Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

Asacol has been a godsend for me. This drug has literally turned my life around.When I first got sick 5 1/2 years ago I was a mess. I lost so much weight, my doctor put me in the hospital. Thanks to this medication I have been in remission for 5 years & have thankfully not had any real flare-ups,& my colonoscopies show no evidence of disease, & considering that my entire colon is affected I would ...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

This is the second day I have taken asacol. I .have had several bowel movements this morning and don't feel comfortable.

Shared reviews and ratings

deizacol | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 18 years. I was on asacol for the last 16 until its name changed to deizacol. I couldn't find Deizacol on the med list on this website. Lately, this medication isn't helping as much. I have had 2 hepatic lobes on my liver since I went on this medication and I feel very bloated. This medicine had almost no side effects for years and now it seems to be giving me some.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carl | 25-34 | Male | Patient
11/24/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok I was diagnosed with mild colitis when I was 18years old I was told to take asacol every day for the rest of my life I thought I new better,I went drug free for 6 years which is quite surprising but just over a year ago I started having a small flare so went to see a private doctor where I had a colonoscopy done which showed my disease being in the lower bowel and rectum,my disease is quite small only 7cm long..anyway cut a lot of Bg story short..I was asacol hd 4800mg a day which wouldn't keep this small disease at bay..so I was on and on off pred for over a year..anyway after seeing a new doctor I told him my symptoms of fresh blood in my stool,he basicly explained this is a very common problem with asacol because where my disease is right at the bottom near the rectum the asacol does not reach that far down,he now put me on 1200mg asacol a day and a 500mg asacol suppository..wishing the first day of using the asacol suppository the blood was nearly gone..this has been a game changer for me..won't like its kind of annoying doing a suppository every night and my stool looking a creamy color but the blood has stoppedRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JA | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/28/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects: Musculoskeletal pain; sore throat; swelling of hands and feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asacol | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/4/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Asacol works for me and has helped me stay in remission for years. The only concern is that I have 2 nodules on my liver, as well as a fatty liver since, I started taking the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leigh | 25-34 | Female | Patient
4/21/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have heard Asacol has stopped being manufactured. Is this true and if it is, is there a generic cheaper product that I can use? It is my lifeline and don't think I can go for long without this or a product similar to Asacol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spinachrcn.com | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked for several weeks and then appeared to lose its effectiveness. Had to resort to imodium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/12/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/2/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Celtic Kegs | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/28/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed at 40 with U.C.after 6 months of pain and horrible bleeding.I found at the start it worked but as I got confident again about eating foods my condition started back up again it works but it makes me tired and bit dizzy everyday I am careful when driving because of its effect.A controlled diet and medication leaves me weak.I would find any type of mental exam hard because of memory loss.I live day by day in the slow lane and accept its better than all those horrible flare ups an running to the toilet its not perfect but a little easier to live with a socially unacceptable disease the best of luck to any one with this condition Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UCguy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Asacol for a couple of months due to my first big UC flare up. The Asacol made my symptoms WORSE. It made me even more sick and I ended up in the hospital. This drug is like a poison to many people, with some experiencing kidney problems and worse! This is a horrible, horrible drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
New 2UC | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recently diagnosed with UC and was immediately put on Asacol. Was in the hospital twice in six weeks. Once I started the Asacol after leaving the hospital my symptoms got worse. I have been healthier for the last two weeks only being on prednisone. About to start Apriso, hopefully I have better luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
viddom | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/1/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/20/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Patient swallowed tablet whole at night but found it same color and size next morning in stool.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/28/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for 20 years with no problems...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mandtenglish | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/12/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 6 400 mg Asacol pills for many years with good results. Have been told Asacol is no longer manufactured and substitutions have not proved effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/24/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/6/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Camper | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/12/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best medication. Haven't had a flare up since I was put on asacol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
martha | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/4/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

diagnosed with colitis.diarrhia 8-10 times a day . supposed to take 6 pills a day 800 gr.each ,but take 4. has cut going to 3times a day. Drug is expensive ,but works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More