Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Flexeril on and off for the last 15 years following a serious head on auto accident some 35 years ago. It is designed to provide relief from muscle cramping. In my system it has a 12 hour half life, meaning it decreases its effectiveness by 1/2 in 12 hours. Other people get an 8 hour half life from it. It lists its first side effect as drowsiness and I would have to agree. I...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Do not take this med. OMG. I just researched this after taking for a diagnosis of sciatica (which I never do, I usually do extensive research). READ the side effects people. I have had horrible constipation for weeks (just figured it out after reading side effects). I am 124 lbs, size 4-6, the distension (sp?) is like I'm 4 months pregnant, the excruciating lower back pain due to the constitpati...

Shared reviews and ratings

Deborah MelissaSamson | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused my muscles to tighten up more. Was not bad in the beginning. Started getting horrible side effects including stiffness and swollen tongue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused a positive result for amphetamine in my urine sample. The test was then retested with a different lab which did higher level of detail of levels and the test came back from them as negative. talked to my doctor about these results that were from a treatment program i am in for alcohol addiction (88 days sober as of today! one day at a time), so the initial result of positive set a whirl wind of questions and challenging judgements by the treatment team and and it took weeks to sort it out. i finally talked to my primary doctor and he provided the documents saying this medication can make a false positive with lower levels of urinalysis. i hope this is the end of the doubt of my sobriety! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can only take it if I don’t need to function at all for 24 hours. Makes me dopey, sleepy, cranky and dizzy. I will fall asleep sitting up and can’t form an intelligent sentence. I have DDD and Spinal Stenosis. At times I have severe Sciatica.I only take it if I absolutely have to. I usually cut it in 1/2 and I am still a drooling hot mess but it will help you sleep. My husband has nicknamed it Psycho-benzaprine because it’s pretty much true.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes me super super tired but doesnt help at all with my muscle spasms that i've been getting on my lower right leg. not even melatonin is stronger than this. can barely function after taking it twice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashporter2011 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's easy pop the stupid pill wait 15 for pain relief right wrong pop the pill for no pain relief at all. You just took something that could have some bad side effects thinking your going to get some relief but no you are not it's a joke pill so doctors can line their pockets and you can take a placebo pill trying to trick you into thinking your going to get relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy wanderer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for muscle tightness in right leg due to severe stenosis in the lumbar spine. Usually take at bedtime a half pill, or whole pill after hard physical work. Had none of the listed side effects. It lets me sleep but does not make me drowsy and there are no hangover effects in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deeler | 45-54 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi folks, I took this to treat costochodritis - doctor prescribed and it has seriously helped me sleep again. I was waking up maybe 3-4 times a night in some back discomfort but when I started taking this I started getting up to 6 hours straight then I'm only up briefly and able to sleep again for a couple more hours. It's been a blessing. I don't know how I'll get off it though - I might love it too much. Some tough wake up's with this so I recommend take it around 9pm if you need to get at 8am.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lameh Khazeh | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from neck pain for several years. Thanks to my neurologist who I saw for my headaches. After looking at my MRI of my head, he told me the problem was my neck. He prescribed this medication for me, 10 mgs once a day. I was taking it every morning and it would make me sleepy. I started taking it at night and I was pain free all day. When I ran out, my PCP would not prescrib this medication. I eventually went to a pain clinic where I was offered to take this medication and go for an injection. I have not had the injection yet, but this drug has saved me from a lot of pain. When I google it , the recommended time line to take it is less than 3 weeks but I have been taking it for over a month. After many years of neck pain I found something that helps! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jslov | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

28 male, 5”11 220lbs. Broke glass and used a short Broom that was up to my waist and it had me bend and reach at a awkward angle. Bent down as well while sweeping into dust pan. Stood up and it felt like someone stabbed me in my love handle/glute location. Tried to walk and fell down to on my knees and had to crawl. Discomfort and intolerable pain in each position I laid. Opioids didn’t work at all. Went to emergency after a day of suffering and got cyclobenzaprine prescribed. Kicked in when I got home and I couldn’t believe how much this helped me. Day 3 and everything went away and my lower back glut and legs were numb. No more shooting pain from hamstring down to my toes. Posture was normal after using toilet, before it made me crooked and had to crawl into bed. After 3 weeks of taking one before bed, I’m.cured.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deborah Marie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I took the medication, it made me sleepy, but it gave me very bad diarrhea So of course I can't take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna Mamey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/11/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cyclobenzaprine is a miracle drug for me. I have several ruptured disks in my spine and this drug enables me to function and complete chores, etc. I have used this drug for years when needed and will probably use it for the rest of my life. I experience no side effects. I am so grateful for this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carla B | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been experiencing extreme fatigue, brain fog, muscle spasms, and joint pain for months after having Covid. My doctor prescribed Cyclobenzaprine to take once at night to help me sleep better and to see if that would alleviate some of my symptoms. After taking the medication for a month now, I can say that it has helped alleviate all of my symptoms. I have noticed constipation, but I have found that if I hydrate continually throughout the day and take fiber supplements that I am able to better counteract that side effect. I have also learned to pace myself more and take mental breaks throughout the day. The medication has helped me to relax the tension in my body at night in order to get a more restful sleep.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PhylomenaD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to take. I can swallow this without water. Not bad ! I wonder if hoarseness is a side effect too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yresim | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for several months. My doctor assured me that it would "start working" after "a while" and said I needed to "give it a chance." But the only thing it ever does is make me drowsy. I guess maybe I don't have muscle spasms when it causes me to pass out in the middle of the day. But they're ongoing any time I'm awake.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2020
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 5 pills for 5 days for the neck spasm .while taking this pill also I felt so much dizziness .after 5 days I stopped using that pills ,but even after stopped I am feeling light headed and dizziness for more that 4 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/14/2020
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me really drowsy. I just take once in a while when my herniated disc really persists. It makes me sleep 1.5 hours after taking it and I canâ??t resist the urge to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elliot | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Always having sleep issues, now made worse by alzheimers Avoid Benzos, try off label anti-dpressants. Have tired Tranzedome and Remron in the past. Flexeril isn't as fast acting but gives a more natural sleep with les next day hangover.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
heavilymedicated | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2019
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken cyclobenzaprine as well as other commonly used muscle relaxants in the past (methocarbomol, metaxalone) with minimal relief and minor noticeable effect, but today I took a leftover dose of flexeril from a script I used months earlier and it really knocked me out. Not sure if taking on an empty stomach had any effect, but it took about 1.5 hours to set in and it took everything I had not to lay down at work. Made it through the day, came home and immediately crashed on the couch for 5 hours. Woke up and still felt uncomfortably fatigued. In my experience cyclobenzaprine does very little to relieve muscle pains/spasms and is fatiguing more so than "relaxing." Take with food, start with a small dose until you're comfortable with the effects and allow yourself plenty of down time after taking this medication. Working, driving or any physical activity can be very taxing while the cyclobenzaprine is in your system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2019
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill did work for my TMJ. However, it makes you excessively sleepy, and I had terrible heart pain and palpitations for days after. I had to discontinue it, even though it helped ease the symptoms. I’ve never had any heart issues previously, but I cannot take this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heff | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic back pain. Nothing shows up on MRI. With exercise it flares up. I take a 7.5m pill two or three times a week at bedtime. Definitely helps me sleep even with back issue. No bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More