer than 5 minutes without getting nauseous

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started at 5mg 2x a day, increased to 7.5 2x a day, now at10 mg 3x a day over thr course of 3 months. I cant feel it work but I know it is because I'm not on constant edge anymore. I feel like my fun self is coming back. If you don't like SSRIs I highly suggest this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BoXo | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed to fiancé. He became withdrawn and unable to feel or process emotion. He died by suicide 5 months after starting this drug. I strongly believe he would still be here had the not been prescribed Buspirone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only had mild side effects (dizziness, lightheadedness, headache) for around the first week / week and a half and then they disappeared. I’m on the lowest dose (5mg twice a day) and it has worked so well! I feel like a functioning / “normal” person and it makes life so much easier! They say to give it a month, but I think I started noticing the first changes as early as week 2? I didn’t have my normal anxiety symptoms like the adrenaline rush, racing heart, sweating, shortness of breath, “floating” sensation, etc. My social anxiety also improved so much on it!!! Very happy with it. I honestly never want to get off of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspirone | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst medication for my body, I had two episodes of panic attack and I decided to visit a psychiatrist because I had a plan to travel overseas and I was anxious to get panic attacks in the plane, he prescribed me buspirone which made my anxiety worst, for two weeks I felt I am going to loose my mind, several panic attacks at night, couldn’t drive, even with someone driving, I was not able to go outside of my house and I ruined my family program for the vacation, we missed the flight, I total changed 180 degree, I lost my feeling and I had a strong depression because of this medication, I went to other doctor and he asked to stop it which I did and now I become normal as I was before, if you are taking this medication and you feel that you are more anxious and living in fear, or you feel you lost your desire, stop it as soon as possible, this medication can be good for some people and can be bad for others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking buspar for anxiety. For two weeks I felt nothing. No different at all. At the two week mark I started feeling jittery like I drank two double shot espressos (I hadn’t had any caffeine). The day after I got slammed. I had never felt so sick. The people with me said I looked gray and was acting drunk. Had my worst panic attack that night. I don’t recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication for anxiety, but I had to stop using it because it made me feel terribly depressed. I was even having suicidal thoughts and got so low that I couldn't get out of bed most days. I started to feel better as soon as I discontinued its use. Lexapro has been far more effective for me personally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Only second dose | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only trying second dose, first time I took it in the morning and soon after began getting waves of terror and anxiety. I had to ask my manager to take over my meeting for me that morning because I couldn't do it. I also had weird feelings like I was high and was having a very hard time focusing. I am trying another dose now but at night instead of the morning since obviously I can't focus on work if I take it in the morning. Already feeling a little airy but I'm hopeful this will pass after I stick to it for a little bit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taking buspirone for about 9 years and the last 2 yrs Iv have constant non stop stuffy nose major sinus drainage in my throat to wear it stays irritated and coughing iv tried allergy meds, antibiotics ect...nothing helps does anyone else have this issue?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prittypritt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had anxiety my whole life. I’m 29 now. I never wanted to try medication because I was always too nervous. One day I woke up and decided I didn’t want to feel that way anymore and thought trying buspirone was worth a shot bc how could I feel any worse. I’ve been on this for 2 weeks now and I can honestly say I’ve noticed a big difference already. I can drive without feeling dizzy, go to the grocery store with my toddler without panicking for no reason and enjoy work. All three of those things have shown me this medication actually works. I had nausea the first 2-3 days but after that no side effects. The fact I’m not even at the full potential of this yet is crazy to me. I think anyone suffering from anxiety should try this. It has helped me tremendously.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SJP | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took only one dose but that was enough for me to decide to throw these out. Dr. prescribed these as they're "non-addictive" -- I suppose he is one of the increasing number of psychiatrists wary of prescribing actual anxiety/panic drugs that work. Immediately after taking these, my body began tingling, I became lightheaded, and nauseous. Eventually I developed a throbbing headache that has only gotten worse the past 24 hours. Upon waking up, I felt severely dehydrated and hungover, vomiting stomach acid in the shower, headache only contributing more to the nausea. Anxiety is through the roof; feels as if I am about to convulse. