Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

77 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication with no side effects for 15 years 15 2X daily. Since starting this medication I no longer wait fot the sky to Fall. I have just increased my dosage but have no interest in taking another medication. This medication truly gave my life back to me.

Most voted negative review

33 People found this comment helpful

I cannot understand that people benefit from yhis drug for anxiety it is like becksthegazza sais the mosthorrible drug ever inventid if you are not anxious you will become it if you take it and if you have a history of drugabuse they(Docters) rather let you commit suicide then prescibe you benzodiazepines the only drug that realy helps with anxietyproblems they even said that if I wanted benzo's I...

Shared reviews and ratings

KT | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was having extreme panic attacks and anxiety, racing heart, chest tightness, i had anxiety disorder all my life but after contracting covid my anxiety soared to new heights. Started taking 3.75 twice daily and it worked immediately. still felt anxious from time to time but it was managable anxiety and not a single panic attack. since i still felt anxious sometimes my dr recommended i go up to 5mgs 2x a day. day four of the increased dose and the migraines are unmanageable. going to try and go back to 3.75 and maybe try that dose 3x a day because it was helping my anxiety so much but i cannot handle the migraines at the 5mg dose. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for years and I love it!! U need to take it for months not a few days are weeks in long term it's stopped my panic attacks,my anger,I don't cry at a drop of a hat. I do not recommend stopping cold turkey I did and my entire body tremerd I was dizzy all the time,I couldn't sleep,let's just say it was bad. But ppl need to understand it's not a fast acting medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie126 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have moderate anxiety that my doctor didn’t want me to take klonopin for since it was moderate and daily. This med is the best drug I’ve ever taken for my anxiety in my life. BUT the side effects were just too bad for me to continue taking it. It made me shaky and dizzy and nauseous. And I believe I had to take it twice a day. I tried to be on this for a month or so but I couldn’t handle it. It worked so well I do tell people they should try it but also warned them about the side effects. I really wish I could’ve stuck with itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MC | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on 5MG once a day and it was HORRIBLE. I could only bear 6 days of it before I had to quit and usually I’m able to get past the adjustment days. I had bouts of crying, irritability, extreme nausea, brain fog, dizziness and migraines. I’ve had COVID and it wasnt half as bad as my week on Buspar. I’m now 6 days off and still feel like garbage. I hear this doesnt have a ton of side effects, so I’m glad to hear it works for some.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sson - I wish we could connect and chat, I feel the same as you. I was on Lexapro for a long time and did not feel like it was helping so I went off to try to get a baseline gauge of how I feel without medication. Anxiety and mild depression started and my doctor prescribed Buspar - it seemed to work a bit at first but now I am experiencing horrible, debilitating anxiety and depression like I have never felt. I feel bad about myself and am experiencing dark and intrusive thoughts that I have not before. I am going to stop taking this and see at psychiatrist. I am a mom too and cannot exist in this stateRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soson | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this med prn (as needed) it sometimes helped, but usually not. Sometimes it would make me too dizzy that I had to go lay down. So it was not a consistent result. My Doc said it would be best to take this daily (3x day) and that it takes awhile to reach therapeutic levels. I am going on 1 month and I have noticed no improvement. Actually the opposite for me.. the anxiety has worsened, I am on edge, tired all day, cannot sleep at night. Most recently I have had a new hopeless feeling that I can't shake. I am convinced that the drug is affecting me negatively BUT I am having a very hard time remembering doses and not taking them at the same time every day. I am a busy mom of 5 and my schedule is never the same. Sometimes Im home sometimes not. I forget to take the med with me sometimes (brain fog and attention issues is one of the major problems I am noticing with this med also) so then somedays I only get 1 dose.. I am desperate for anxiety relief and I could give it more time but gosh I just don't know! Can anyone relate to these concerns and stayed the course and it eventually worked?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BuSpar | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a couple days. It honestly has helped with the racy thoughts, sick to stomach, etc. However NO sleep at all like nothing. I can’t seem to get my brain to shut off. Then started having dark depression thoughts out of nowhere. I have decided to stop taking it. This medication is not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clouds | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first medication that I felt really helped me. Obviously, medications are very specific to the individual, but with that being said, I felt so leveled out in weeks. I am currently off it (stopped taking it when I moved states, laziness, nothing else) but am considering restarting it. It was the best I had felt mentally in years. I was a wreck. I couldn't do basic tasks. I stopped going to work... I was struggling heavily with depression and anxiety and when common antidepressants did not work for me, my provider recommended this. This helped me overall and on a daily basis but I was also given xanax for bad episodes. I was on it for a little over a year and it truly helped me find stable ground again and regain my sense of self.