Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

101 People found this comment helpful

This is honestly the worst drug anyone could ever take. I took 60mg of Duloxetine for over 5 years and had to come off it for surgery. I was initially prescribed it by a psychiatrist and left on it for so long because my GPs didn’t know what it was or what it did. Admittedly, it did the job and helped a lot with my depression and anxiety, but it wasn’t worth it for the withdrawal symptoms I suff...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/2/2021
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

terrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluescat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/16/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been a miracle ! Have suffered 30+ years with suffocating anxiety and resulting depression; now, for the first time in years I feel alive. I still get afraid sometimes, but overall am able to enjoy life. I thank GOD my GP prescribed these ! Any other drugs just made me worse, and put on weight. These are a miracle. Wonderful !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smiley?? | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First week I wouldn’t recommend sitting idle during wake hours of the day. Would make me a little sleepy. After week one I noticed a difference in my anxiety and irritability. Mild weight gain. Weight gain stopped with higher dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T Barr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This I only tried the doctor that gave it to me is a I just don't have the word. Anyway stay away from this drug, it is only something to mess with your brain, I have bad nerves but there's no need to mess with my mind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has given me my joy in life back. Chronic nerve and musculoskeletal pain for 20 years. This has taken my pain levels from daily 3-7 to 1-3. I want to do things again instead of going through the motions. Had to stick with it with some uncomfortable side effects that did go away after about a month. I never want to go off this. Works much better than the meloxicam I took for years. Although I was apprehensive to go on this medication, I now thank my neurologist for having me try it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2021
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cloudy head and sexual side effects are not worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my third anti-depressant I have tried. That actually worked able to be a whole new person.I am able to stay out of bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marlnel | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/10/2020
Condition: Diabetic Complication causing Injury to some Body Nerves
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Duloxetine since 2007 and gradually increased to 60 then 90 over the years. This pas Jan. 2020 I was weaned off to 60 then 30. In June2020 I ended up in the hospital with a sevear panic attack, Icould not breath, lots of anxity, could not sleep or sit still and the rooms was closing in on me. I wanted to kill myself. The ER would not give me anything for my attacks but my blood-work showed my serotonin was low making me feel this way. I was told to see my primary Dr for an anxiety medication. I never knew it was going to be so bad getting off of this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7cakuz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2020
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained weight and noticed no difference in taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/3/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OK but not helping with sleep as much these days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ken | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haver been in pain for years and this drug is the only one that has given me a lot of releaf

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sam | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/12/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for trigeminal neuralgia it's been a godsend for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KT | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/27/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 30 mg for a couple, and then upped to 60 mg for about 6 months. It was the first time I have been relieved of my depression for 10 years. It also managed to help with some anxiety and my migraines! It did wonders for me, but I had to come off of it due to rather being depressed, I was bipolar. So the medication wasnt fit for the job. But what it did was great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I tried. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A lot of side effects. Blurry vision was worse than the others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ohmy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took the first pill last night. I will not take another. The neuropathic pain event I had after taking the capsule was far worse than any neuropathic event that I have had. I felt like I was having a heart attack-fast heart beat, hard to breath...and my hands turned really red. Maybe an allergic reaction?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for two months and the improvement in my mood, level of pain, sleep, etc. has been amazing. I dread coming off of it as I see that withdrawal symptoms are terrible. I couldn't get off 20 mg. of Prozac without serious symptoms. Even knowing that there will be hell to pay if I have to come off of this, I feel so much better I am taking that risk. I hope it doesn't stop working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
msfiles | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very happy with the decreased pain in my feet. I have been on 30 mg a day and have experienced side effects. I have started having some tremors in my hands and I have had a number of sleepless nights. The side effects seem to be less now that I have been taking for more then a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/25/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/5/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for chronic back pain. Has been totally effective in the relief of my pain. My back has not felt this good in over a decade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retired old crazy cat lady | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from osteoarthritis and major depressive disorder. After 11years on paxil, and having read the possible benefit of pain reduction, I asked doctor about changing. I stepped down from Paxil, while starting duloxetine on small dose then increasing as Paxil was phased out. It's like night and day! My depression is no longer controlling my life! I don't think there is any difference in pain control, but I hate to think how bad it would be without it. I believe my body had become immune to or adjusted to the Paxil so much that it was no longer effective. Other than some sweating at night, I have no side effects. I am a content person now and no longer dread social situations.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More