Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

77 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication with no side effects for 15 years 15 2X daily. Since starting this medication I no longer wait fot the sky to Fall. I have just increased my dosage but have no interest in taking another medication. This medication truly gave my life back to me.

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

I cannot understand that people benefit from yhis drug for anxiety it is like becksthegazza sais the mosthorrible drug ever inventid if you are not anxious you will become it if you take it and if you have a history of drugabuse they(Docters) rather let you commit suicide then prescibe you benzodiazepines the only drug that realy helps with anxietyproblems they even said that if I wanted benzo's I...

Shared reviews and ratings

Allie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried everything before this medication and I can honestly say this medication took away most of my anxiety after a month. I do not get obsessed with anxious thoughts anymore. The 3rd day of taking this I was so anxious that I was going to stop but I fought through it and I am SO glad that I did. I also get dizzy from time to time after a dose but I would have that any day over anxiety!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnonAnon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

White gold. Repeated episodes in the past; worse than most. I had night terrors, catatonia, agoraphobia- the list was long and I wasn’t doing well at all- for months. I’ve only been taking Buspar for 3 & 1/2 weeks now and I’m out walking my dogs, cleaning/cooking/socializing- literally nothing short of a miracle. I take 5 mg (only) twice per day (8 am & 4 pm) + 1 mg of Rexulti once daily; this seems to me the working combo for me. I hope this review helps someone else out there just as these reviews helped me. All the best!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kittycat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 5mg twice per day and then my doctor upped my dose to 10mg twice per day. The entire time I had awful side effects and increased anxiety. I didn’t feel like myself I was constantly dizzy and lightheaded. I couldn’t deal with the side effects so stopped after less than two weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beca | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This does ZERO for panic attacks. Literally zero. I honestly think it's a sugar pill. I know 5 other people in my anxiety group who had zero help with anxiety after using this for 6 months or more. Junk

