Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

Just started this medication this week for a current sinus/bronchial infection. Used it before with great results! Just a note: eat 2 yogurts a day while on ANY antibiotic!! one in am-one in pm. Antibioics kill ALL bacteria including the 'good' bacteria that lives in the intestines/stomach. This leads to diarrhea, cramping, etc. Choose yogurt with 'live bacteria cultures' and eat 2 x a day until ...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

i took this medication before finding out i was pregnant with my son in 1998. he was born with congenital heart disease, has had 3 open heart surgeries, is autistic, has a seizure disorder and many other health issues. DO NOT take this medication if you think you might be pregnant!

Shared reviews and ratings

Birdy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started to feel better within 24 hours of first dose. Been having vivid dreams. Maybe I’m just sleeping better now that I’m healthy. I get a bad taste in my mouth at night but it’s really no big deal. I was warned about diarrhea but I’ve been fine and I haven’t done anything special other than take it with food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olâ?? shuffler | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2019
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for me for strep, as Iâ??m allergic to penicillin. Definitely have the usual side effects: terrible taste in mouth, diarrhea, weird dreams. Most troubling is my incredible neck pain and stiffness; I also have muscle pain in left scapula, right knee, and right IT band. I am shuffling around like a 90 year old with crippling arthritis. Husband wants me to go back to the doc, but if I do theyâ??ll probably give me a broad-spectrum antibiotic, which can really do some long-term damage. Letâ??s hope all these symptoms go away when Iâ??ve finished the pills!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rerosie67ny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2018
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just a comment to other commenters about the metallic taste- my doctor told me to take the pill with root beer and you won't have the metallic taste in your mouth all the time. It worked for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacqueline | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4th day on Biaxin XL 1000mg/day for bronchitis (couldn't breathe in for a week without coughing). I felt better by the 3rd day, my cough is almost completely resolved. Side effects are mostly mild, stomach cramping and loose stools, no real appetite and slight restlessness. The metallic taste is severe though. I have it all day long no matter how long it's been since I've taken it, it started the first day. I don't notice it when eating and my voice has finally come back, so it's a good trade-off for only 10 days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saturnine | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 500 mg twice a day. I haven't experienced the metallic taste in the mouth as many others have. The biggest side effect I notice is nausea and gastric upset, but these symptoms are stronger than any other antibiotic I've taken. I am looking forward to the day (about a week to go) that I am done with the course of this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lainie | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2015
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes, the metallic taste overnight caught me off-guard. Brush your teeth as soon as you get up- problem solved. I have had no stomach issues or loss of appetite. Mild headaches, but I was having those before so not sure I can blame the drug for that. I felt better by the end of day 1, but I am on day 5 and it seems my symptoms are still not completely cleared up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crampy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/26/2015
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine gave me very bad stomache cramps and diarrhea. I found it helped to take it at the end of a meal instead of with my meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this medication ( 500mg) for a sinus/bronchial infection. After 1st dose had a very bad reaction. Diarrhea 1 hour after taken it, 2 hours later felt dizzy and sleepy. Even my joints stared to hurt. Called the doctor will change the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ED | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2014
Condition: Bronchitis caused by the Bacteria Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT WAS THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER I WAS TAKEN TO HOSIPTAL IT WAS LIKE A BAD TRIP THE PAIN WAS THE WORST EVER ITS BEEN A MONTH STILL NOT GOOD IT MESSED ME UP.STILL CANT SLEEP PANIC ATTACKS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karebare33 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on and off this med for chronic bronchitis for the last 4-5 years. It is the ONLY thing that works for me and it works fast at stopping the bacteria from growing. The only side effect I have ever experienced was weird taste in my mouth, other than that...nothing. I just usually keep gum or some kind of candy handy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2014
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had horrible stomach cramps and diarrhea. Had an awful pain in the back of my head and my blood pressure went up to 172/124. I thought I was going to have a stroke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tigercub57 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2014
