Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

78 People found this comment helpful

I am being treated for irritable bowel syndrome with this drug. It has been used for IBS for only about 2 years and is working well.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Was given for IBS diarrhea. Save your time and your money. After researching on here I found out it is only good for Travelers diarrhea which is not my problem. At $800 a prescription I am very disappointed.

Shared reviews and ratings

Justin Kai | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Rifaximin to treat SIBO. Felt fine while taking it towards the end had headaches and nausea. The headaches and nausea continued for many more weeks after and my stomach feels no better. I would only take if you really need it. The nausea is not worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob1350 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medication to treat my SIBO symptoms, which are chronic, unfortunately. This medication seems to just amplify my symptoms. I got increased gas pains, carried a mild headache, felt as if my bowls were not completely emptied, had waves of nauseas. I woke up on the 3rd day of taking this medication (550 mg. 3 times a day) at 5:00 am with stomach pain, came close to vomiting and was sweating. I realize this medication works for some, unfortunately I am unable to tolerate the side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eloise | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2013
Condition: Traveler's Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first day of taking rifaximin,my td lessens,it's very effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BBK62 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Impaired Brain Function due to Liver Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this to control toxins in blood such as Amonia due to N0n-Alcholic Cirossis. So far has been effective. Dr. says I will take on going.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
woodworker779 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2012
Condition: Impaired Brain Function due to Liver Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only negative with this medication is the very high price, 1906.00/month. If I don't have it, my confusion is worst.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blinda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/11/2012
Condition: Impaired Brain Function due to Liver Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given for IBS diarrhea. Save your time and your money. After researching on here I found out it is only good for Travelers diarrhea which is not my problem. At $800 a prescription I am very disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was used to control my high ammonia levels, But the cost was high $20.00 a piil or $1200.00 a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rifaximin | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a colon resection because of cancer. My cecum was remove as well as the valve that keeps the bowel substance of my moving back into my colon. Consequently I have had bacteria in my stomach that could have traveled back into my system? I have had very bad bouts of IBS. Taking a course of this drug seems to take care of the problem. This is the second time in the past five years.The only negative if the price of the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2010
Condition: Traveler's Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

am taking med along with Flagyl and Vancomycin to treat a resistant strain of C. diff. after taking meds now for two weeks, the combo is working well with no more diarrhea, cramping, blood or mucus. had been previously experienced diarrhea and dehydration for three months requiring 3 hospitalizations

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
world traveler | 35-44 | Male | Patient
5/11/2010
Condition: Diarrhea caused by E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had IBS for a very long time. However, this medicine does control IBS whenever I travel to certain countries in Asia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jerry k | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2010
Condition: Traveler's Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got "traveler's lament" in Pakistan and it went on for 1 1/2 weeks. Recived this medicine from my US doctor on returning home and was completely cured in about 2 days! Now traveling to Sri Lanka and am taking a 50 gal. drum of these along with me!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had results after 3 days continued for 2 weeks Ehe problem has now returned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am being treated for irritable bowel syndrome with this drug. It has been used for IBS for only about 2 years and is working well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More