Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

Mild infection. Took meds for the 7 days prescribed. Cleared infection. 9th day chills & stiff back. 10th days hives. I think this is a delayed reaction. Doing OK now. Will avoid this med in future.

Shared reviews and ratings

Shane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this med for UTI. Beware… it has really horrible side effects! Avoid if you can. I look it the prescribed amount (5 days) until the end, (yesterday) to get rid of the UTI. Now I still have painful muscle cramps in both legs and arms, making it difficult to sleep, rash, itching, headache, etc. The side effects are so bad I’m considering calling the doctor. I will NOT take this medication ever again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just say no | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have a UTI and went to the urgent care by my house. Sure enough, blood in urine and need meds. Dr.(?) prescribed this horrific drug. I have taken two pills, a fever, and chills; my muscles are tight, and I keep stretching. I am miserable and having a hard time breathing. What is this juju I'm taking? I have had UTIs before, been given other meds, and never had a reaction like this. If your doctor hints that this is the one for you, say NO.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blondie1956 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one pill. The next day I got diarrhea so bad, stomach pains, and sweating. I could barely stand up for too long. Will not take another pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elmira V. Harmon | 65-74 | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh my God, the pain is unbearable I had every side effect that's mention, I could not figure out why the pain the nausea the stomach burning the head aches, constipation, uncontrollable diarrhea, mood swings and eye pain. I can not eat I am weak and fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jerry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 3 day i could hardly pass urine or bowl had to strain so hard that i strained my self and had to go back to the doctor because of swelled testicles went to the bathroom every hour on the hour

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachel | 35-44 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on my 5th pill and have been feeling chest pain and cough. My UTI is clearing but I will definitely not be finishing this medication. I've read reviews and don't want to end up in hospital. Best bet is to get Amoxicillin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I guess I'm one of the few that this worked for. After trying to "deal" with my UTI on my own. Even buying AZO and it not really working. I went on GoodRX and spoke to an online doctor and was prescribed this... THANK GOODNESS!!! This worked after the first dose! No more pain. No more frequent urination. No more feeling of needing to go even when I just went and no more faint sign of blood in my urine! I can't believe how fast it worked. So glad because I was miserable! Haven't had a UTI since I was a kid. I'm on my last day and feel great. It's hard not drinking my coffee in the morning but hey, I'll take it! NO MORE PAIN! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nausea galore | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started working in the first day. Was fine until today, day 4. Lots of nausea and constipation. Feels like my food can't decide if it wants to go down or back up. Also, my glucose levels are crazy high...not good for us diabetics...I still have 3 days to go and the nausea is bearable with coffe (go figure). Maybe there's a bright side to this nausea...I could stand to lose a few pounds ??...but I am having to take quite a bit of insulin to keep the glucose levels in check...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LLL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 doses, I felt worse on the med than off. Headache, nausea, fever. Will never take the med again. Stop taking it after 3 days when I finally figured out what was making me sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/23/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a year of cystitis and no antibiotics working and very painful Urination I was prescribed this medication and it worked. I had almost given up that nothing would work. Very happy now, Side effects were insomnia and a little nervous but the results were very well worth it because the infection was so hard to live with. Thank god I was retired, don’t know if I could have continued to work with the infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects are terrible - like so many others I have chills, headache, sweats, wondered if I was getting the flu or worse until I came to this site and saw how common my side effects are. Stay away if you have other options. For all those feeling like this, feel better soon!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monet | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always say I don’t know what I am allergic to but now I know. I had only 4 days left on my 10 day supply and I was put in the hospital. I wish I looked this up before taking this. I have many of the side effects. Nausea, chest pain, weakness, headaches, diarrhea, tingling, high heart rate, rash, fever and shallow breathing. I am on day two at the hospital. Should be going home soon but I could not take the feeling anymore so I checked my self in and I am glad I did. When I got to the hospital they immediately started bloodwork chest x-ray MRI EKG and urine samples. They couldn’t figure out what was causing my problems at first then I told them about this medication and said it’s from that. Please be careful and don’t ignore any of the side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works but considering I just found out I should have seemed out medical care a couple days ago I do not recommend. My obliques hurt when I breath, I want to throw up the pill after each dose & one day my heartbeat was loud & fast so I just sat there listening. I’m not taking these anymore thanks to this website. I’m only 18 & it affected my body like this within a day. I’ve taken 3 doses about 12 hours apart & wont take another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So second day* but I almost passed out today. Called medics. Didn't go to the hospital(yet). Was also experiencing tingling. I wish someone had Warned me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spring | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After one dose my blood pressure shot up to and took 48 hours to return to normal. I had a pounding heart, was agitated and couldn't relax. Called my Dr. to ask him if there was a smaller dose available. He said my reaction to this drug was my fault for being afraid of medications!! I am a small woman and feel the dose was too strong for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After dealing with a UTI for a LONG Labor Day weekend, my health care team prescribed this medicine for me. As someone who takes the natural approach to headaches, cramps, etc; I gladly took this medication when it was offered. It started working within a couple of hours of taking it. By the second pill, the pain went away and I was able to fully function in my day-to-day activities. I have a little cramping but at least I don't have pain when I urinate, my chills went away and the constant feeling of urinating. I am so thankful. What I didn't know is....if you happen to get a UTI over the weekend and your doctor's office is closed....there is an over the counter called AZO that will supposedly mask the symptoms. You will have to stop taking AZO 24 hours before seeing your doctor for this medication to work. I hope this review helps someone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m on my 2nd day of this medication and I feel like crap. I feel tired, really bad cramping, shortness of breath, slightly chest pain, had diarrhea, never had any reactions to antibiotics, this my first time trying this one. Still have 5days to go and to be honest I don’t think I can handle this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitkat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a lifesaver drug for me! I get frequent UTI's due to Interstitial Cystitis, but I cannot take Bactrim without severe side effects. So Macrobid is like an old friend to me. I almost always feel better within 24 hours, unless it's a really bad UTI, then it might take 36 hours. But it always takes care of the bacterial infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Antioch116 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After getting possibly the absolute WORST UTI ever, in constant pain...and after a 3 day urine culture, my PCP prescribed me Macrobid, 100 mg twice a day for 7 days. I took this pill with 8 oz of water AND with a full meal. at every dose. I had no side effects, thank God. After about day 4, the sting of death finally subsided a bit, and after day 7, I'm pain free. Everyone is different. Some people are more sensitive to medications than others. The majority of the UTI antibiotics out there side effects suck to some degree (I've had them all). This medication took longer to relieve my infection, but it was worth it (for me). Be well everyone:)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are a lot of bad reviews of this drug but I didn't experience any issues. I had a horrible UTI and got this prescribed to me. I took it twice a day for 5 days 12 hours apart. My only issue was swallowing the pill because it is pretty large (but I have issues swallowing pills of all sizes so it's a me problem not a problem with this drug haha). Overall, I was feeling better within 24 hours and recently finished the course and feel great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More