Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I've had severe chronic pain from arthritis and compressed nerve at L6/S1 for almost 2 decades. I've tried so many treatments and meds--and the only two to give me any relief are, Opana (now yanked in ER form :( )...and Hydromorphone. I take 4mg tid, because of the hypercautious approach my doctor takes per necessity...when I really need about every 3-4 hrs. PLEASE people who do it--QUIT ABUSING T...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Tore a tendon in my ankle, awaiting surgery. The pain is excruciating; oxycodone immediate release or hydrocodone/acetaminophen (Vicodin) are not great, but they actually relieve some pain. I'm on 4 mg every 4-6 hours of hydromorphone (Dilaudid) and I feel absolutely no pain relief what-so-ever and I am afraid to have my doc increase the dose because I'm paranoid about the possibility to stop brea...

Shared reviews and ratings

Pain Sucks | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/18/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had colon surgery. The morphine was not doing anything so doctor put me on this. Initially 0.5mf, but then kicked it to 2mg. It was worked well. The downside? It doesn’t last very long. Maybe and hour at the most and i get this every 4 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael A | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has giving me the most relief of all the other opiates and opioids I been before, from hydrocodone to oxycodone and morphine and meperidine, Dilaudid together with the Fentanyl patch and now morphine sulphate extended release as I ask to be pull off the Duragesic patch. in combination this two medications have given me most relief from chronic back and neuropathic pain. and chronic arthritis pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flea | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mallingkrodt 8mg. seems like taking nothing compared to previous brand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M. Engel | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this med for a severe foot infection.I'm a 60 year old 300lb man. Took one pill provided by the ER doctor and will not fill the 10 pill prescription med run which is part of a three part steroid, pain killer and antibiotic run. Too high powered for me as it is synthetic morphine. Knocked me off my feet and would not be able to legally drive in Canada if on this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mikko | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/2/2021
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic pain and this is by far the best medication for instant pain relief. Very little to no side effects too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
4mg Dilaudid,Mo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Chronic Pancreatitus and I have been using Dilaudid for over 18yrs. and Morphine sulfate 15mg and I have had over 28 surgeries where Stent were put into my pancreatic ducts and 5 life ports, fluid around my right kidney and gallbladder removed. I still live in pain daily and my says I probably will for the rest of my life, but as long as I'm alive I will deal with the pain and at least the meds help some and I thank God for my awesome doctors. Please people if you're not sick do take these meds for recreational use, cause that makes it hard for people like me to be able to get the meds I need and others that are truly sick and living in pain even though we take pain meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Painful Plea | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2020
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm an intrathecal pain pump patient, due to complications I have no pump at the moment and due to the ABUSE of Dilaudid can't get the amount I need to actually manage my pain and according to my pain management Dr and pharmacist, I am over the"recommended" 90mme the CDC has in place. Those people have no idea what it's like to live in misery. Dilaudid is a great pain reliever, for those who truly need it, but those who don't need it and are abusing it for the euphoric feeling have ruined it for me and countless others. I was active and fun, now I am a blob and can't do anything because of the pain. My personality has changed as well because I am miserable all the time. Again, I will say it, Dilaudid is great for people who truly need it, please don't take it if you can manage your pain with less potent meds- you don't want to be addicted- I am but not for the euphoric feeling, I need it just to function and now I'm suffering because I can't get enough because of the people who take it when they don't need to. Please, please- only take this and any other opiod if you truly need to. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zumer | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/2/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dealing with spinal stenosis, degenerative disk disease, apologizing spondilitis, rheumatoid

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShellyinAlaska | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2020
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had 32 surgeries, all but 2 were for orthopedic issues and pain management. I was diagnosed with CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome) Type II on my left side and Type I on the right. The pain is unrelenting, flare-ups are excruciating. I take morphine daily, both ER and IR, but on occasion I've been prescribed Hydromorphone to help control pain after surgery

