Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

I had tried everything for my severe case of ADHD. After finding that Adderall made me feel like I was on a drug especially the headaches and upset stomach from coming off the adderall XR, trying dextrostat, and every drug to help treat ADHD... I thought I was all out of options. Then I had asked my doctor and he brought up desoxyn. I've been happy taking this for over 2 years and for once, I fina...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

(Based on my own personal experience with this medication) Stop taking this medication immediately if you find yourself taking more than the prescribed amount! If you run out before it's time for a refill, you are abusing it and only using it to get high. You will most likely lie to your Doctor to get more. Desoxyn is extremely effective for quiting smoking, but again, it's risky because it produc...

Shared reviews and ratings

A.J.I.I.C.C | 25-34 | Other | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While a paradoxical decompensation is possible this medication has provide me with the ability to function at a acceptable level however the medication should be available in more forms than one and less scrutinized by society.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noprovidersanywhere | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't find a provider..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nselvaggio | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Definitely one of the best treatments for adhd, due to the fact that you need to take less of the compound for it to be effective. Was much easier to get this than dexedrine and generic adderal is like bottom tear in terms of effectiveness when combined with side effects. Personally I liked mixing desoxyn with dex just do to the fact that all desoxyn felt like it wasn't right but it's at the same time so much more effective. on adhd meds since 14, started taking desoxyn when I was 18-19 and took it up until llike 2012ish. Idk whenever the dea did everything they could to ruin healthcare everywhere pretty much and its been adderall or dextro amp ever sinceRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kpkusktop | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried Cylert, Adderall, Ritalin & Desoxyn. I found Desoxyn to be the best treatment of ADD (as well as Depression & an Eating Disorder) by far... I may be an anomaly, but I have taken Desoxyn for 25 years without any adverse effects. With Desoxyn I was able to focus on higher education, professional success, etc

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tjm | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEXAMPHETAMINE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

GREAT THE ONLY DRUG WHICH MAKES ME NORMAL HUMAN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
twin feet | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/26/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(Based on my own personal experience with this medication) Stop taking this medication immediately if you find yourself taking more than the prescribed amount! If you run out before it's time for a refill, you are abusing it and only using it to get high. You will most likely lie to your Doctor to get more. Desoxyn is extremely effective for quiting smoking, but again, it's risky because it produces a powerful feeling of happiness, that one might pursue over and over again. It's not easy living with Adult ADD, in fact it's downright devastating at times. But tomorrow brings another opportunity to learn and grow which is what we all enjoy doing after all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
5/17/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

add

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/6/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/29/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Useful, no rebound hyperactivity noted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mister President | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best medication for ADHD by far. It has less side effects than all the others, I've tried all the other medications for ADHD and none of them even come close to Desoxyn's efficacy. It only comes in 5mg instant release formulation however one tablet lasts as long as most XR medications. One desoxyn 5mg far outlasts Dexedrine XR. I really like the no side effects aspect. All the other medications gave me terrible anxiety, insomnia, hypertension, body load, dry mouth, headaches, no appetite, etc. This medication is totally different and I have none of these symptoms. Adderall XR is by far the worst in terms of side effects. I've been on this medication for quite a few years and I have never required a dose increase, the same dose remains effective over the years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/5/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tried along time ago then insurance changed and i had to try something different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Better now | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
10/4/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All the other drugs ruined my sons appetite and interferred with sleep and made him anxious. Desoxyn is gentle compared to all the other stimulants we tried. Eats well, sleeps well. Only problem is stigma and having to take more than one pill/day. Get on the track FDA and let the time release back on the market. This drug has been around for at least fifty years. It used to be available as a 15mg time release tablet. This worked great, now we have to carry the medicine around with us all the time and with all the anti-drug hysteria thats no picnic. I hate the FDA! With all their careful (read slow and behind the science) studies or lack of them. Most European and Canadian countries citizens don't suffer half as much. And the FDA has approved very many drugs that have serious side effects including death. And we are no better for it. Leave it up to my Dr. and myself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/30/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Desoxyn for just over four years now, and I am prescribed it for ADD as well as to help with my refractory depression. I had previously been on Adderall, Ritalin, Focalin, Concerta, and Dexedrine/Dextrostat. All of them either stopped working well, or got to the point where the dosage was so high that the side effects over-powered the desired effects (particularly with Adderall and Concerta, which happened at a total of 120mg/day and 144mg/day, respectively). Just before I switched to Desoxyn, I was taking 2x15mg Dexedrine XR and 4x10mg Dexedrine IR tablets a day, for a total of 70mg daily. This was getting to be too much for me, so I made the switch. What impressed me at first was that at just 20mg/day, I was getting the same ADD-helping effects from the Desoxyn that it took 70mg of Dexedrine to achieve, but I felt NO SIDE EFFECTS. The Desoxyn is smooth, lacking the ups-and-downs of the time-release stimulants, of which Adderall and Concerta were the worst IMO. Not only that, but unlike the IR Adderall or Dexedrine which only lasted 4-5hrs thus requiring the XR/ER be taken as well, the Desoxyn 5mg IR tablets work fully for a solid 8 hours, with a very smooth and light comedown afterwards unlike the "crash" from the regular amphetamines. Pros: High potency = lower dose, fewer side effects, long duration of action without requiring any "extended release" system, less interrupting to sleep, appetite suppression is slightly more mild Cons: Expensive (120tab = $640), rarity makes it difficult to find a pharmacy that carries it so it will likely have to be special-ordered, twice-day dosing may cause sleep interruptions for some people, "stigma" associated with m,-amphetamine, majority of MD/PharmD have no idea what Desoxyn is Overall, it has been, for me, the best solution to my ADD. In five years, I have never even had to have one dose adjustment!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmtexas | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/23/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I 1st began taking this medication it caused me to have and upset stomach but that only lasted a few weeks and was sporatic. I've been taking this for roughly a year now and hoe glad I am to not have realized Desoxyn is methamphetamine, or else I would probably be like some of the others that have a negative perception from a lack of education about the drug's clinical uses. It's sad really that perception really is about 90% of what people think is true and it will take a long time for the majority to see the benefits of this medication. I started with the adderall and the many others that have since been developed and the side effects of those gave me the shakes, harder come downs, and just didnt work as well for my symptoms. I might as well have been a drug addict because the perception I was giving while I was conducting a managerial meeting with hands that would constantly shake was probably just that. Everyone at work and home are surprised at the difference but how fast that perception would change should I inform everyone that the change is the direct result of a change in my medication from amphetamine to methamphetamine. It's sad really.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helped many years ago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
testa1 | 25-34 | Male | Patient
1/25/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on every stimulant out there from adderall to Vyvanse and after several months they eighter stopprd working or they did not work at all and had some bad side effects. This drug simply works. Ive been on it for five years now and I only had two dose adjustments during yhat time. I started out with 25mg twice daily and now im on 40mg twoce daily. This drug is very effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay33 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/18/2011
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on most stimulant meds for treatment of ADD and this just works plain and simple. I have been on adderall XR, regular Adderall, Vyvanse, Concerta, Concerta XR, Ritalin, ritalin SR, etc. I had so many side effects and the meds not working for more than a month or so. I finally talked with my doctor after doing my research and reading raw user reviews about this medication and i finally feel that i am on the right medication. My life is better today because of good doctors and people sharing there experiences. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More