Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

I have had Crohn's disease for over 13 years. I am returning to school to become an RN and had been worried about frequent uncontrolled bathroom runs. Three months ago I ended up with an intestinal blockage and was hospitalized~then discovering I had fistulas growing and must have surgery right away. After surgery I continued to struggle with "no warning" bathroom emergencies. I was eatin...

Shared reviews and ratings

shibby111 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on metformin and had my gallbladder removed in 06, and since I started taking the metformin I have had chronic diaharria, bloating, nausea, and cramping. I had a colonoscopy and nothing was found so the doctor prescribed cholestyramine. Since I started taking it I have not experienced any of the previous symptoms (unless I miss a dose.) I am on tw0 packets a day and the only obstacle I have is the timing of taking it with my other meds. I am on morning and evening meds so I have to time everything perfect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
techpro6 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff works great. I had C-DIF after taking antibiotics for months. I had a badly infected foot from a diabetic ulcer. The medication could not be taken with imodium because it blocked the antibiotic from working on the C-Dif. This sure works great to make everything much more calm and quiet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebbieBlanton | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First I was diagnosed with Crohns disease then took colonoscope 6 months later to find that the disease was gone but still had the diaherra, couldnt go anywhere so the doc gave me Cholestyramine which work GREAT. I have my life back again.The Cholestyramine was aweful to taste with the grit so I asked my doc if this came in a pill form. He gave me Colestid, which I have just g0tten today so im hoping it works just as good !!!! I know it will be easier to take. Hope this helps with anyone trying to change to a pill form . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
travelkoala | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my gall bladder out 1 year ago. I started having tummy girgles, diarrhea, and bloating. My doc prescribed this and it seems to be working good for me. I take it late morning. I don't mind the orange taste too much, but I hate the grit if you mix it with water. I now mix it in some vegetable broth or hot chocolate and it actually tastes pretty good! You just have to find the right dose for yourself. I do about 1/2 packet every day. About 1 teaspoon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of suffering with diarrhea, cramping, abdominal bloating & gas from collagenous colitis, & the side effects of the other medications previously prescribed to treat it, a new gastroenterologist prescribed cholestyramine. (Studies show that many people w/ colitis secrete too much bile which irritates the colon & thereby causes the symptoms.Cholestyramine binds to the bile & prevents the irritation.) My positive response was immediate. I adjust the dose based on symptoms - & usually take about 1 - 1 1/2 teaspoons per day. Am now able to eat whatever I want without pain, whereas before my diet was severly limited. The only downside is scheduling because it binds to bile, but also to other drugs & supplements & therefore must be taken 2 hours before or 4 hours after other drugs.The only possible side effect I'm aware of is that everything tastes off to me - I'm wondering if other people have had this effect.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
debccat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The powder is unpleasant in taste, and I only find that mixing it in lactose free milk with chocolate Nest Quik very thoroughly gets it down. Also, it must be taken two hours between doses of other meds. But it IS cutting my fatty diarrhea down significantly, so it is worth the trouble, I guess.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After I had my gall bladder removed, and also having severe IBS, I was given this med. it is very easy to take as it is in individual packets. My Dr. told me to take it WITH meals, I have found that if I take it every morning and then every OTHER evening with meals it is just the right amount without causing the constipation or the dreaded diarrhea. I have also been able to tell several friends that suffer with no Gall bladder and/or IBS issues, and they have also found great relief. I am now wondering if it will also help with the high cholesterol (mine is hereditary). I would love not having to take Crestor. Any thoughts? I will have to call my Dr. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it was given to me for ibs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mwaters2448 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps me have good bowl movment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary26 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
2/18/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After severe intestinal blockage followed by surgery, leaving my husband with severe diarrhea, his surgeon suggested this drug, to be taken at meal time It really works for the most part.. The only drawback being that it must be taken, a couple of hours after other medications, or four hours before to prevent absorption by the fiber, of the meds. This can be inconvenient and takes some adjusting to. But it is a blessing to be sure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 years of chronic uncontrollable diarrea following gall bladder removal, I finally went through a series of tests that showed no other problems. After a week on this med, my problems disappeared, only negative is now I'm gaining all the weight I lost back due to actually absorbing my food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcsmilern | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Crohn's disease for over 13 years. I am returning to school to become an RN and had been worried about frequent uncontrolled bathroom runs. Three months ago I ended up with an intestinal blockage and was hospitalized~then discovering I had fistulas growing and must have surgery right away. After surgery I continued to struggle with "no warning" bathroom emergencies. I was eating very mild, bland, and easy to digest foods and still really struggling. After spending a week calling my Dr.'s every day I finally received the Rx for Cholestyramine. It has been a life saver and I no longer worry about starting the RN program in three weeks. Control after so many years~What a Blessing!! I did a little research as to how/why this Med works and found out why there were so many problems after surgery. Our bile salts are usually reabsorbed at the end of the terminal Ilium (small intestine) with that segment gone the salts continue on into the large colon~~where there is salt there is water sure to follow. Causing severe/uncontrollable diarrhea. This Med binds to those bile salts and gives them bulk, giving us tremendous relief!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Staci | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in a near fatal accident 5 years ago. I had such internal bleeding from torn intestine that the doctor had to remove almost all of my intestines. Doing so saved my life, but had left me with chronic diarrhea. I had almost given up on ever being able to get far from home without starving myself. I finally got a referral to a GI doctor and he put me on cholestid and I have had such a turn around. I have went from weighing under 100 pounds back to my preaccident weight of near 130. This medication had really been a life saver for me, I continued to loose weight and my all time low was 83 pounds what a difference a good doctor and the right medication can make.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cheerchicki111 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS and didn't have health insurance i went 2 years with being sick everyday of my life. I was unable to go out to dinner, had to work close to home to avoid the embarassment of the problems. I finally got insurance and was prescribed this medication and it has h elped my life so much!!!!! I can go on vacation's I can go to the beach and no longer have to run home everyday from work!!!!! I don't like thats its a drink though- If anyone has anyother ways to use this medication it would be greatly appreciated!!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teaner | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bowel incontinence and therfore have had dirreaha for almost a year and it has been so tramatic I can't even tell you, I must find 1. a reason 2. a cure. I want to get on with my life but until I find out why what is happenning is happenning I won't be able to move forward with my life because this is so intrusive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBD and if used daily it eliminates my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More