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jay | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/3/2020
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

well i have a impenged sciatica with chronic tendon inflammation started out at about 20% of the time hunched over searing pain from where it pinched years i spent like that nothing any doctor or specialist did and i did everything. then this doctor gave me 4mg dilaudid and finally even though the pain was still there i could go back to work and play with my kids again then came my wife cheating on me lost everything had to move ti a different province and the doctors cut me off here fir no reason at all as i have never taking more then prescribed i was then fired fir nit been able to do my job . and now a year later i spent 90% of my life in bed in pain not been able to do anything lost my wife my kids and my career because these doctors in thus town are so scared ti prescribe an opiate to guve someone some symblence of a life that they would allow there patient s suffer . i now have severe depression and anxiety as ik 32 years old and my life is over because of people that abuae these pain meds as well as dictora been scared by the college of physicians. if anyvidy is in the same situation t3xt me if yah want 14388093794Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjared54 | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/9/2020
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

now with the amount of people that have abused this and so many other opiates people like me who have been on pain mes for over fifty years are the ones being abused. Dilaudid works, i was given Fentanyl for kidney Stones, made the nurse remove it terrifying drug but work better than anything i've taken in 53 years on and off morphine, made the nurse take the patch off, I know it will be there when Dilaudid stops working

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2019
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this medication during and after a bunionectomy in addition to the anesthesia. It provided a ton of relief, almost felt nothing. However, it did cause extreme drowsiness, nausea and vomiting - all well worth it to alleviate the post op pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
74dubb1974 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/1/2019
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I got in a car accident in 2010 and my back and my c5 has need in really bad shape o tried everything nothing worked unroll I got these its the only thing that helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Char | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was sent home from the hospital with this med for a broken knee last summer. Never used it until 4 months ago when I wrenched my back. The pain was unbearable. Every movement I made was affected. My back pain was WAY worse than my broken knee! I was desperate for relief, so I took (1) 4mg tab daily of Hydromorphone (only had 20 pills). I tried to get it refilled and my doctor refused. She told me to take Ibuprofen or Tylenol, which of course did nothing. Her colleague put me on Gabapentin, which has helped some, but not as well as the Hydromorphone. My main point here is that while some of us really need pain meds for a short time, we can't get them because of all the people abusing them. It's NOT right!! Something has to change! Obviously I'm not a drug abuser, because I still had the original 20 tabs from last summer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/5/2018
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 4mg of dilaudid 3x d as needed It does nothing Had cancer back o tongue Robot operation Took seven teeth out al so in operation DR said I should not be in pain But I am Please Respond thanx

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Quantummechanic | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/12/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had severe chronic pain from arthritis and compressed nerve at L6/S1 for almost 2 decades. I've tried so many treatments and meds--and the only two to give me any relief are, Opana (now yanked in ER form :( )...and Hydromorphone. I take 4mg tid, because of the hypercautious approach my doctor takes per necessity...when I really need about every 3-4 hrs. PLEASE people who do it--QUIT ABUSING THIS DRUG AND GET HELP!!! We pain patients are now having to go through hell on the outside as well as the hell of pain inside because of the unseemly interest Uncle Sam takes in what meds pain patients get. Please think of someone besides yourself AS WELL AS yourself!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took large doses of Dilaudid when hospitalized for a torn tendon at the upper end of my Hamstring. It worked, but the side effects were terrible for me! Horrible dreams, respiratory distress, anxiety and depression. Felt like I was suffocating! I was on the drug for about 10 days; off it now for a week or so, but the side effects are alarming. I'm still anxious and at times have suicidal thoughts, but my breathing is about 80% better. I don't know how long these side-effects will last...until the drug is completely out of my system. Morphine and Vicodin help, without the drastic side-effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmb83 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bean bag Benjamin | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
11/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was great until I threw up all over my bean bag collection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lcpiet | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lasts only 3-4 hours and is no pill form but is most effective for my pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More