Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

THIS MEDICATION REALLY HELPED WITH WEIGHT GAIN. I WENT FROM 106LBS TO 126LBS IN ABOUT 2-3 MONTHS

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

not eating

Shared reviews and ratings

Reeree | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience is great I gained 20 pounds in a month I was 139 I’m 161 now ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Newfatso | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2020
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allergist prescribed it 6 months ago for itchy skin. I gained 40 lbs, didn't know why until I ran out of refills, considered a new Rx and read reviews plus other info.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Df6 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/2/2020
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very sleepy with 4mg not so much with 2mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark J | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped me gain 8 pounds in 4 months, however, i started to make random, jerky movements. My doctor said that it was a common symptom and long-term use can lead to serious damage of the CNS. If you take this drug, only take it in limited sessions (a few months max)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Comet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2018
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has been taking this for a week due to his weak hunger cues and his weight at 1 percentile for his height and age. After only a week, he went from 80 pounds, where he's been hovering for a year, to 86.3 pounds. I'm so pleased and encouraged. He is much more willing to eat and doesn't say "I'm not hungry" anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew Dent | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2017
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I started, I had been 128 lbs. and 6'1" for the past two or three years of my life. The result of genetics, generally lack of appetite, etc. I then was diagnosed with clinical depression and went from 128 lbs. to 116. My BMI had reached approximately that of an average sufferer of anorexia. When my psychiatrist prescribed cyproheptadine, everything changed. I went from 128 to 170 in six months. The before-and-after photos are unbelievable. This had a major impact on my confidence, self-esteem, and overall wellness. Cyproheptadine works significantly well, and I would highly recommend it to anyone dealing with being underweight. To conclude, let me note that I recently did some research and found that pre-serum Steve Rogers, or as he's better known, Captain America, had a greater BMI than I did before cyproheptadine. Now, I have reached a 22 BMI, which is considered quite healthy. Fantastic medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itworksforme | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Started 4mg on the first day and it knocked me out for 15hrs, so the past 5 days i dropped to 2mg before bed, i'm now eating like a horse and not drowsy! found this just by researching online, now i'm finishing meals and feel hungry all the time! so a big thumbs up to me! 33yrs old, 5ft 11" currently 62kg, aiming for 75kg... i'll update in a month or so!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa W. | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2016
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this med for contact dermatitis (hives and itching). Initially, those problems went away. I also had the good fortune to have a decreased appetite. But it did not translate to any weight loss or gain. I did not take it for a week, but started taking it again for the itching. Now, the hives and itching seem to be more pronounced than before. Will not be taking any more of it until I can talk to my doctor, unless I end up in the er first.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gracie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2016
Condition: Headache caused by Disorder of Cranial Blood Vessels
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/14/2015
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Precribed to my 87 year old mother, who took (1) tablet and could barely urinate; took a very long time to empty bladder, very frightening for her; she did not take any more of this medication and will not be taking anymore for any reason; horrible drug. My mother does not have allergies and also does not have any kidney problems or bladder issues. She was prescribed the medication for poor appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neechybaby | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having my daughter I lost my appetite and dropped 40 pounds in a month. I started taking this drug and I went from 118 pounds to 142 in three months, it increased my appetite so much and now I don't have to take it twice a day like I did when I first started my increased appetite has not gone away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vvales1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 5 days into this med. Appetite increased and gaining weight. Also not getting spasms like before using this med. This med is a double whammy for me. Thanks to my pharmacist for recommended it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deanna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seems to make me withdraw from family and friends. I crave to be alone everyday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hurstnurs1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Serotonin Syndrome - Adverse Drug Interaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no problems

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/6/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing in reply to the person who asked if the drug helped when prescribed by a vet for his/her cat. I used this drug several times over the course of months with a 19 year-old cat who was diagnosed with kidney failure and this appetite stimulant saved her life on more than one occasion. I hope you expperience a similar result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
atxqueenb | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/2/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

??My daughters pediatrician gave this medication to my daughter to mostly help her sleep at night. She has bad insomnia due to her ADHD. Her body just keeps going and going so it has a hard time coming dwn for bedtime. Its help a bit. 2mlg of a pill doesnt wrk. 4mlg knocks her out where she cant get upp but it does take an hour to hit sometimes more.But sometimes in the morning She's 2 out of it. I cant even wake her. Despite the dosage I do like better than anythng stronger. Her Doctor said it will help with her wiegut gain. I havent seen that yet. She does get a serious appetite. She isnt ever full. 8 thi k her metabolism is way high cuz after eating non stop she still gains no weight. She is a skinny winnie. Shes not malnourished shes just skinny. So, as long as her Dr. Says shes fine then I will continue to use as a sleeping remedy. Its better then any of the other alternatives that are major drugs.?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
underweight | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Id was severely under weight. I started taking 14mg tablet twice a day. it really helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
5/18/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've have loss of apptite and i hope this works for me. has it worked for anyone to help gain wieght?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vpcaraway | 3-6 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/14/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was prescribed to my grandson which is 3 1/2 and weighs 24lbs. he was born at 30 weeks and has always been very small. This med was awful for him. He would sit to play and his head would fall over. He was jerky and unresponsive. Please do your research before giving this to small children

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hyperness then tiredness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More