Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

82 People found this comment helpful

It's MUCH more convenient than taking Atrovent multiple times/day & I've been taking it daily since shortly after FDA approval in 2004. Very effective, long-lasting med which is helpful for COPD patients especially. Side effects are pretty mild (at least for me). It may be causing slightly elevated resting heart rate, but otherwise haven't noticed side effects as long as I take it in the mornin...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have found that in every RX that 3 of the cap. don't work. Lot # 704577A I am on a fixed income and at the price I am paying I would like to get what I am paying for. The above is for my wife Janis Higbea I am her husband Richard Higbea

Shared reviews and ratings

Jowalt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just been prescribed this for Asthma as non powder inhalers cause my voice to fade in and out like a bad cell phone connection. I also have a tendency to squeak when I talk. Anyway, Spriva is leaving a metallic taste in my mouth, also I was reading this list and a person mention itching, would never had associated it until I read that. As for the metallic taste, I am eating anything to get the taste out of my mouth - and being a diabetic that is not good at all. I will need to talk to my dr, Will try and get back on ArnitutyRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bear | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using for 3 weeks now and Iâ??m waking up in the middle of the night itching really bad and it is causing major constipation as I already have UC and IBS. This was the 5th medication I have tried and seem to have a allergic reaction to everything. Iâ??ll be letting my doctor know asap

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
old phone guy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using this for 4 months. Read the inclosed instructions and saw the amount of powder in them. Picture of product shows a very tiny amount of powder. Also, I can't feel any help by this. Dr. prescribed this in hopes it will help the COPD. I've already got arthritis, dizzy from other meds, bad prostrate, vision problems. Other than that, I feel great! I am fortunate to have good ins. coverage but the real cost of this is really bad. need to talk with my provider about their cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/18/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Empty capsules at ten dollars a pop

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chazcee | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree that the delivery system sucks big time. The lack of the capsule rattling as it should in the Handihaler, I have found, is typically due to either (1) broken capsule pieces remaining in the device after use or (2), as others have pointed out, the entire top breaking off the capsule in the device. I did discover something that appears to make a difference. Of course, I check for stray bits of capsule with every use but I have found that making sure the capsule goes into the Handihaler with the large end DOWN improves the performance of the device. I have been watching this for about 3 weeks and have had no problems with the capsule in the apparently right, large end down, position. In that period I have two "no rattle" applications; on both I checked to find the large end was up. It may be coincidence but it might work for others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 3 and experience extremely bad sore throat, cough, overly sore muscles lose of voice, dizzy eyes very tired thought it was bronchitis ....but more reading and days pass realize it's the spiriva. Will talk to doctor about other options...breathing was better but side effects horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chazcee | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug is fine the delivery system SUCKS big time. In about 3 of every 10 doses the capsule does not rattle in the Handihaler after puncturing and inhaling which results in the medication not be delivered to the lungs effectively. I am very careful to open the hanidhaler completely before and after every use to check of stray capsule bits that might interfere with the "rattle" process. The problem is that the capsule is intended to be punctured with small holes near the top and bottom. I have noticed that at the time the rattle is not present the upper puncture device has completely cracked the top off of the capsule. I know it is not intended to work this way. I agree with other that is medication is too expensive to have about 30% of the doses wasted. BI Pharmaceuticals needs to spend a few buck and rethink their delivery system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/27/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spriva irritated my throat, dried me out, couldn't drink enough water, gave me a guttural cough, changed what I cough up from clear with tiny bubbles to very heavy, concentrated, and ugly in color. It took me over a month to finally get back to where I was before I took it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard | 65-74 | Male | Patient
11/22/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Packaging is very hard to open, cannot buy refills and have to buy the entire contraption every time, many contain nothing but air or have holes in the capsules rendering them useless. Horrible product and insanely overpriced. Need a generic that actually works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joper | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I twist the barrel to cock the mechanism it releases the spray. My co=pay is $40.00 and who knows how much Medicaree pays. The dispensing Pharamists tells me there's nothing he can do about it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chrisj | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Small and compact, the 1st inhale made my chest feel very heavy, after that it was fine. I've found a few capsules to have no powder in them and when they do it makes a strange rattling noise, bit alarming till you get used to it. I've had a sore throat and hoarse voice since starting to use it a few weeks ago and th capsules arent always easy to get out of the packaging....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skowhegan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/18/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On this medicine for 2 years, I am still alive so i guess its helping. I definitely thought at times a capsule was empty like other posters have said. I am forced to go with ellipta.[insurance] and i have read bad reviews about that drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mg1328 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this as a preventive medication that was not a steroid. I found that it cut my rescue inhaler usage down considerably, I must say that in the 30 days of usage, I have noticed my pants are tight as are my underwear. I was told that this medication would not cause weight gain, but I don't agree,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greenwood60641 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started Spiriva and I notice many posts complaining about empty capsules. How do you tell if a capsule is empty? When I breath it in the capsule rattles around and leaves no taste so I really can't tell.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Opening the blister packs is almost impossible - what terrible packaging!!! Too bad their site links for contact us do not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asthmapatient1 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horrible antichlolinergic effects presented the second day. ie. swelling of the brain and prostate. as per drug info booklet i immediately called my doctor to inform him i will never do Spriva again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaye | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/19/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

capsules are frequently defective, pierced before use. Calls to manufacturer are frustrating and needlessly complicated. After 15 minutes of questioning the agent allowed that they would replace 5 capsules if I got my pharmacy to contact them. This seems like a deliberate money-saving scam on their part to discourage people from demanding better quality control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tml1959 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2016
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes numbness and tingling in fingers and toes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cartousch | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/26/2016
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Sprivia for a long time. I do have difficulty urinating and my eyes bother me ? I'm being treated by my G.P.for an enlarged prostate. My eyes bother me & my eye Dr. says its age related ? Maybe it the Sprivia ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JR | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

15 to 20% failure rate.......how do I get a refund....this is unacceptable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More