Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

153 People found this comment helpful

I just started Cymbalta yesterday for the second time. Only reason I stopped taking it (about two years ago) was because of the cost but now it comes in generic. When I took it the first time I had a GREAT experience with it. Nothing works better for me than Cymbalta so when I heard it came out in generic form I was so happy and couldn't wait to get back on it. I have been dealing with depression/...

Most voted negative review

27 People found this comment helpful

Unfortunately most medications are designed to make you take more medications. Remember a sick society is profitable to Insurance, Medical and Pharmaceutical Industry. If they were to cure you the world would over populate and a very large sector of the financial markets would collapse and destroy the world economy. An economic system based in Hegelian Dialect simply no longer works anymore. But l...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2021
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started treatment for diabetic neuropathy. Pain ceased within two (2) days of starting treatment. Has helped with anxiety somewhat. Not positive if the primary cause, but have had diarrhea a couple times since taking it. I believe it to be unrelated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donâ??t start taking | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/22/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was stuck on this med for about 10 years and never reached a therapeutic dose because it increased my depression and anxiety. But also couldnâ??t quit because of extreme nausea, greatly increased anxiety, diarrhea, strange uncontrollable muscle movements, electric zings down my legs and muscle twitches and cramps. Worse 6 months of my life tapering dose to the point of having to taking capsules apart and counting out tiny beads inside to taper even more slowly. My doc said this wasnâ??t an unusual occurrence and most people give up and stay on it forever despite not helping and causing bad side effects were easier than stopping it. Please take my advice and donâ??t start this or after first side effects stop taking. The longer your on it the harder it gets.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2021
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had very successful focused ultrasound surgery for essential tremor in my right hand on 12/08/20, followed by a stroke four days later. Underlying cause of the stroke was determined to be undiagnosed hyper-tension, and I was immediately put on medications to lower my blood pressure. That treatment is on-going and is slowly being successful. The stroke caused significant delay in getting a laminectomy for severe sciatica, and my neurologist prescribed duloxetine (Cymbalta) for the continuing pain. Bad move on all accounts. I had to stop that after the fourth pill because it significantly increased my blood pressure as well as the pre-existing tremor in my left hand, and caused an abrupt, waving motion in my right arm. I was surprised to find that tremor was listed as one of that medicine's contra-indications/side effects. Had I known that, I would never have taken it, Given my history and the lengths I have gone to for ET treatment, I'm surprised any doctor would even consider prescribing it. I refrained from reporting this because I hoped these bad effects would diminish over time. Unfortunately, that has not happened. DO NOT TAKE ANY FORM OF CYMBALTA IF YOU HAVE ESSENTIAL TREMOR.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ttt |
12/3/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ttt |
12/3/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
user_d |
12/3/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hank | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started off on 60 mg after suffering a burn out and coping with a lot of anxiety for months on end. Dry mouth set in within hours after taking the first dose, loss of appetite and nausea followed fairly swiftly. Libido went next. Second and third days went through a whole range of side effects, going from mild depression - which I hadn't experienced at any point in the past months - to crying, sweating profusely, feeling jittery and restless. As I lost nearly 4 kg after as many days, I decided to halve the dose myself on the fifth day. Still felt too nauseous to eat, decided to stop all together by day six. Hope this stuff helps for others, but really, really terrifying experience for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2020
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Cymbalta since 2002 before there were a generic version. I have chronic fibromyalgia and rheumatoid arthritis. It helps fairly well sometimes with my pain but when the season changes it's hard in the beginning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rhonda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this medication for about 3 weeks. I have had constant headaches and dry mouth. Also some itching. Hoping the side effects go away soon. It has helped with the depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyndscdm2gb | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There may be people happy with this drug but I was taking it for post stroke nerve pain and anxiety. The first two doses 20 mg I took made me feel very very sick to my stomach by the second day this drug has single-handedly jacked up my blood pressure and my heart rate so highand I ended up in the emergency room and the doctor said for god sake stop taking Cymbalta so I did and a few days later I�m better so watch out for this one because the blood pressure in the heart rate raise Are huge issues.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christina | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2020
