Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have tried all of the epilepsy drugs, this was a last resort. Since I started taken it I have not had any grand mal seizures. I have had only a few episodes in which I feel as if I may be starting one, but nothing has come of them.

Shared reviews and ratings

Friendly | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No. No. No. Zero star option should be required.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sparkertn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been only medication that has stopped my seizures Love it.THANK YOU TO THE MAKERS OF IT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BARney74 | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/15/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I,ve been on this drug for almost fifteen years now. It has been a life changer I can drive. I hold a full-time job at the local grocery store. I have developed the confidence to have a meaningful realationship with the opposite sex. it's the first drug that really worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jengle | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/22/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can not express enough how please we are with this med for my daughter. She was born with a rare genetic disorder, Double Cortex Syndrom, DCX or DSX. She is considered mild to moderately mentally retarded w/brain adnormality which includes epilepsy. She has had about 10-12 different types of seizures & we finally added felbatol to her med regimen almost 2 yrs ago & it has helped tremendously, has seizures most everyday but much less intense & only 10-20 a day (trust me this is much better). She does suffer insomnia which we give her melatonin & it works, not much of an appetite so we give her pediasure & let her eat pretty much what she wants when she wants, dry itchy skin but we put lots of lotion on her daily which helps, as well as anger spells (also due to brain adnormality). We are blessed she hasn't had depression symptoms and this may be due to her being 11 yrs of age. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wms | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/24/2012
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the best med I've ever taken, but the side effects are TOO much! I've taken every med available & none worked as good, but I'm giving up. I've had no appetite, EXTREMELY dry eyes & skin,causing it to itch like crazy! My eyelashes also turn the wrong way, I'm constantly curling them. My Dr. also didn't tell me of any of the side effects, also NEVER tested my blood. I have trouble sleeping(fatigue), I'm angry & irritable, depressed from being so sick. My stomach has stopped digesting food properly(now I have to eat special food). I don't recommend it. Seeing all those "extra" Drs. for all the side effects has cost me TOO much money!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
10/30/2011
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has had seizures her entire life. We have used almost every medication combo there is. She has absence seizures; she seemed to be having one every time I looked at her. Than we found a Dr. who knew what to do. I will be forever grateful to him. Our daughter still had seizures but they are just a handful a day. She can learn, play and has a great outlook on life. She is on Lamictal, keppra and felbatol. I am so thankful for this medication. She has gotten use to the blood tests.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jace | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/21/2011
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have petite grand mal seizures. Really hard to control because there so unpredictable. I've been on every type of med's out there and Felbatol is the best by far. It's the only one that has actually done something about controlling these seizures while not leaving me in a state of sleepiness, while keeping me in a decent state of mind. Loss of weight is a plus. I've been on it for 16+yrs. Definately say the benifits out ranks any risk involved (for me).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Black Diamonds | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2011
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst drug ever insomuch the Neurologist quickly took me off of it as soon as tirades of side effects began to show up; didn't even last 2 week on it and plus increased seizures as a result of it? Geesh - I would rather go to a Haunted House than to ever touch this drug again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/10/2011
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very wary of this medication because I was told about the serious side effects such as liver & kidney failure, severe bruising, and aplastic anemia. I gave it a shot and paired it with 300 mgs Lamictal & 500 mg Depakote. I am 20 and am finally able to drive. That is how well I have responded to this drug. I HIGHLY recommend it to any Epileptic who's at the end of their proverbial rope with medication options. The was a study done in London with Felbatol & Lamictal users and it proved more times than not to be a successful pair. I stay on a low dose of Depakote ER to supplement the pair. Just Lamictal & Felbatol isn't enough. My dosage is 2400 mgs of Felbatol, 300 mgs of Lamictal, and 500 mgs of Divalproex ER (generic of Depakote). Ladies, if you are on seizure meds for Epilepsy, DO NOT FOOL YOURSELF - pregnancy is NOT an option on these types of serious anti-convulsants!! I had to have a partial hysterectomy to stop my hormone fluctuation and extreme bleeding. Hormone fluctuation can cause seizures, no matter if you're taking Felbatol or not. With all this having been said, take your felbatol AFTER you have eaten and drank something such as milk or orange juice. Stay away from Grapefruit juices and Grapefruit in general. If you miss a dose of your medicine, do not double dose on your next dose you're supposed to take. It will have an adverse reaction and get you very ill and cause seizures, or so I have experienced.overall though I would have to give this drug two thumbs up!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmbutl01 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2010
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i when there was no other drug to try I was placed in the PhaseIII Investigational Study of Felbamate. I have been 100% seizure-free since it has been almost 20 years now. A new doctor now wants me to try one of the newer drugs, Keppra, I am very reluctant. Felbatol has changed my life and I want to stay with what I know works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CA girl in CT | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2010
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my last resort to controlling a 10 year battel with partial and grand mal seizures. I have tried EVERY other medication on the market, both individually and as part of a cocktail. I started taking this med a year ago (paired with the highest doseage of both Keppra and Topamax) and I have not had a seizure since. I have now weened off the Topamax, which made me moody and caused problems with word-finding. I am VERY happy with this med and wished more doctors would take the "risk" of prescribing it to epilepsy patients. With careful and diligent screening, the high risk is a mute point.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samdra | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/28/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

