Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with PBC and was put on URSO 250. I've been taking it for seven year, religously. It is keeping me alive. Wanderful drug. Thanks GOD for polar bears.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

My experience has be jaded by finding a doctor to treat my PBC in the Palm Beach County, Florida area. My URSO therapy of 1500 mg per day leads to diarreha and abdominal pain. I just want take the URSO and get on with my life, but being housebound and lack of a proactive doctor has me at a loss. Any suggestions

Shared reviews and ratings

Paola | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/4/2014
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Ursodiol 300mg by Watson for six months at 1200mg/day. I am 68 year old female that was diagnosed with PBC then. I have had no side effects, still feel energetic, and am blessed to find doctors that keep me informed and tested. ALTs and ASTs have gone back to normal after being over 200. I'm told I need to take this med for the rest of my life. I had gallbladder attacks 20years ago that went undiagnosed for several years until an ultrasound confirmed the gallbladder was full of rocks, not pebbles. Obviously this contributed to the PBC today but only manifested in blood tests now. I wonder if this is a common occurence.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitty28 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2011
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on URSO since 2001 A couple of years ago the pharmacist gave me a generic brand With a few days I was having severe headaches then progressed to nausea & could not get out of bed Had suicidal thoughts & depression I stopped taking them on week 3 & within 12 hours I was feeling a lot better within 24 hrs I was back to old myself Now I only take the Brand name URSO

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
El | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had anti-mitochondrial antibodies, which was determined to be a possible false positive, (which is present if one has PBC- primary Biliary cirrhosis), and have had Hepatitis C. Since taking the (Urso)Ursodiol, my blood tests showing my liver enzymes always come back within the normal range, which is fabulous! The only side effects I can notice is the tendency to have to urinate, and I find my eyes get dry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunshine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/14/2011
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MMarino | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/12/2010
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience has be jaded by finding a doctor to treat my PBC in the Palm Beach County, Florida area. My URSO therapy of 1500 mg per day leads to diarreha and abdominal pain. I just want take the URSO and get on with my life, but being housebound and lack of a proactive doctor has me at a loss. Any suggestions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2010
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gallstones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this as a preventive med for gallstones. i had RnY Gastric Bypass surgery and massive quick weight loss can cause gall stones and gallbladder trouble. so far so good and no side effects- i take the generic form.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
panamagirl2214 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/13/2009
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with PBC and was put on URSO 250. I've been taking it for seven year, religously. It is keeping me alive. Wanderful drug. Thanks GOD for polar bears.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlpl1965 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/17/2009
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is working!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
connie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/1/2009
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on urso for 9 years, last month they switched me to ursodol generic for urso, about four days into the generic i have had alot of heartburn, could this be a factor of the generic ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis. I've been taking it for 10 years, and my currebt dosage is 2000mg a day. Never once have I had type of side effect reaction to this medication, and I always see an improvement in my liver functions whenever my doctor increases my dosage. It seems to be a very safe drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/15/2008
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Better than steriods!!! and it's working

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More