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety, insomnia, bipolar, and insomnia. Over the past 20 years, I’ve been on just about everything. Benzos work fine, but doctors won’t prescribe it long term. I started at 10mg twice daily. It was pretty good. Made me sleepy the first week or two. After a couple months my doctor doubled the dose. I don’t take it everyday. I use them more like benzos. 20 or 30mg takes about 30 minutes to kick in. If your not doing anything you’ll probably fall asleep, but if your going out, or doing anything stressful, it gives me a nice mellow mood. The more often I take it, the less effective it is, but I find that’s the case with every drug on the planet. All and all, it’s an acceptable replacement for benzos if your dose is high enough and you don’t take it everyday for months on end. My brain will always figure out away around a drug eventually. It just learns to see through the fog/obstruction. Overall, pretty good drug to counter racing thoughts and anger.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have GAD along with major depressive, C-PTSD, and ADHD and I was prescribed this after going to a psychiatric hospital, along with wellbutrin. This medication didn't work for me past the first few days, and just made the side effects from my other medications (wellbutrin and lithium) way worse. I am still looking for the right anxiety medication to take, but this wasn't it for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GG8Watts | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What! What! Calming effect. Not for me. Damn it Adderall does more to calm me down than this crap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will not take benzos so my doctor gave me buspar and for a short time taking a whole 5mg would make me foggy and tired but once my body got used to it it has helped me stay calm and not on edge. I like that I can take up to 30mg a day if needed but the most I've ever taken in one day was 10mg. In my personal experience this has been a great tool for me to manage GAD and to prevent panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 0-2 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does nothing. Might as well eat green m*m's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible for me. I was in this medication for only 9 days and it made my anxiety uncontrollable. I was confused, foggy, couldn’t sleep and was unable to talk. I could think of what I wanted to say but I couldn’t talk. I stopped taking it on the advice of my physiatrist and ended up in the hospital for suicidal thoughts.. it’s been a week and I still feel terrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I prefer not to take a benzo. This works for me without the side effects the benzos cause. I sometimes feel euphoric. I would recommend this over other meds!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with duloxetine for anxiety. Over time it became less effective and I was waking up with chest pain due to anxiety, couldn’t eat, couldn’t sleep. My Dr. added buspar 5 mg twice daily. It worked quickly; I felt much better within a few days. It is not sedating and does not affect thinking/judgement as drugs like Xanax do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sophie | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Buspar worked very well for me. I had some mild side effects the first few days I took it, but they went away pretty quickly. My anxiety was basically non-existent while I was on it and was pretty happy while on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have read all of the reviews of this medication. It worked very well for me. I started at 2.5mg twice a day and slowly moved up to 5.0mg in am and 2.5mg in the PM. I broke into a rash with horrible GERD the day I went to 5.0mg which was on my 7th day. It worked very well for my anxiety overall but I had an allergic reaction to it. So very disappointing. I really wanted it to work with my body but I have had bad reactions to Lexapro, Effactor, Propanlol, and Zoloft.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cary | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from general anxiety disorder and for the past 15 years I’ve misused alcohol and Valium (and then Xanax as well). It got to a breaking point where I was forgetting what I was doing. I quit drinking back in August 2019. I was doing good and then COVID hit and my Valium intake quadrupled. Then I was buying black market European Xanax on the Internet which was terrible. I was getting worse and worse. Finally, I decided to get help. My physiatrist is tapering me off the Valium and I’ve been on Buspar for four months. I am going through side affects of years of benzo abuse but I can promise you that if you give this medicine 4-5 weeks, you will feel calmer. It’s not a quick fix all though… it works best if you work with a therapist to work on coping techniques when you feel stress (yoga, hiking, mediation) along with this medicine. The only thing is it does give you some slight sinus pressure feeling headache (tolerable) and can make you feel a little night sweat during the first half hour after taking it. I take 15mg before bed and 15mg in the early morning (on an empty stomach). My doctor might increase dosage as I’m tapering further off the Valium (max is 60mg a day). I hope this review helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like many of you, I was terrified to start any type of anti-anxiety medication. I am a healthy 32 year old male who is ambitious, self-motivated and successful. I workout, meditate, eat well, etc, but I have terrible anxiety about even taking any type of medication. I've had panic attacks and general anxiety for 10 years and enough was enough. I made the decision to try Buspar and I do not regret it. Start with a small dose and ramp up if you need it. I take 5MG 2X/day. The medication will work and side effects will be worse in the first 1-2 weeks but do not worry, they are manageable for most and will go away. I wish you peace, love and positivity in your journey to recovery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More