Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

If you try to open this pill using the precut marks in the foil, it could be a pain. However, if you peel back the white paper, you can push the pill right through the foil with zero difficulty. I have been very sick since I got pregnant so I don't think I can offer a reasonable opinion on how Prenate makes me feel. I just hope it's helping me develop a healthy baby. There was a question about...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

The packaging isn't "hard" just extremely annoying, I just got the pharmacy to give me a bottle with a label so I could peel the full supply out of the package and put in the bottle... so it only got annoying when I had to refill. I had extremely bad morning sickness at the beginning of my pregnancy leaving me in bed for days at a time, and these vitamins was the only one that reduced the morning ...

Shared reviews and ratings

LMo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/27/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I must be a lucky one, prenate elite comes in a bottle so I don't have to tear open the package...althoug morning sickness was dreadful during my pregnancy, the pill made me less sick than any other prenatal vitamin. My hair and nails grew like crazy...I think they added about 4 inches to my hair. I have had my baby, she is 9 months now, and I still take the pills everyday. Hair is still growing....I take them at night and that has worked for me!! They are great!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soon to be mommy of 2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/17/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took prenate with my first pregnancy that started in july of 2007. The packaging was a bit of a hassle sometimes when the white paper would tear before you could get to the pill. But to my surprise, I went to pick up a new rx for my current pregnancy and they've done away with the individual wrapping and put them all in a bottle! Most of the complaints here were with the packaging. Overall I never had problems, and this vitamin was my main choice because of the added iron that helped with my anemia. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alannanicole | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The packaging isn't "hard" just extremely annoying, I just got the pharmacy to give me a bottle with a label so I could peel the full supply out of the package and put in the bottle... so it only got annoying when I had to refill. I had extremely bad morning sickness at the beginning of my pregnancy leaving me in bed for days at a time, and these vitamins was the only one that reduced the morning sickness. My biggest complaint however, it took me a long time to figure out timing of taking this medicine because I found that taking it in the morning led to me burping all day... and the burps taste/smell like TAR! It was disgusting, I finally figured out that when I have an GIANT glass of milk with the pill I can take it in the morning and not burp all day. The milk is good for the baby, so win/win!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
emilycc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have had bloating and very odd upper stomach cramps ever since i went on them - feels like an upset stomach but higher than abdomen..really uncomfortable. i thought i was becoming allergic to lactose or something, but have since realized these symptoms started after taking the pre-natal vitimins.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had terrible cramps and constipation while taking prenate. The package is a hassle, but not impossible. I will be better off taking a vitamin that is easier on my system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/26/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

package is difficult to open. Take with a lot of water or juice. Made my poo turn blackish-green. This was the one vitamin that didn't make me queasy. Overall, I am satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mama | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you try to open this pill using the precut marks in the foil, it could be a pain. However, if you peel back the white paper, you can push the pill right through the foil with zero difficulty. I have been very sick since I got pregnant so I don't think I can offer a reasonable opinion on how Prenate makes me feel. I just hope it's helping me develop a healthy baby. There was a question about whether or not Prenate contains Folic Acid. It does. It is in it's broken-down form, which makes it far easier to digest, called Folate. Many people do not reap the benefits of taking Folic Acid because they simply cannot break it down effectively. Prenate does that for you. Thanks to everyone sharing their thoughts and opinions, and I hoped I've helped someone by sharing mine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kntpounders | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has worked for me, and i actually feel great...packaging was difficult at first, thats because i fought it, but really...pull the white paper off exsposing the foil and pop it thru...wala!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aflo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/20/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before pregnancy, I would feel fine when taking the vitamin. A few weeks after confirming I was pregnent, the vitamin would make me sick, no matter if it was with an empty stomach or with food. Also, it makes going to the bathroom difficult. It's also hard to get out of the package.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't find the package hard to open. It did cause abdominal cramps and bloating though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't have any trouble opening the package. The package says, "peel and push". I do however want to know if it contains folic acid? It doesn't say on the package.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hellosunshine | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know why everyone is having such a hard time with the packaging, You peel and push the pill out - it's that simple. I feel a lot better with this one, no morning sickness, no hives or pimples, my nails and hair are growing and I feel great. Bowl Movements have become so easy, I'm finally not afraid to go anymore. I do drink a lot of water and tea though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This vitamin made bowel movements difficult and less frequent. Both my bowel movements and me pee were very dark. The package was very difficult to open. All symptoms went away after switching to a different vitamin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on the pill for several weeks, I began retaining water and experienced black stool. I do agree that the package is horrible to get open. I have to use a knife.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ever since ive been taking this ive not been able to use the bathroon very well. My pee smells funny. The pill is hard to get out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annyce415 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/7/2008
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I broke out in hives after taking these vitamins. I couldn't sleep because I was scratching so bad. My heart skipped beats. One little scratch would bleed for hours. My bowel movements were way more difficult than after taking other prenatal vitamins.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/15/2007
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very, very difficult to open. You need scissors. They need to redesign package

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiianae | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/8/2007
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Company needs to redesign packaging. Extremley difficult to open package. I had to use scissors often!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/19/2007
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anemia even after taking this medication and has to take an additional iron supplement. Package is difficult to be opened.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More