Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

After 4 years (and several other medications) of only averaging 2-3 hours sleep every 2-3 days (Obviously omitting periods of extreme fatigue hospitaliztions when drug induced sleep was used). My Dr. told me to try the 3mg version of Lunesta. From the first day and for almost 3 months now I have averaged 7-9 hours sleep every day feeling totally refreshed and rested and with 10 times the energy I ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I HATE LUNESTA. I took the medication one night and i withdrawled. It made me feel so depressed and down i cannot explain. And that taste in my mouth felt like whatever i drank or ate has chemicals in it. I absolutely have nothing to say about this. It made my body feel tired but not my mind. I DO NOT RECOMMEND TAKING THIS EVER.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I work nights. Have been getting 2-3 hours of sleep in between my 12 hour shifts. Took Lunesta once and never again! I got maybe 2 hours of sleep, tossed and turned. I got severely depressed the same day of dose. Then had a horrible headache the following two days. My dose was 2 MG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've found Lunesta to be effective in minimizing problems that reduce chances for a restful sleep. It has positive effect on sleep centers in the brain by targeting anxiety and/or stress. I'll continue to use Lunesta for occasional induced sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Need Sleep | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking 3mg for years and was working daily well. However as of late the efficacy has greatly diminished. This latest refill seems watered down (eszopiclone from Sunovion Pharma) and not nearly as effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nietsooj | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on mutipltle sleep cocktails, this seems to help the most at the most important poart. wen im frfting away. thags when o trallu start thinking i can sleep in a hour or 2 or do a 3milr elk snfft. alslo hepls neuroglogical problems i have ALLOT, is it reallt that distant from a bzno? just bit less evil, more happy, bu maybe smarter nerve pain, eh it not as much but it gives me a

