Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

81 People found this comment helpful

Painful osteoarthritis - This is the only thing that has helped with the severe bone and joint pain. I no longer feel like I am twenty years older than I am, and can keep up with the kids again! This might upset a sensitive stomach but since I have to use a proton pump inhibitor anyway (because of IBS) I can't comment on that... I have been on it (15mg daily) for one month. I did learn right away ...

Most voted negative review

21 People found this comment helpful

Burps that smells like farts(the burps happen frequently because of the severe gas), severe gas and diarrhea, major discomfort. The benefits do not outweigh the negatives. And as far as I can find, this stuff is actually only approved for dogs and for a one time use in cats. Stay away.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mike | 55-64 | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great makes life much better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RVT | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I shouldn't post that I wasn't happy with the effectiveness, or ease of use for this medication - I couldn't take it long enough to determine. This medication made me so ill - stomach pain, severe nausea, cramps - this isn't for me. I'd rather take Ibuprofen and have joint pain than to vomit 24/7. Good luck if taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAP | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have torn rotator cuff in both shoulders, arthritis, tendinitis in my ankles and elbows and plantar fasciitis in my right foot. This takes it all away for 24 hours at a time. What a relief, to be able to pain-free even if it's 24 hours. I sleep better and I'm more active. I have not had any side effects but I do not take it daily, I take it when it's to the point of unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thi Thi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a meniscal tear and rheumatoid arthritis. I was first given Celebrex which worked wonders but then it made me feel sick after about a week. I was then prescribed Meloxicam which I was I was already hesitant to try. On the 2nd day, I had severe abdominal pain and got so dizzy I thought I was about to pass out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nerve damage in my legs and feet, and also shoulder pain. This drug has done wonders for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nrp3boys | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is working great for both my shoulder joints and my calf muscles! I am 64 years old, couldn't mark it on the info place.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a dangerous drug with side effects of heart attack and stroke. It didn't work any better than aspirin for osteoarthritis in my knee. It caused stomach upset, nausea and headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for osteoarthritis in knee for pain and stiffness. It didn't help the symptoms. It made me feel nauseated and headaches, The side effects include heart attack and stroke! No thanks, I'll stick with aspirin and icing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KelseyO | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/17/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine caused stomach bleeding to the point where my mom needed a hospital stay and multiple blood transfusions to recover. And it didn’t even help her arthritis pain all that much to start.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silverfox | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Besides having a multiple serious problems with my neck and back, I was prescribed Meloxicam for bone pain and complete loss of cartilage (knee osteoarthritis) in my right knee. Most of the time I cannot walk or move my leg. Sleeping more than 20 minutes at a time was a thing of the past. The pain in all my bones was overwhelming,. Sometimes I would just lie there and cry. Meloxicam took away about 90% of my pain everywhere and I was elated. However, it only lasts a week and then I was at about15% pain relief. I ran out and didn't take them for a week and they started working again when I picked up my prescription , for about a week. I didn't realize there were so many side effects, so I will start checking my blood pressure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Golf guy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 15 mg occasionally for back and hip pain plus sciatica, mostly to help me sleep. Meloxicam is significantly more effective than either ibuprofen or Aleve and I don’t have any side effects but I limit my usage to limit the risk of having side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitesurfer | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Inflammatory arthritis at 40. Started on celebrex until I developed allergy to it, then switched to meloxicam. Without it I can barely move. On it, I can live a pretty much normal life. (Surf, exercise, SUP, bike) I take 15mg daily but have now started taking it every other day as it’s built up in my system. I’ve been on it for just over 1 year. I have no side effects. Stomach is fine. I check my blood pressure regularly and it’s been great, probably as my diet has also taken an approach to less inflammatory/healthier foods. I absolutely love this medicine, it’s been a godsend and it’s cheap.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis 2yrs ago at 42yrs old. I had severe left hip pain for about 4yrs and occasional severe sudden and sharp groin pain that would stop me in my tracks when walking it hurt so bad. Most days I could barely walk. I ended up getting a series of 3 cortisone injections which only helped only for about 2 weeks at a time then the pain was back completely. I finally got to see a rheumatologist who prescribed me with Meloxicam 1 pill daily 15mg after OTC's didn't work. The Meloxicam is a life saver, I now have zero pain and can work with a ride my horses again, ride my mountain bike, walk and exercise with no pain. I've been taking for 3 months now at the same time everyday after dinner 5pm with no side effects. I will keep a close eye out for blood pressure issues or any other side effects this medication may cause long term. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one 15mg capsule for three days and was almost pain free but then I began suffering insomnia, depression and anxiety I ceased taking them for a week and the three side effects vanished, as an experiment I tried again and within two days the insomnia, depression and anxiety returned, I’ll be mentioning this to my doctor and see if there is a safer alternative

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never worked for my pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Meloxicam did not provide effective pain relief. I was using Tylenol to supplement it. I went back to using ibuprofen and now have very good pain relief without the Meloxicam.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gala | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2021
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Meloxicam reduces the pain and stiffness from arthritis in my knees so that I can keep working until I get a knee replacement. Haven’t had any side effects in the years I’ve been taking it—just relief. I’m 68.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt7763 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2021
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a dog bite and my finger was swelling and had a burning sensation, I went to my doctor and she prescribed me this in a small dosage (7.5 mg) and it definitely hurts much less. Of course I still feel some pain at times where I probably and stretching my bite wrong but I’m glad to have awareness of what my body is not enjoying. It helps with minor pain but nothing major basically. I definitely would recommend it for short term use as prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/14/2021
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have very bad hip pain and will most like eventually will need surgery. This meloxicam does nothing. Still taking 2 extra strength Tylenol and an Advil every 4 hrs. Taking this before bed and zero relief. I wish had worked my so much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lesa Ann | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed this because OTCs were not working for the pain or inflammation. My pain was at a constant “7” day and night. spikes too. It took two weeks before I really noticed anything but now my joints feel much better. I can sleep and I can go to work every day. The only bad is that it has really increased my blood pressure. I am upping my dose of blood pressure medication in the hopes that I can continue to take the meloxicam. if I have to discontinue this drug i will be so upset! I have not noticed a decrease in my GFR but I will keep a close eye on it. I’ve only been on the meloxicam for a month. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More