Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

on 28 day cycle of infusions with vidaza. 7 days of infusions then 21 days without infusions. 1/2 way thru my 6th cycle. last blood test showed vast inprovement.feeling better. side effects: constapation and muscle pain frist two weeks then feeling good (normal) last 2 weeks of cycle

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Having cramps, frequently, and gaining weight. Is this from the Vidaza?

Shared reviews and ratings

Buckeye6165 | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed in 2/17 with MDS. On Vidaza for over two years! Over 240 injections in the stomach...24 injections for nausea in the hand and over 100 blood tests with no ill effects! Caught twice with my platelets down and needed a transfusion! Everyone is different...feeling fine at 75!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
queenie73722 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2017
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this medication while it was going through the clinical trials. There was 31 of us on the trial. My bone marrow function went from 50% to 20% with one cycle. I was removed from the trial and send start to having a stem cell transplant. I thought I was going to die taking this medication. I have had 2 stem cell tranplants to date and I have been in remission for 7 yrs now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steven | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: Type of Leukemia - Acute Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

diagnosed with amml 2015 - Jan 2016 given 5-8month life expectancy - complete my 10th cycle today! 3 month s ago placed on a 5 week cycle - have 190mg per day over 7 days. During injections experience nausea, dry reaching, headaches - some constipation due to nausea medication - some control with prunes & coloxyl & senna . 2-3 days after injections finish improvement in general well being headache rarer, nausea less - to the point where 1 week after injections have returned to some sort of normality - even allowing a 12 day fly/drive/van tour of central Australia in November 2016. Then the grind starts again!!!!!! Have to remember the good days to get through the bad ones!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julian | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2015
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had low blood counts: WBC and ANC; RBC and hemoglobin, and platelets. Mild nausea after first dose of first cycle. I have only had one cycle and the drug is not producing results yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only slight nausea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smg5292yahoo.com | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2014
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused me to develop eosophilic pneumonia which, after only two treatments of Vidaza, almost killed me. It took a huge team of doctors (pulmonologists, cardiologoists and the whole hematologists) to bring me back to some semblance of normalcy. They took me off all MDS meds for three years. I've been okay for three years but now because blood levels have dropped due to a virus, they are wanting me to try another drug. Naturally I am very wary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tish | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have AML, DR PUT ME ON VIDAZA HAVE BEEN TAKING IT ONCE EVERY 5 WEEKS SINCE DEC 13. Haven't needed blood or plateles since March 13. Have constipation issues and joint pain the week following chem and then I feel fine. Blood work looks great, but I will probably be on this drug for life, but if it keeps me alive I can live with that

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LadyDi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2013
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was transfusion free for 2 & 1/2 years on this drug. Wish it worked longer for me. Mild constipation was my only issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gil | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On cycle 3. Some constipation-mild. Dx: MDS. Hives and skin rash has been a constant problem since dx 3/12.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
don | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/16/2012
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on 28 day cycle of infusions with vidaza. 7 days of infusions then 21 days without infusions. 1/2 way thru my 6th cycle. last blood test showed vast inprovement.feeling better. side effects: constapation and muscle pain frist two weeks then feeling good (normal) last 2 weeks of cycle

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gary | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/21/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have MDS this treatment has took me from 2 pints of blood every week to nothing . I have 3 shots a day for 7 days. My blood count is 13.8 from 7.5. Platlets from 20000 to 228000. Have been taking for 10 months. 1 week on 3 weeks off. I had a reaction but they are using steroids and benaydril no more problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andre | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/5/2012
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have severe constipation and severe mussel and joint pain but only after 7 sessions the side effect in not worth for fitting transfusion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jactro | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2011
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 4th cycle, haven't had a blood or platelet tranfusion in 2 months, used to have every week, sometimes twice.white blood cells decreased somewhat, but my doctor is very pleased with the overall results. my worst side effect is soreness at injection site, redness and blistering, and constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/2/2011
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'am on my 14th cycle,5 days consecutive hip injections (200 mg.) daily,then 4 weeks no injections.Side effects can be tolerated.I was diagnosed with MDS in 1998,low red blood cell counts is my main problem at present.I have had approximately 50 units of red packed cells.I have been transfusion independent for 12 mths.on Vidazza.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hamnash2 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnR | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2010
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6 injections itching in various areas occurs most offenfsive is of the eye lids. Puss pockets appear in various areas of my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gordon | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/31/2010
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no effect

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee DeMatteo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2010
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had 7 injections of Vidaza and I had no side-effect at all.. in fact a burst of energy for hours. And fine after!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/16/2009
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having cramps, frequently, and gaining weight. Is this from the Vidaza?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rita | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/17/2009
Condition: Bone Marrow Disorders Occurring Before Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the patient has had extreme fatigue, weakness and constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More