Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I am scheduled for my 4th infusion and so far things have been fine. I was not able to continue injections at home, since my body had developed antibodies. I am thankful for this alternative.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed in March 2001, started out on Avonex, then switched to Rebif (approx. 2 yrs), and had 3 new lesions on my brain. Since my MS was progressing, and I was TIRED of needles every other day; I decided to try Tysabri. Even though I tested positive for the JCV virus, I was willing to risk it. I've now been on Tysabri for 17 months, and hoping to be able to continue. NO NEW LESIONS! I pray that new advances bring an acceptable alternative soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dondi31 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/3/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with MS Feb of 2000, but definitely had symptoms for a good 10 years prior. I started with Avenox, but the flu like side effects guaranteed me at least one day a week in bed. After seven months, enough was enough. I changed to Copaxon, which I loved, but I often missed my daily shots and traveling with it was a pain (at the time it needed to be kept in the fridge). I switched to Gylenia...but that caused me to have eye damage in one eye. I have been on Tysabri for the past 2.5 years and it has been working pretty well for me. I still have some symptoms; fatigue, confusion, slurred speech...but it is very seldom and not bad at all. I have been working part time and am planning on trying to go full time. Seven years ago, I did not even think part time work was possible. For someone 14 years DX and over 20 years into MS, I am very happy. I am fearful regarding the "death" side effect, especially since I was on steroids, very high doses (120mg of prednisone...no, this is not a typo!) so the risk is a bit higher. I am JC virus negative...and I have been told that no one JC virus negative died from the drug so I feel a little better. The drawback and benefit is having the infusion. It is nice to worry about your meds once a month...but sitting for three hours is not too fun. Sometimes I become very tired after my infusion...but not all the time. Good luck if trying this medication Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
labsrspecial | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not started yet- I will be starting in Sept.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/11/2010
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had MS for 4.5 years and have now tried 5 different treatments. Steroids don't work for me, Rebif gave me a seizure after 6 weeks of use, Cellcept made the corners of my lips crack open everytime I opened my mouth...thus I qualified for Tysabri (Natalizumab). It worked great! No fatigue, no adverse reactions, only had to think about it once every 4 weeks, had lots of energy...what more can you ask for? Only inconveience is having to take time off work to get the infusions, so it can't completely be kept a secret. I was taken off of it after 22 infusions because my doctor was worried about increasing PML diagnoses while on Tysabri. I am now on Rituxan (once a year, but Tysabri was better for controling fatigue).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nonay417 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2010
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis on 1-11-2009.I started treatment with Avonex right away.The 'flu-like'side effects were so awful I was in bed 3-5 days a week.Plus,MRIs showed more lesions. So,my neurologist and I decided to stop Avonex and try Rebif instead.For me Rebif was ALOT better!No more 'flu-like'symptoms!The only side effect I had was injection site reactions.(half dollar sized,red welts that usually about 2-3 weeks)after each shot.Which was 3 a week.But,after a year on Rebif, MRIs showed more lesions.Plus the MS seemed to be causing more physical issues.(migraines,decreased balance,blurred vision,etc).So, I stopped Rebif treatment. Now,I'm on Tysabri.A few days after my 1st infusion,my energy has already improved a little!So far that's all, but it's more than any other MS medications have done!I get my 2nd infusion in 3 days and I'm qiuet excited about it.I'll keep posting every other treatment,at least I'll try to.(MS has effected my memory quite a bit). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2010
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I LOVE this medication. I feel great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mssogzs | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2009
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experince has been good. There has been some moments of feeling nauseated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
simplypandy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2008
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am scheduled for my 4th infusion and so far things have been fine. I was not able to continue injections at home, since my body had developed antibodies. I am thankful for this alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More