Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Dexedrine Spansules for over ten years along with Prozac and Wellbutrin to treat chronic depression and adult Attention Deficit Disorder. That combination has worked very well for me. On two occasions my psychiatrist and I have tried taking the Dexedrine out of the mix, and both times we have seen my ADD symptoms reappear within a week and my depression worsen after about three ...

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

This drug seriously damaged my body. This drug completely turned me against all pharmaceuticals. I will never use another unnatural molecule into my body ever again. By simply eliminating the causes of my ADHD such as monosodium glutamate and other toxic substances in my diet I became extremely calm and focussed.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/28/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horny appetite suppression...decent enough

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NotSoJazzedJai | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though I have only been taking generic Dexedrine spansules for 3 days, I’m sad to say that I am seemingly one of the few that have not found the med to be helpful. I may have gotten too excited reading mostly positive reviews, but as a nurse, I know that medications affect everyone differently. I was taking 30 mg Adderall XR for the past 3-4 months, but asked my doctor if I could try Dexedrine because adderall wore off within 3 hours or so for me. Also, when I didn’t take it, I was such a bi*** and just wanted to punch everyone in the face (which is sooo unlike me). Doc prescribed 15 mg spansules twice a day. It took 6 days of hunting to even find a pharmacy that had this particular dose of Dexedrine. I was hoping it would be similar to adderall in its ability to make me more alert, focused, and motivated except without the crash. I was also hoping it would last longer. However, I’m very disappointed thus far. I feel close to no effect on my attention. In fact, I feel tired and even more foggy and spacey. I have a high tolerance to every medication for some reason, so the doc did say that I would probably have to “play with the dose,” but I didn’t expect that taking TWO or even THREE of the 15mg caps at once wouldn’t do a thing for me either. During the first couple days, I thought maybe they’re just so smooth that I don’t realize they’re working, but then I started making silly mistakes at work that I usually don’t make and tasks take me longer to complete! For instance, I’ve seriously been working on this review for over an hour now. The only reason I know I’m not just taking sugar pills is the mad dry mouth I have despite drinking lots of water, which I expected. I also had a debilitating migraine yesterday for the first time in a couple months. Coincidence? I think not. I guess I’ll give it a few more days before flushing them down the toilet since I won’t be able to switch back to Adderall for a month... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boxofrain | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doc decided to substitute my usual Adderall XR with generic Dexedrine spansules. No hallucinations, heart racing, or nasty comedowns unlike Adderall (thank goodness). Oh and it's free under my insurance.Only downside is that I can sweat like crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/9/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has made a big and better change in my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/12/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