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bananas Foster | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love Lunesta. I was tossing and turning all night with little or no sleep mainly due to stress. With Lunesta, I'm out in 30 minutes, I sleep all night, I go right into REM and have amazing dreams, and I wake up feeling like I just had the best sleep of my life. So what if it doesn't taste too great. It's medicine, not Bananas Foster, lol. I highly recommend this. Lunesta that is, not Bananas Foster. Well ok, I highly recommend Bananas Foster, too. Be well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken Ringwood | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on 3 MG of Elevil since its Introduction in 1977 and Mfg by Sandoz,It was used for "Shift Differential Use" as I was a Corrections Officer working 11:00PM to sometimes 3:00 PM the next day and Daytime Sleeping didnt cut it.today June 2022 its Generic and used for Chronic Pain as im a Totally Disabled Corrections Officer since 1990.i take it at night but here I am writing this at 12:15 AM,my usual start of my day,i also take 10mg of Valium,Medical Marijuana,300mg of Lyrica all at Bedtime just to get some sleep,my next move is to Hire Conrad Murry MD,Michael Jacksons DR and search for Him in Bimini, the Caribbean......this is no life for a 64 formally active Male.Sexlife is non existant for 4 years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bridget | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug had terrible side effects for me that got worse the longer I was on it. I felt mentally impaired and extremely exhausted and depressed to a degree that terrified me until I realized that the medication was causing it. By mentally impaired I mean I had trouble walking, concentrating, and finishing even the most simple task. My limbs kept going numb and at times I disassociated. I was unable to stop crying and couldn't feel positive emotions for weeks on end. I saw my psychiatrist about my worsening mental state and she didn't mention that these could be side effects of Lunesta - so instead she prescribed me adderall and I kept taking the lunesta. The adderall helped with energy a bit but I was still feeling so mentally impaired and depressed. Eventually it clicked that my symptoms had gradually gotten worse the longer I had been on lunesta. I stopped taking lunesta 10 days ago and slowly have been getting better. Today is the first day my normal energy levels are back and I can feel positive emotions again. This drug is really really scary to me. I would not recommend this to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
La Holt | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this me on May 18th, I tried it several times and no results, only a bitter taste in mouth which would last for a couple of days and agitation from being now groggy and tired, BUT HERES THE GOOD NEWS!!!, a few days ago, I tried taking 2 and sticking them in marshmallows to avoid the aftertaste of bitterness, well that night I almost got some sleep, but I kept getting out of bed, so the sleep sensation went eventually went away and I was up all night, well for those of you , who are about to give up DONT! last night I said I'm going to try one more time, so at about 6 pm I ate a full meal To make sure I was full, I limited what I ate to the bare minimum and I read the ingredients to make sure that what I was eating didn't contain a lot of fat, I wrapped 2 lunesta in the marshmallows as someone had said to cut the bitter aftertaste. I took them at 9 pm and got in the bed, turned off the light and waited, I don't know when but I fell asleep and slept all night, I feel so relieved and energized. So there's hope to those who has taken it and had no results, i finally encountered a good night's rest, I'm excited to see what tonight brings, I hope it wasn't just a one time thing, I will keep everyone posted, but yes I have had bad results, but I kept reading suggestions and reviews of others and have had a positive result from lunesta. Do Wrap them in marshmallows for bitter taste, DO NOT eat after large meals, and lots of fatty foods, DO get in bed and ready to sleep after taking them. The only thing is I had to take 2, but whatever works, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lunesta worked well for me but my DR. took me off of it due to links to dementia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eli | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On 3mg for over 10 yrs now, nightly. If you EAT A LOT OF FAT OR A BIG MEAL IT DOESN'T WORK. I occasionally take a drug vacation and cut them in 1/2, then 1/4s, over a few weeks, but I've never been able to sleep since I was attacked, eventually I start them up again, which is preferable to sleep deprivation psychosis hospitalization. I have had great luck in finding an easy med, but you sometimes have to consider if you want to sleep so much that you can overlook a bad taste (suck on a lozenge), and you cannot eat for about 3 hours before you take a pill, so no midnight ice cream, no alcohol, at all, it's really up to how you use it that makes it fully effective. I know many people who take it that still eat late at night, then complain it doesn't work. The instructions make that very clear. After it kicks in I might have a protein bar. But you need to be IN BED, READY FOR SLEEP, with 8-9 HOURS available. You can't take it at 2am to get up at 6am. I think it's great, good luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M E | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My heart rate dropped to the 40s- 20 below normal. Horrible sleep for 2 nights taking it and felt horrible with low heart rate. Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaN | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug needs to be taken when you are in bed and ready to fall asleep. I was averaging 4~5 hours of sleep every night and now it’s 8. Not habit forming and no grogginess in the morning. A + for me. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tolernance insreases fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Billyg | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/16/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use twice a week will be probably problem free but longer risk it will fail to work and then you have to wean off slowly over several months or longer you have to be sure you can only use it 2x a week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gmoney | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lunesta is hot garbage! Didnt do anything for me give a mettalic bitter taste in my mouth. After talking Lunesta i was stll able to drive an hour later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Lunesta for 4 nights. After still being awake for 3 hours after I took it, I refuse to take another. Doctor gonna have to try something else

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for insomnia, did absolutely nothing for me at night. It’s very expensive also, what a waste of money

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NightWolf | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/9/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Lunesta for over 10 years and I have found two types, those that work and those that don't or work very poorly. They are easy to identify. The ones that work poorly or not at all are the color of very faded jeans. The ones that work well are the color of new unwashed jeans OR an orangy/tan with M on one side and EZ/3 on the other. If you need more than one quit them. The others can be cut in half and work just fine if you are not too stressed then just take one whole one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Edave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It almost works, can get a good 4-5 hours of sleep. Have been taking over 10 years. The max dosage available is too low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Franc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from insomnia and was given a prescription for this medication by my psychiatrist (I also suffer from depression) The first night I took lunesta it didn't work at all but the following day I felt like I was "high" all day and unable to function. The following night I tried again and it didn't work. I was ok the next day as though I hadn't taken anything. I continued for 9 days...only to find out I was having trouble speaking...like my head wasn't functioning properly. I couldn't think of the word I wanted to say. I don't know if it was my doctors fault for putting me on this drug knowing I had a mood disorder or this was a side effect not mentioned. Beware peopleRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More