Show ratings & reviews for

4.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I was burned badly, when I was a little one in the 70's, by a pot of hot coffee that I had pulled off the counter and onto my whole body. My mom took me to the ER where they put Butesin Picrate all over me. It immediately took the pain away and I never got one single blister and no scars. This was definately a "miracle" ointment and I cannot believe that it is no longer manufactured.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I used it once with reasonable success. The second time I used it it caused a massive reaction: tingling and burning in my arms and face, which then swelled massively - within 15 minutes my tongue and throat were swelling up and I got taken to the emergency doctor and had a steriod injection and breathing assistance till it settled down. Huge allergic reaction. If I had been somewhere remote I mig...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | Female |
10/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used it back in 1980's when i spilt hot jam onto one of my hands and the pain went and the next morning you would not have known that i had poured boiling jam onto it. Excellent product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CTA | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 1991, my face was splashed with hot cooking oil. The oil burned the right side of my face over my eyelid, my cheek, my upper lip, and a bit of my chest. My mother-in-law gave me a tube of the butesin picrate which I applied. Not only did it help the pain, but it seems like the burned area just sloughed off! And no scarring! I thought that as I grew older, the scars would show up. I am now 67 and still no scars! Great stuff. Needless to say I ordered a tube over 20yrs ago that I still keep around. It still works! Where can I buy more? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TR | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keep in kitchen cupboard... at arms reach for burns! Mom used it!... I bought for my daughter’s medicine chest when she moved to her own place! Cool & clean wound, dry & quickly apply to soothe burn wound pain. Helps to heal!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill | 55-64 | Female | Caregiver
5/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I worked at a steak house in the mid 1970's and we always had tubes of this ointment around for the grill and oven burns. Application of this bright yellow ointment brought instant relief and the burn would not progress to blister. I am a nurse now and it is 2020, and my tube (expired in 1984) is almost gone. Used it on a friend last week, and it still worked perfectly. My kitchen drawer will never be complete without this miracle ointment. Why can't we find this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more |
12/2/2018
Condition: Minor Skin Wound Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m now 70 and have kept a precious tube of butesin pictrate in my fridge for the past 30years! Butesin pictrate is unsurpassed for minor burns in the kitchen. Why has it been discontinued? Burn pain immediately disappears leaving no blisters or scars.A magical ointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave47401 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/31/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There's nothing better for minor burns.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
madchook | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2015
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it once with reasonable success. The second time I used it it caused a massive reaction: tingling and burning in my arms and face, which then swelled massively - within 15 minutes my tongue and throat were swelling up and I got taken to the emergency doctor and had a steriod injection and breathing assistance till it settled down. Huge allergic reaction. If I had been somewhere remote I might not be writing this now. Did you know that picrate is derived from picric acid, which is related to TNT and was primarily used as an explosive??? We need to be more aware of what we are putting on our skin because our body absorbs it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DCSKINSFAN | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

excellent for 1st degree kitchen burns

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellie433621 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was burned badly, when I was a little one in the 70's, by a pot of hot coffee that I had pulled off the counter and onto my whole body. My mom took me to the ER where they put Butesin Picrate all over me. It immediately took the pain away and I never got one single blister and no scars. This was definately a "miracle" ointment and I cannot believe that it is no longer manufactured.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
samsugg | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2013
Condition: Minor Skin Wound Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butesin Picrate(butamben picrate)ointment mfg. by Abbott Laboratories, N. Ch. Il. We still have some in a tube w/exp. date of Mar. 1 1978. My wife used it on an iron burn tonight (10/17/2013) and it still works. We were advised to buy it for our toddler daughter when she seared her hand on an oil heater. No scar. Years later I picked up a red hot piece of metal and realized it only when I heard my skin frying and saw smoke from my grasp. A severe burn. I quickly retrieved the butesin and smeared on the wound. It made it burn like the devil but it eased off after a couple of hours. Guess what? NO SCAR!!!!!! "It is the best" I know. Where can I get a new tube?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tomcharbell | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Facial burns from gas oven explosion were treated ~ after roughly a week of treatment, hypersensitivity developed with raised vesicles. 1 year later exposure to butesin Picrate in "Dixie Bell Gin" & tonic caused a severe allergic reaction needing medical attention

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancycowdrey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2012
Condition: Minor Skin Wound Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremly helpful. Would recommend it highly!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
weenasgirl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/26/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter burned her arm and neck with hot coffee with butesin picrate she never scarred the pain eased up immediately

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Butesin Picrate for years for burns and can't seem to find it anymore. Is it still available in the USA? It stops the pain and promotes healing of all kinds of burns. I have found nothing better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nightEchoes | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/12/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butesin Picrate - best in the world for burns. Used it since i was a child. My family swears by it. I've NEVER gotten a scar from any burn treated with BP. Now? Can't find it anywhere. Pharmacists have no idea what i'm talking about. The last time we bought it was from Eckerd, which is no longer. i spelled the product name to the Pharmacist at Rite Aid and at CVS. Both had absolutely no idea what i wanted. What's going on? A wonderful product like this MUST still be in existence. I want to find it locally, since i don't have a credit card and don't want one and so don't buy stuff online. Any idea what drug chain stores carry it? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female |
8/22/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butesin Picrate is a fabulous pain reliever for burns. As a small child in the 1950’s, my pediatrician prescribed Butesin Picrate to eliminate my pain from boiling water spilling all over my arm when I knocked and broke a glass vaporizer. The pain was severe, but after applying Butesin Picrate, I had no more pain. Thereafter, my family kept Butesin Picrate on hand in our medicine cabinet to apply on minor burns as well. Then, in the early 1990’s my young son placed his hand on the burner of an electric range which just had been in use. I took him to his (younger) pediatrician, who prescribed a topical antibiotic to deter any possibility of infection; however, he admitted it would not eliminate the pain. He knew of nothing that would completely eliminate the pain, although did recommend one or two things to ease it. So, I asked him about using Butesin Picrate, which he had never heard of before. He seemed skeptical that there would be something to completely eliminate the pain, but was willing for me to use it along with the topical antibiotic. My son felt no more pain once Butesin Picrate was put on his hand. Certainly, many burn patients would wish their younger physicians were familiar with it. I can’t praise it enough — it may be an older medication, but it still is a fantastic, miracle pain reliever for persons with burns.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ted | 65-74 | Male | Patient
9/28/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used butesin picrate both on minor burns I, or members of the family, suffered and on two major burn cases. The first was a young woman who faced a pressure cooker spill on her face and upper chest. It was hard to believe that she would not be scarred for life, but after applying butesin picrate ointment, the skin mended without a trace. The other case was of a worker in my refining plant who accidentally slipped one arm, down to the elbow, in hot lubricating oil. The skin began to peel immediately. I applied butesin picrate and rushed him to Emergency, where the physician in charge told me that, but for the butesin picrate, the man might have lost part of his arm. The problem I have is that the ointment does not seem to be available in any pharmacy I know. I would appreciate information about its availability.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lainey | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/24/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this ointment for a large burn on the calf of my leg. I was in extreme pain before I bought this medicine. I got instant relief and never had to go to the doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
4/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Home burns, it's the best and fastest relief

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/21/2008
Condition: Minor Skin Wound Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this ointment to treat minor burns for 40 years. In fact, the tube of butesin picrate that I use is 40 years old - because I have not been able to find it in the small town in which I live - and gives pain relief and lessons scarring.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More