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raven | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My only real complaint about this medicine is being hard for me to swallow. I've been on this since late 2019 after years of SSRI's not touching my anxiety and frequent anxiety attacks. This is the only medicine that allows me to get back to normal life as far as anxiety goes. I have no side effects using it, and it has genuinely improved my life. Do be careful if you do have bipolar disorder as it can interact with some medications used to treat that too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All it did was make my back and body feel heavy. I felt no metal relief. Took it for half a year in hopes that it would kick in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sae | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/31/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a teacher living in Texas, I sought out anxiety medication after the tragic events in Uvalde that triggered severe panic attacks that left me unable to participate in normal life(I’m a mom of a 3 and 5 year old). I was put on Zoloft by urgent care and had a severe adverse reaction giving me all of the black box label symptoms. It took me a good 2 months to detox off of Zoloft and I was TERRIFIED that nothing would work for me and also scared to begin a new medication after having such a hard time with an SSRI. After genetic testing(I highly recommend), my doctor decided that Buspar would be best for me. With the help of my genetic results, she hit the nail on the head. It took me about a week for my anxiety to start melting away, but each day I gained part of myself back. I’d say I was more anxious for the first 3 days, and then boom, I was feeling like myself. It’s the safety net I needed and finally the key to feeling like myself again. If you are reading this review desperate for answers like I was a few months ago, please know there is hope for you. The light will come and the darkness will clear. You are stronger than you realize and you WILL get through this. Keep fighting. It’s worth it. I promise. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 10 mg of Buspar as an add-on to my prescription of 15 mg celexa for general and social anxiety. It took about a month to kick in, but I stuck it out and have found that this combination works well. I feel much happier, more calm, and more confident. I feel like my appetite is much greater recently, however, I cannot say for certain that this is a side effect of the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beepboop | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For reference I am on 300 Wellbutrin and was prescribed 10mg 2x of Buspar. Where to begin on how this medication did everything wrong. 1. Frequent brain zaps 2. Numbness in hands and feet. I would be driving and suddenly couldn’t feel my toes which lead to a panic attack. 3. Constant anxiety and paranoia, almost created a feeling of disassociation. 4. Dizziness and issues with motion. 5. Constipation which I have never had before in my life. 6. Mood swings, mostly anger. 7. I know you’re not supposed to drink on medication but I typically have 3-4 beers on my other medications and have never had this issue but since starting this medicine I black out and go on tangents of rage against my partner and strangers, something I have never done. This medication made me fearful and not in control of my body and this seems to be a common theme. It’s just not worth it, find a doctor that will prescribe you something that works for anxiety instead of inducing anxiety.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KT | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was having extreme panic attacks and anxiety, racing heart, chest tightness, i had anxiety disorder all my life but after contracting covid my anxiety soared to new heights. Started taking 3.75 twice daily and it worked immediately. still felt anxious from time to time but it was managable anxiety and not a single panic attack. since i still felt anxious sometimes my dr recommended i go up to 5mgs 2x a day. day four of the increased dose and the migraines are unmanageable. going to try and go back to 3.75 and maybe try that dose 3x a day because it was helping my anxiety so much but i cannot handle the migraines at the 5mg dose. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for years and I love it!! U need to take it for months not a few days are weeks in long term it's stopped my panic attacks,my anger,I don't cry at a drop of a hat. I do not recommend stopping cold turkey I did and my entire body tremerd I was dizzy all the time,I couldn't sleep,let's just say it was bad. But ppl need to understand it's not a fast acting medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie126 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have moderate anxiety that my doctor didn’t want me to take klonopin for since it was moderate and daily. This med is the best drug I’ve ever taken for my anxiety in my life. BUT the side effects were just too bad for me to continue taking it. It made me shaky and dizzy and nauseous. And I believe I had to take it twice a day. I tried to be on this for a month or so but I couldn’t handle it. It worked so well I do tell people they should try it but also warned them about the side effects. I really wish I could’ve stuck with itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MC | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on 5MG once a day and it was HORRIBLE. I could only bear 6 days of it before I had to quit and usually I’m able to get past the adjustment days. I had bouts of crying, irritability, extreme nausea, brain fog, dizziness and migraines. I’ve had COVID and it wasnt half as bad as my week on Buspar. I’m now 6 days off and still feel like garbage. I hear this doesnt have a ton of side effects, so I’m glad to hear it works for some.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sson - I wish we could connect and chat, I feel the same as you. I was on Lexapro for a long time and did not feel like it was helping so I went off to try to get a baseline gauge of how I feel without medication. Anxiety and mild depression started and my doctor prescribed Buspar - it seemed to work a bit at first but now I am experiencing horrible, debilitating anxiety and depression like I have never felt. I feel bad about myself and am experiencing dark and intrusive thoughts that I have not before. I am going to stop taking this and see at psychiatrist. I am a mom too and cannot exist in this stateRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soson | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this med prn (as needed) it sometimes helped, but usually not. Sometimes it would make me too dizzy that I had to go lay down. So it was not a consistent result. My Doc said it would be best to take this daily (3x day) and that it takes awhile to reach therapeutic levels. I am going on 1 month and I have noticed no improvement. Actually the opposite for me.. the anxiety has worsened, I am on edge, tired all day, cannot sleep at night. Most recently I have had a new hopeless feeling that I can't shake. I am convinced that the drug is affecting me negatively BUT I am having a very hard time remembering doses and not taking them at the same time every day. I am a busy mom of 5 and my schedule is never the same. Sometimes Im home sometimes not. I forget to take the med with me sometimes (brain fog and attention issues is one of the major problems I am noticing with this med also) so then somedays I only get 1 dose.. I am desperate for anxiety relief and I could give it more time but gosh I just don't know! Can anyone relate to these concerns and stayed the course and it eventually worked?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BuSpar | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a couple days. It honestly has helped with the racy thoughts, sick to stomach, etc. However NO sleep at all like nothing. I can’t seem to get my brain to shut off. Then started having dark depression thoughts out of nowhere. I have decided to stop taking it. This medication is not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clouds | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first medication that I felt really helped me. Obviously, medications are very specific to the individual, but with that being said, I felt so leveled out in weeks. I am currently off it (stopped taking it when I moved states, laziness, nothing else) but am considering restarting it. It was the best I had felt mentally in years. I was a wreck. I couldn't do basic tasks. I stopped going to work... I was struggling heavily with depression and anxiety and when common antidepressants did not work for me, my provider recommended this. This helped me overall and on a daily basis but I was also given xanax for bad episodes. I was on it for a little over a year and it truly helped me find stable ground again and regain my sense of self.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety, insomnia, bipolar, and insomnia. Over the past 20 years, I’ve been on just about everything. Benzos work fine, but doctors won’t prescribe it long term. I started at 10mg twice daily. It was pretty good. Made me sleepy the first week or two. After a couple months my doctor doubled the dose. I don’t take it everyday. I use them more like benzos. 20 or 30mg takes about 30 minutes to kick in. If your not doing anything you’ll probably fall asleep, but if your going out, or doing anything stressful, it gives me a nice mellow mood. The more often I take it, the less effective it is, but I find that’s the case with every drug on the planet. All and all, it’s an acceptable replacement for benzos if your dose is high enough and you don’t take it everyday for months on end. My brain will always figure out away around a drug eventually. It just learns to see through the fog/obstruction. Overall, pretty good drug to counter racing thoughts and anger.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have GAD along with major depressive, C-PTSD, and ADHD and I was prescribed this after going to a psychiatric hospital, along with wellbutrin. This medication didn't work for me past the first few days, and just made the side effects from my other medications (wellbutrin and lithium) way worse. I am still looking for the right anxiety medication to take, but this wasn't it for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GG8Watts | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What! What! Calming effect. Not for me. Damn it Adderall does more to calm me down than this crap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More