severe lost of appitite , insombia, moody, aggivation and angry a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/2/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for 20 years with no problems or side effects. I tried some others but they made me feel like I was in a fog. I wish more MD's knew about it and were comfortable with it. I have been in pharma for over 27 years and understand how drugs work and SE. This should be prescribed more often..at least give people an option. I am not staying it's for everyone but it sure works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Excellant | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has really did the trick. I was taking keppra and still had seizures. Since adding felbatol to keppra I have been seizure free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Penny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be very careful when you begin this drug. If you begin feeling sick w/ a fever & a rash w/in a few days to week of beginning this drug, see a doctor immediatrely, & be SURE you tell them that you've just begun this rx. It can cause Stevens Johnson Syndrome, whose rash has to be treated like burns, has caused some of my few eye lashes that still grow to grow in towards my eyes, creating the need for many ccrnea transplants, & many other permanent, nasty effects!!! If not caught soon enough, it'll kill you. Unless you bring up your new usage of this medication, the physician may not diagnose you in time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ADAX | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/5/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Felbatol for the last two years, it's the ONLY drug that works for me. Monthly blood tests are required to check for aplastic anemia but that is the only inconvenience. Losing your appetite isn't so bad, at least you lose weight!. It is the ONE drug that works for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2009
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG! I have no appetite, headache, cramps, and very bad ??diarreaha??--but no seizures. Go figure. I have been taking it for 3 weeks now and it helps the seizures, but the side effects are getting to the point of almost making me give up on it. I am extremely uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
texasmom072000 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/1/2008
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why in the world do I whount to take a med. that could couse you to have a blood transfusions,a bone marrew transplant. Annd no telling what eles????? And shouldnt the dr. tell you about the sied side effects. not just. Well it may cause loss of appetite, headache, and so on. And nothing about the sereus stuff????????? I lived with an ear ache for over a yr. and a half. Whent to 3 dr.s and thay told me there was nothing wroung with it . I looked up felbatoland its one of the sied effects. The dr. that gave it to me even told me it was nothing. My family dr. finly took me off of felbatol. And my ear ache whent a way. Now isunt that funny???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SANDY | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/15/2008
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i'm allergic to most given seizure med. felbatol has been a wonder drug for me. i don't like the blood test I HAVE TO GET EVERY MONTH BUT HEY THIS IS THE MED THAT HAS WORKED THE BEST FOR ME.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/12/2007
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication causes severe insomnia. i cannot sleep and i have to take ativan, sometimes high doses. it is not fun, but the kicker is it really works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More