Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I don't like the side effects (constipation, achey muscles) but I'll put up with them because Vytorin works.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I just started with Vytorin 10 days ago, so I don't know what the results will be. But I am ready to throw it away; I have developed a horrible metalic taste in my mouth. It is so distracting, not only does it affect my appetite, but I spend the better part of the day trying to find ways to get rid of this taste. This, combined with a new allergy med have also created a very tired feeling, that...

Shared reviews and ratings

Annie | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/17/2015
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have the gene for the high cholesteral. I took Lipitor 40 plus Zetia that took it from 300 down to about 220 but the muscle cramps and charley horses I could hardly walk. With the Vytorin I still have muscle aches but not as bad. Insurance company is giving me grief wanting me to change over to cheaper generic Zocor, but then I would have to get the Zetia seperately which has no generic. The Crestor with the Zetia did OK but that combination doubled the cost with two non-generic meds, at least with the Vytorin I only have the cost of one (Vytorin is Zetia and Zocor all in one). I hope one day they have something better, I know there are some new classes of drugs out there but the insurance will not pay for the newer once a month meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GA | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/15/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using Vytorin for years with no side effects. Works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
INEGY 10-40mg | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no experience with this medicine this the first time because my Cholestrol 276 & Triglycende level 229

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mikee | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/18/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/18/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG after 19 months and the last 12 or so under intense arthritis and muscle pain...how do I lknow this, I stopped taking it...now I feel like a fool as all my ortho docs thought I was nuts for having so many problems. So, comes to find out it was the medicine after all. I don't think I will ever take a statin drug again. I feel 10 times better since stopping the medicine!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charitygirl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/24/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Vytorin for at least five years with no side effects at all. Recently my doctor lowered the dosage due to its effectiveness. So far I am extremely pleased with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/24/2012
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZcowboy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced muscle weakness within months of starting this drug. Blood tests (Ck) also confirmed muscle damage, so stopped taking it after 18 months and transferred to the 10/20 dosage, which has proven OK so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2012
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this in the morning because I can't take in the evening, it makes me tired. When taken at night I get bad heartburn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Old Bear | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/10/2012
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even with a strict diet this med didn't bring my Chol-points down enough to even matter and also didn't even touch my Tri points at all. This med was pretty much ineffective even with a low cal, low fat diet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
savannah | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2012
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shaksal | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/2/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lowered my cholesterol level 40 pts fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chipperman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/19/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vytotin dropped my LDL from 98 to 49 in 6 weeks, LDL stabilized at 40 after 6 months. Heart disease has reversed, Ebt scan now shows 0 placque. Carotid artery stenosis is reversing. No discernable side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy M Gaddy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/27/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If i am not this cholesterd meds mind will go high as 400 to 500 not good for me. thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2012
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cholesterol is very high... I went from 421 to 147 in 3 months... it works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tpalreed | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/31/2011
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking a Zocor for years, since 1996, with no success my doctor added Zitia to the medication I was taking. My levels went from 275 to 144 in 3 months. I continued that until Vytorin became available then switched. Both my father at age 61 and grandfather a age 63 died from heart attacks. Although I don't have any side effects I think some side effects would be a fair trade off to be able to stay alive. I just wish they had this drug back when my father had heart problems. He might have lived long enough to see his great grandchildren and they would have been able to know him. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
airtwoair | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/24/2011
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within the first week, experienced nausea. System appeared to work through that after that week. Been taking it for 3 months. Experiencing Right arm pain, muscle weakeness (right side is my dominant/stronger side) and joint pain. Also, Right knee pain. Experiencing short-term memory difficulties which never has been an issue. Going to ask doc to put me back on Zocor that I was taking successfully, and try something else (focus on diet) to lower triglicerides before using meds to target them again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nerak | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/8/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken everything out there, and Vytorin is the only med that has lowered my Cholesterol...the Dr. was amazed! But the side effects are awful...Severe IBS, Diarrhea, cramping, bloating, knees hurt, lower back where herniated disk is killing me, my neck hurts where bulging disk is, arms, legs, even my right heel hurts!! I painted a few weeks ago, and in such severe pain I couldn't sit, lay down, ect. I know its from this medication. I stopped all cholesterol medicine from Oct. 2010 until April 2011 and felt the best I had in years, and finally had regular bowel movements. Now I'm back to running to bathroom, and plan Nothing until late afternoon. I Belch like a drunken Sailor...not to attractive for a female. I'm done with all these Horrible Drugs and there side effects. I've heard Red Yeast will help with High Cholesterol, and will try it. I can't take living this way because of a Drug!! Going to discuss with my Doctor tomorrow.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cashjester | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2011
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far it is working and like it and have not have any muscluar problems with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/17/2011
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did not work atall for me. Its cost alote to take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More