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Biaxin 2 days ago for bronchitis that would not get better following 1 week of Levaquin. The side effects hit today! I have been in the bathroom every 30 minutes, and have a severe headache. I just finished eating some yogurt, hoping that helps. My doctor warned me about the metallic taste, but so far that hasn't happened. I could deal with that better than the diarrhea. I feel slightly weak, but think that's due to all the time spent in the bathroom. I hope this gets better; I have to return to work tomorrow and can't spend all day in the bathroom. I'm also on prednisone and an inhaler for the bronchitis. I despise the side effects of Biaxin, but dealing with bronchitis for 2 weeks is worse. Keeping fingers crossed that somehow all of this corrects itself in next day or so.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LaFierrita | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from a sinus/inner ear infection for 2.5 months. After trying 1 round of methlyprednisolone with a Z-pack, 1 round of prednisone, and 1 round of prednisone with doxycycline, I was prescribed 1000 mg of Biaxin XL (extended-release) daily. I took the first dose (2 pills) with a very large dinner at 7:00 PM on a Friday night. about 1:15 AM on Saturday morning, I woke up from a dead sleep and bolted to the toilet. I felt like my stomach was about to rip out of my body and was so sick. The taste of the medicine was so strong and nothing could get rid of it. I have never had such a strong reaction to a medication in my life. it was 36 hours (with no more Biaxin) until I started to feel normal again. I will not be taking Biaxin XL again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KG | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2014
Condition: Mycobacterium Avium Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Biaxin for 2 weeks now. I do not experience the same negative side effects as many users. I just started my 2nd med and will add a 3rd next week. I am looking at a year of intensive antibiotic treatment. Taking supplements, probiotics and checking in with my medical team. No doubt side effects will come and will deal with each one best I can. Too soon to tell about effectiveness but I have used Biaxin before with success. Drink lots of Water!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peacock | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2014
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug was very effective in treating the lung infection, my cough was better within 48 hours. I was prescribed 1000mg once a day with food, so I took it in the morning with toast. My stomach ached on and off all day, two days I had really bad chest gas and took some Tums for relief. I did not have diarrhea nor difficulty sleeping. Today is my last day taking the meds and I feel great and look forward to the stomach ache subsiding. I would take this drug again, every drug has side effects. I am an extremely healthy eater, with a plant based diet, whole foods, don't smoke or drink alcohol or caffein so perhaps because I am in good shape the drug did not affect me so severely as others have described. It's a testament to a healthy lifestyle. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking two 500mg tabs two days, experiencing same nasty taste in mounth especially at night & constant headache; sleep cycle distrubed, but already some relief which was due to the steriod shot; i'm taking a probiotic when i take med (during meal)which helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skylite | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2014
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whiteknight | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2014
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am now on my last day of a 7 day course of this drug. Between the nasty taste left in my mouth, lack of appetite, racing thoughts and lack of sleep it has left me wondering (2:26 am in the morning) why I was prescribed this drug. It certainly isn't for its effectiveness as I still have the sinus infection. If I hadn't read the review on here I also would not know that others have also experienced insomnia, racing thoughts and nasty taste in the mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Njoneslady04 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2014
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Biaxin for recurring sinus infections after sinus surgery. I was prescribed a 10 day dose. Within a day I felt like I had no sinus infection! : ) Like SO many of the reviews, there was an awful taste constantly. And, I could not for the life of me put a finger on why I was sleeping so horribly. I even had my Dr prescribe Ambien, and I would still not get a good nights sleep. About day 5 I had some gas and stomach issues, but honestly the sleep issues are awful and far outweigh the gastro issues. This would not be my first choice in the future. It worked well, but the side effects are bothersome to a mother of 4!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/6/2013
Condition: Mycobacterium Avium Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS MEDICINE CAUSED MY LOWER LEGS TO SWELL AND CAUSED ME TO TIRE EASILY. LOWER LEG PAIN AND TIRING OF THE LEGS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More