generics cause issues but as long as I get one brand only and don't have to switch, I am good. With me, I lose my appetite so I take the tablets to eat between doses. I have been on this since the age of 5 and it quiets me down and shuts me up. It can tend to make me very focused at times and avoidant. people just don't interest me on it. I can take lower doses so I will talk more but not be obnoxious or to clean. This makes me lazy if I am on the full dose all the time too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LuigiG | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been off of this drug for a year after my doctor decided that he was afraid of giving it to me any longer. The withdraw was uneasy and unpleasant as I was only wanting to sleep all of the time. I will be going back on it again with an ADHD doctor. To me this is a wonder drug that, for a 48 year old man who works as twice as hard as men half my age. It does everything from increased focus, safe driving, work motivation and productivity, to a willingness to exercise and an increased tolerance for exercise and just plain joy of living revived. I was placed on Concerta by my new family doctor but all it did was increase my heart rate and give me chest pain. It worked at about 20% of the Dexedrine effectiveness for about two days and was entirely useless after that except for the nasty side effects. The new family doctor would not prescribe me Dexedrine until I had approval from the ADHD doctor. I really despise regulations! As far as drugs are concerned, my usual ramped up dose is one quick release in the morning and one at noon and one time-released spanule one hour after my quick release and another at 1 pm. I take it with 100 mg of Zoloft for my anger management and depression and they work together like magic. An old-school drug that is highly recommended!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alex | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried a lot of add meds and this is pretty smooth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grant | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/25/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 42 years of age I was diagosed with attention deficit disorder. I've been on this drug for 27 years. I saw an interview on TV which I was able to identify with. A physician recommended the drug for me. He had the condition but never took meds and then decided not to because he managed to get through med school; thus he felt he could manage his life. I wish I never listened to him. For I am addicted to this drug. I once went off it for one year when I realized I was exhausted; felt like I was dragging myself around for a year. I'm back on the drug because once taken I realize what a difference it makes in my life. I take the spansule form since it's one per day, at 15 mg. Previously I took 5mg a pill 3x a day, but soon began to overmedicate. Therefore, taking one spansule in the morning prevents me from taking any more because it would be harmful doing so. Another physician advised me to compare the quality of life with living a few years longer. Life on the pill certainly helps me to "feel normal." My thoughts are clearer and I can accomplish many more tasks than before. I do have a leaking Aorta valve but because I'm on the drug so long my body is used to it and doesn't cause further heart problems or any other, except I don't sleep as well. The other inconvenience is once a month visiting a doctor to get the Rx since it's a controlled substance. I was hyperactive as a child, not as an adult. Yes I focus better with the pill, but it has also cleared up many other symptoms ADD can manifest itself to some people. The quality of life greatly improved by properly using the drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
naturalselectionsculpture | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this med for 40 yrs for ADD. It has not elevated my BP and may have lowered it by allowing me to stay calm. The main side effect is that it is sometimes difficult to change focus(topics) especially during the wearing off period after 4 pm when I have re-emergent irritability and apathy--which are hard for others to understand, even when I explain that I have ADD. You almost have to have it yourself to really understand. I found the "shortages" of dextroamphetamine this past year to be offputting and upsetting because I had to live for months with underdosed ADD sx, and because I could get only 1 mo. per Rx (normal was 90 days), had to call around and deal with suspicious pharmacy techs at multiple pharmacies that didn't have it every 4 weeks, and saw the price nearly double (to $1.20/10 mg) at the 1 or 2 pharmacies that did. I felt that this lack of adequate supply, due to lack of availability of one of the ingredients in its manufacture (I was told)was at worst exploitive and at best one of the failures of medical care delivery and sensible cost-control in the U.S. I was so frustrated by the small number, high cost, and long wait to get the Rx filled that I told one of the pharmacists that "I charge $200/hr for my phone and waiting time--here's my bill." She wasn't amused. But the drug has remained effective at the same moderate dose, equivalent to 1/10 of the abuse ("street") dose, for decades, as others have said.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/29/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 15mg twice a day for over 8 years. It has helped me with my ADD and focusing at work and school. I just recently had to stop taking due to pregnancy and have not had any problems or withdraws.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Solution | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication at 10 mg is good for attention span but lacks the motivational "kick" that Adderall XR provides- which is why I gave a 1 star satisfaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works.but time to increase dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flowerpuff | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have narcolepsy and have been taking 20mg.two times a day for several years.It does help,but i still sleep 12 or more hour's a day and have very little energy. I never feel like going anywhere or doing anything but sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarahs66 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2011
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience hypersomnia and I have been dealing withit for as long as I can remember. It has really ruined my life so far. This drug has finally given me a life. I can do things, my job performance has improved and I know what it means to live. I wish doctors would have listen to me years ago when I tried to explain my symptoms!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like Dexedrine, sure you don't get the kick that Adderall xr gave you, but you still get things done. I'm still trying to find out why it had a bad rap. My psychiatrist was very hesitant to give it to me. Dry mouth is prominent when taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/6/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here is the real deal on Dexadrine spansules... I started taking this drug at the age of 14 when I was a freshman in high school. It definately helped my attention span. It is definately not for hyperactivity as it is legal speed. The reason in most of these reviews people say they were unmotivated and could not get out of be without it is because its speed. I took it for most of my teens and into my 20's. I will telly you that it does help you concentrate but it is true if you dont take it you dont get out of bed and can become very nasty. I recall having major fights with family members because I became so nasty. I can also tell you that this drug is extremely addicting. At one point I was self prescribing dexadrine spansuals because I thougth one was never enough but two was to many. So I would break them open and eat the "beads". This drug is great for keeping the wieght off. After taking this drug for nearly 14 years I put on a 100 lbs when I came off of it. I had to gradually work my way off of it. This drug will definately take over your life but after all it is good for keeping your attention spanRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/5/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

suffered w/depress. adult life;when medicated for add,dex span is only med which made me funtional,w/no side effects;i so wish found it sooner, but grateful now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/5/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was the only medication that worked for me. The drug is on back order so I am unable to get it. Can anyone help?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rsdt33 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/27/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been very difficult to focus on one thing since I have began career, in college alcohol did what add drugs now do which is allow me to focus. I started with adderall about 5yrs ago and now on dex spansules for a year. The dex seems smoother and alot less harsh on my system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
augiesgirl | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/27/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has always worked best for me. Every time a new drug came out, my doctor had me try it to make sure I was using the most effective one. I always came back to Dexedrine - no bad side effects, and very effective. Sadly, Dexedrine Spansule Oral will no longer be manufactured!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More