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started cymbalta about 3 weeks ago. I am not so sure I like it. I absolutely hate the feeling it gives me. I always start out really tired, for many many hours. Then all of the sudden the tired feeling wears off and I feel wide awake as if I just took an Adderall. I don't like feeling. I tried to take it night first. Then I switched to mornings because of the awake feeling but noticed that that awake feeling doesn't hit me until much later in the day. I also feel zoned out and sluggish though. It also gives me these weird feeling waves in my head. Like my brain is shuttering or shivering. I am not sure what to because even after only 3 weeks of usage I feel a kind of dependency or slight addiction to them. I really don't like that either. Cymbalta was prescribed to me for nerve and back pain, along with Gabapentin and Moloxicam. I am not not sure any of them are really working where I need it to work the most. But the combination may be helping with other minor aches and pains. I just don't like the Cymbalta. I too was also told to give it longer that it wears off after a while. I don't know if I will wait that long to find out. Good luck to anyone else who uses it. I would not recommend it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t take this medication unless you want to be stuck on it your whole life it is a nightmare to come off I’ve tried multiple times and still can’t get off it. It’s the worst! So angry at my Dr for not telling me I would never have taken it in the first place please try I different medication with no withdrawals!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grnthumb2 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cymbalta, for me, has been a god send for me! I have been taking anti depressants for years. It started out With Prozac/.... after I developed post parnum depression after my first born came into this world In 1981. I did get off them. Then went back on a very different, very awesome cymbalta in 2016..... from depression, anxiety, panic attacks that comes with all the lovely symptoms of M.S. and side affects of meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DontStarttheEvilMed | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've prob been on this drug longer than anyone here . Since 2005/2006 when only samples were available for my postpartum. Every time I have tried to stop things began happening to my body that had NEVER happened before, I was told ..oh you just need to stay on it ..but I have endured everything including night sweats, feeling of having a brain stroke , constant worry of dying , the worst nausea ever etc...! I have tried to stop but the withdrawals are so horrible I have had to try to wean myself off because the Dr doesn't understand. I have written a will so if I do die it will be from cymbalta so I hope my family will sue the pants off Eli Lilly! DONT EVER START THIS DRUG EVER! It's a living nightmare!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Arnold | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused painful leg muscle cramps in bed all night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so hesitant prior to starting Cymbalta 3 months ago due to all of the negative reviews I read about that I had to write one of my own. The first week I was very tired, slightly more anxious & also craved sweets - this lasted just that first week. I had NO side effects that made me feel sick at all. I have anxiety, severe depression, and PMDD. I must say more than anything this medication has greatly helped my overall mood and way of thinking. I don’t get mad or agitated like I used to, I don’t feel like constantly have a brick on my chest either. This has also helped with my depression (at times I still can feel depressed but it’s not that overwhelming sadness). I take one 30mg pill in the morning when I wake up and function fine throughout the day without all the added emotions. Everybody’s different but I would say as of now it has helped me can possibly help you too! Good luck =)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doc4aday | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2020
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked wonders for me with my chronic pain issue. I used this med for several years and was taken off of it when I changed doctors. That was a big mistake going off of it. Now that I take it with viibryd for depression, I feel 100% better. I take 30 mgs X 2 per day of which really helps. Great med for chronic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bubbles | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this med because Effexor XR made me clench my jaw/grind my teeth so severly that I had knots in my upper neck and back, plus migraines from the stiffness of my neck. This med didn't take away any nerve (pinched nerve) pain for me at all. When I first started taking this med, my body was jerking and twitching, which I mostly noticed at night. It was like my body was trying to get used to it. This passed in a couple of weeks. Then I started not sleeping. Also, if I missed a dose, I got extremely dizzy! The not sleeping went on for quite awhile and I couldn't take it anymore, so I asked to try a new med. I ended up getting Effexor XR which has not been so good either, with different side effects...ugh.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rjburns | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I became compulsive and suicidal on this medication. Please be advised it can affect everyone in different ways. This was very bad for me and I almost lost my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TMJ | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cymbalta for anxiety and started out with a low dosage for a couple of weeks. I couldn't cope with the side effects though: burning in my chest, anxiety rushes in the middle of the night; sweating so bad in my sleep the sheets would be soaked. I decided to stop after just a week or two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More