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I changed from another anxiety medication that caused many issues including more anxiety to buspirone. Night and day, this medication has helped tremendously. Let me just say to anyone having issues with this medication. Talk to your doctor. Hopefully like me there is something else that will help you. For me, it was switching to buspirone, for you it may be that one of the other options better suits you. Hang in there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Indigenous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is poison. It completely distributed my mind and body. This is worse than the diagnosis for taking this medication. I literally needed to detox from this medication. It felt like I was poisoned and dying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 15 mg twice a day only side effect is trouble getting to sleep but as a college student that’s not a bad thing when working on classwork.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel groggy spacey unfocused.Some tingling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wolfy541 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second attempt trying this medication. First time was in the early 90's and ended stopping after a couple of weeks thinking it did zip for my Anxiety. Back then access to information on meds was limited to what your doctor told your doc told you and knew the results were not going to be immediate. This time around, I gave it the 4 weeks and am so glad I did! Buspirone has eliminated my lifelong anxiety by preventing it from occurring in the first place! You wont be disappointed if you wait the month. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been the worst thing that has ever happened to me. I started taking it for severe anxiety and insomnia issues. The Buspirone felt like it was helping the first two-ish weeks. Then things got worst than they had ever been. The intrusive and obsessive thoughts that I’ve experienced from this medication have been like nothing I’ve ever encountered in my life. They last all day and sometimes even when I sleep, I’ll have the occasional nightmare about them. I went from being overly anxious and emotional to (after a short time on Buspirone) being void of any and every emotion I’ve ever had. Anything that sparked an emotion to me before, doesn’t even cause a reaction now. I feel like I’ve lost connection to everyone in my life from not being able to express any emotion. & on top of that, my cognitive abilities are almost nonexistent. I’m performing terribly at work and am shocked I even still have my job. I was only on 5mg of this medication for three weeks. I have now been off of it for three weeks and things have hardly gotten better. Of course I tried seeing a Psychologist and they claim that what I’m experiencing has nothing to do with the medication. It’s easier for them to just write me off as “crazy” and write me another prescription. I was an incredibly normal, high functioning person before, now I am a tiny fragment of what I was. I seriously fear the side effects from this medication are irreversible. And the fact that professionals completely deny this is happening to someone makes me so hopeless and sad.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wills | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lifetime of problems. I was last on Lorazepam but I was starting to have problems with memory and I would wake up too early and need to take it again. My new doctor switched me to 10mg 1-2 times a day. It has been more consistent. I also take gabapentin 300mg 1-2 times. I found that not only did I have anxiety from trauma but I am autistic, ADHD and ocd. I didn't know that was even possible. The medicine has taken away a lot of the problem and I am a lot happier I discovered why I am so weird. I love myself now. It's not my fault.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asissy | 45-54 | Female | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm writing this with hope that it will help someone else who is prescribed this medication. I was prescribed 10mg, twice a day, to treat my anxiety. It immediately gave me terrible insomnia so my doctor suggested that I take it only the morning. That resolved my insomnia, but within two weeks, my anxiety was worse than ever. At that point, my doctor increased the dose to 15mg, twice per day. My anxiety got even worse and escalated to panic attacks and feeling like I couldn't breath. My doctor finally told me to stop taking this medication. I want people to know that there's a chance thus medication will make your anxiety worse. I spent almost 2 months not knowing why my anxiety had gotten so much worse when I was on medication! I was really hoping this would provide relief, but it was the opposite for me. Best of luck to all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Apatient | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so hopeful that this medication would work for me and my terrible anxiety. From the beginning, it caused nothing but more problems. I was prescribed 10mg, twice per day, and had horrible insomnia. My doctor told me to switch to both doses on the morning, which cured my insomnia problem, but my anxiety went through the roof. My doctor increased my dose to 15mg, twice per day and my anxiety got so bad that I was unable to focus and constantly felt like I couldn't breath. I even started to have panic attacks. My doctor finally told me to stop taking it and my anxiety immediately was relieved. Be very cautious about this medication because it can actually make your anxiety worse. I continued to try the medication because I kept reading that it takes time to be effective; however, it ended up being nothing but 2 months of torture. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More