Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

My doctor told me to take this med once daily for 6 wks before deciding if it works or not. After 3 1/2 wks I find that it is making a real difference. Not going nearly as often or as urgently. It does give me a dry mouth but that is also a plus in a way because that encourages me to drink more which is good. I have been in the bad habit of drinking too little most of my life. I feel better all th...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

have not takeing it yet

Shared reviews and ratings

SEC1986 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works when none of the other commonly prescribed OAB meds have. Side effects - dry mouth and blurry vision. They are worse in the morning and I am going to try to take this med at night and see if it is better. Either way, those side effects are still preferable to having accidents.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MagMar7 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for over 2 months now. At first it seemed to help a tiny bit, but not enough so my Dr. added Gelnique, which helped a little bit more. Now however, it's like I'm back to taking/using nothing. After everything else, I'm now left with the implant, Botox, or acupuncture. Nothing is working and I'm only 49 yrs old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kygal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2014
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lbell | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried any meds, this one seems to work best, however it is very expensive and not covered by my insurance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justgertie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2012
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Sanctura for approximately 3 years and it has never really worked. I have had two bladder sling surgeries, and the leakage has never stopped so I guess I will have to wear pads the rest of my life (cry). I tried Enablex and was allergic to it, Toviaz that seemed to work but I gained weight fast and was very uncomfortable and constipated, and am about to try Ditropan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constant stomach pains and discomfort....excessive vaginal burning. Quit taking because of side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happysocks | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only 29 and have been suffering from an overactive bladder for maybe 5 years now. The felt an immediate difference once I started Sanctura. Abdominal pain is little to non-existent. I am happy with the result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bry11 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking this for a week for OAB/IC. The second day I experienced severe bloating and abdominal pains, and every day since. This is the last med I can try and am now seriously considering an Interstim implant. I am only 27 and have been suffering for about 4 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked well for symptoms but had severe abdominal pain. Had colonoscopy to evaluate for diverticulosis and pain subsided when medication discontinued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jetwriter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sanctura has made me pad free after a week. Since starting I've gained 15#, heat intolerance, major fatigue, muscle pain. I need to lay down every two hours just until the pain goes away. I've talked to Allegen. None of these side effects have been reported. I am on many meds but these symptoms are new since starting the sanctura. Has anyone else had these symptoms? On the bright side sanctura has really decreased my depression. The trade off isn't worth it. Going to talk with GU doc today.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pee wee | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/10/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking sanctura for a week & 1/2. seem to be working. Don't like the feeling in my groin area, sore.... hope it go's away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kristir | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried almost all of the other medications for OAB, and the implant surgery was the next option. The doctor, as a last resort, started me on the Sanctura XR. Within 3 days I was pad free and going when I wanted to instead of every 30 minutes when I had the urge. Insurance would not pay for XR, so the doctor started me on the 20mg twice a day. The dry mouth is not near as bad as with the XR, but I am getting the same great results for OAB. I had both stress and urge incontinence, which is now almost nonexistent. The only side effect is that it is difficult to take with my allergy medication. I have found a good time to take it each time, and by taking it two hours after dinner, it saves me from the "midnight snack". I have only been on the medication for about a month, but I have had no issues, and am very thankful. I hope it doesn't wear off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2009
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug works well, although severe headaches and very blurred vision. I've taken it for 6-8 months but will stop mainly due to blurred vision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2009
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After the constipation caused by Detrol I gave this a try. Not great results but definitely better than nothing. No real side effects either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
twinkie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/8/2009
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was getting up 4-5 times a night to urinate and several times a day. I felt controlled by my bladder. The medicine has been great I sleep through the night and am not always looking for a bathroom during the day. The side effects have been gas and some constipation. I eat a lot of fiber and drink lots of water this helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2009
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Sanctura for almost one month and it has really made a difference in stopping frequent urination and pressure to urinate. I took DetrolLA before and it quit working.The side effects were less with Detrol. The side effects I feel are EXTREME dry mouth and some fatigue. I am debating whether to stay on this drug or try another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathnomore | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2009
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Sanctura 60mg for a couple of months. Recently started taking it first thing in the morning to guarantee an empty stomach. I was not satisfied with the results to that point. Dry mouth increased to near intolerable levels. So I guess it really did help to have a totally empty stomach. Well, today I had to go to the emergency room for urine retention...inability to urinate. Did not enjoy the catheter experience and will stop the Sanctura all together. Was 60mg to high a dose? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2009
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a terrible problem with Oab and after tests with a Gu doctor they put me on this med. Except for a dry mouth it has worked beautifully and I am so happy not have to wear pads.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/10/2009
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor told me to take this med once daily for 6 wks before deciding if it works or not. After 3 1/2 wks I find that it is making a real difference. Not going nearly as often or as urgently. It does give me a dry mouth but that is also a plus in a way because that encourages me to drink more which is good. I have been in the bad habit of drinking too little most of my life. I feel better all the way around!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More