Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

I will be honest with you, I was scared to take Lithium - really scared. I think, in my thoughts, it confirmed I had a serious illness (as well as potential bad side effects) and so I avoided it - for as long as I could. It took a good hypomanic episode to convince me to try it. I did have some typical side effects; shaky hands, dry mouth, loss of short term memory and severe nausea. They all we...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I WAS RECENTLY PRESCRIBED (3 DAYS AGO) THIS MEDUCATION, AS I WAS PREVIOUSLY GIVEN ELEVIL & PAXIL FOR THE PAST (6) MOS WHICH DID NOT HELP ME.

Shared reviews and ratings

emmylouwho | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/12/2018
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking lithium once I was diagnosed with Bipolar II disorder. I have been on the drug consistently for over a year in a half. In regard to mood stabilization, I have not experienced a hypo-manic episode since the onset of treatment. I have, however, experienced many depressive episodes. I don't attribute this to the medication. After a trial and error phase with my prescriber, we found that Latuda works the best with my depression. The only side effects that I regularly face is extreme thirst and excessive urination. I was taking my dose with dinner, shortly before bedtime and my sleep patterns were erratic, waking up around 4 to 5 times a night. Now I am taking my dose with breakfast, I am still thirsty and urinating frequently, however I am not trying to sleep so it's a win in that category. The lithium doesn't zap my energy nor make me feel drowsy. Overall, I would say that this medication has been incredibly helpful with stabilizing my mood. My only complaint with the lithium/latuda combo, I have a non-existent sex drive. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has cut my suicidal fantasies drastically. Used to think of suicide between 25 and 300 times a week. Now it is between 0 and 5 times a week. Has evened out my sleep as well which got really bad on lamictal and latuda. Have more energy and look forward to stuff too now. No adverse side effects yet on it for three months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gloria | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/26/2015
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am bipolar and took lithium for 18years. lithium caused my kidneys to fail. After three years in dialysis I received a kidney transplant. If you are considering taking this medication I strongly recommend that you look into an alternative medication. Although kidney failure is a rare side effect it does occur.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gloria | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/26/2015
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder when I was 18 yrs, old. I took lithium for 18 yrs. This medication caused me to develop hypothyroidism and kidney failure. After three years in dialysis I was lucky to receive a kidney transplant. I strongly recommend that anyone considering taking lithium for bipolar disorder should look for an alternative treatment. Although kidney failure is a rare side effect, it does occur. Losing the function of your kidneys is terrible thing to live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/26/2015
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took lithium for 18 yrs. I had a few manic and depressive episodes during those years but the most part it kept me stable. However, because of the lithium I developed hypothyroidism and kidney failure.. This happened mostly because my psychiatrist at the time did not monitor my blood levels adequately. After three years in dialysis I was lucky to get a kidney transplant. I'm taking seroquel now and it's been very effective as my maintenance therapy. I wish I had never taken lithium. Anyone considering taking lithium should really think it over and explore alternative medications or a least make sure that your blood levels are monitored properly. Although the risk of developing kidney failure is small, it does happen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have been taking lithium i have been depressed everyday with bouts of crying and when not crying just feeling awful. I have noticed minor problems with excessive saliva and other things which could be accentuating my other troubles I have, but the depression horrible. I am going to ask my doctor to fully take me off of it and find something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KtBuff | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2013
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have BPD TypeI, and been on Lithium along with my other meds for ~1.5 yrs. it has been the easiest, most effective mood stabilizer, with the least amount of side effects, for me. However I do experience the hand tremors and lack of focus, even w my ADD meds. Yet agreed, small price to pay for living a roller coaster free life. I am so much more even keeled and rational in thought processes than ever before. I am a satisfied Eskalith 450 mg consumer.:)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/12/2012
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HAMJEFF | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/18/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SINCE TAKING THE LITHIUM, I HAVE NOTICED THAT I NO LONGER HAVE THE SEVERE MOOD SWINGS AND IM GENERALLY HAPPIER NOW. I DO HOWEVER HAVE SOME OF THE SIDE AFFECTS LIKE DROWSINESS, FREQUENT URINATION AND INCREASED THIRST. BUT WITH THE SIDE AFFECTS AND HOW MUCH BETTER I FEEL, I THINK ILL DEAL WITH THAT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lithum | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/12/2011
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lithum has saved my life. Without it I would not be here. I have been on it for over 10 years. Is my Bi-polar under control? Yes and No. As long as I stay on my meds I am okay. But without this drug I would not be here. This medication saved my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Arcticblast | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on Lithium 300mg three times a day for about one month and I would not recomd it it to anyone, the side effects that I am still having are confusion,muscle twitches,tremors,hallucinations,cardiac arrithmia,incresed urination,gastrointestinal problems,drowsiness,seizures,ras,difulculty swalling,loss of cordination,vertigo,weight gain,tics,porr memory,weakness,double vision,tired all the time.I am really frightning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/18/2011
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
78-999 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is my first time on, I'm extremely happy to have moods stabilized, side effects minimal, very happy to be without episode& suicidal thoughts.feel slight lack of focus, only been on 2 wks, I have been & know I will be very happy with lithium. YES!thank God I found the right med. I now have a purpose in life & plan to fulfill it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/11/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never been so stable. Yes it does destroy your stomach and must be monitored with lab work but in all its good. Now we are waiting for my thyroid to go wacko (yes another side effect.)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/2/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor raised my amount taken daily from 450mg to 900 a day. Severe Watery stools, whole digestive track went haywire. But it kept the episodes under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cynderella42 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2011
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I began using Lithium only 3 weeks ago, I don't really know if it is helping. The psyciatrists that prescribed it says it may take up to 3 weeks to get the full affect. I have had some tremondous nausea, dizziness and hand tremors since taking it and am on a low dose of 450mg once a day. I am satisfied with this medication b/c this is the first time being prescribed or actually diagnosed by a phsyciatrist since I now look back over the last 22 years and see the drastic symptoms. So, I'm happy I'm on the right track now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
redcat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2011
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to take wellbutrin with lithium to take me out of a depression. Now after three years i have been having more depressions and they last longer. Any suggestions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/31/2011
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been able to function very well on lithium after a manic episode 8 years ago. To this point I have not had any negative side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More