Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

After 4 years (and several other medications) of only averaging 2-3 hours sleep every 2-3 days (Obviously omitting periods of extreme fatigue hospitaliztions when drug induced sleep was used). My Dr. told me to try the 3mg version of Lunesta. From the first day and for almost 3 months now I have averaged 7-9 hours sleep every day feeling totally refreshed and rested and with 10 times the energy I ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I HATE LUNESTA. I took the medication one night and i withdrawled. It made me feel so depressed and down i cannot explain. And that taste in my mouth felt like whatever i drank or ate has chemicals in it. I absolutely have nothing to say about this. It made my body feel tired but not my mind. I DO NOT RECOMMEND TAKING THIS EVER.

Shared reviews and ratings

John T | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/1/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying many other medications to help my severe insomnia, my doctor prescribed me lunesta 3mg. It has been a life changing medication. I fall asleep easily and am not hung over the next day.i had to learn how to avoid the awful taste by filling my mouth with water, dropping the pill in and swallowing quickly. I have been taking this now for 4 years and have not had a restless night after taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bon | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started The generic of Lunesta 1 mg. and only stayed asleep 3 hours. Dr. bumped it up to 2 mg. Long story short I got only 4 hr. 45 min. last night. I am going to try 3 mg. tonight. I also use Gabapentin for anxiety. I took 2 (300 mg.) at bedtime and got (+-) 3 hrs. At 11:30 I took 2 mg. Lunesta. Woke up at 4 am. I then took .25 Alprazolam and got up at 5:30 am. Dr. approves this combo. I think I'm a rapid or ultrarapid metabolizer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spotbon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started The generic of Lunesta 1 mg. and only stayed asleep 3 hours. Dr. bumped it up to 2 mg. Long story short I got only 4 hr. 45 min. that night. I am going to try 3 mg. tonight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marcus Vettius | 75 or over | Male | Caregiver
11/24/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

CASE #1 Spring 2018/2019 I was using Ambien with little or no affect on my insomnia when I changed over to Lunesta. My doctor also prescribed Lexapro as an anti depressant that may also induce insomnia. Eventually it worked, and I had 2 really decent years of sleep with a few exceptions. Then......... CASE #2 Fall 2022 Insomnia returns at age 77 due to the stress caring for my wife who has vascular dementia, but the main reason was pulsating tinnitus akin to a drum beating in yours i.e. your heartbeat. I had a couple of Lunestas from my old prescription. So I popped 1mg the next two nights with mixed results 5 hours max. My doctor prescribed me 30 more Lunestas 1mg eack $89 ($345 w/o ins). Tool 1mg waited 30-40 minutes no sleep. Got up took a second pill went to bed fell asleep in 10 minutes got 9 hours! Sorry for the long story but that what appears to work for now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lunesta | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received samples of lunesta...non generic. As an insomnia sufferer..i was already tired. When i took the pill my eyes rolled, its like I hadnt slept in 3mo, heavy knock into sleep. Unfortunately, my generic prescription did not do the same. I felt nothing. So, its pointless to create this life saving medication and want 500 or more a month. Why so costly? I wish that the name brand would lower there cost so real people can have acess to real medication. I refuse to take generics in this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RCF60433 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally ineffective! DO NOT split the generic tablet, the most vile metallic taste will ensue!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I work nights. Have been getting 2-3 hours of sleep in between my 12 hour shifts. Took Lunesta once and never again! I got maybe 2 hours of sleep, tossed and turned. I got severely depressed the same day of dose. Then had a horrible headache the following two days. My dose was 2 MG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've found Lunesta to be effective in minimizing problems that reduce chances for a restful sleep. It has positive effect on sleep centers in the brain by targeting anxiety and/or stress. I'll continue to use Lunesta for occasional induced sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Need Sleep | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking 3mg for years and was working daily well. However as of late the efficacy has greatly diminished. This latest refill seems watered down (eszopiclone from Sunovion Pharma) and not nearly as effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nietsooj | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on mutipltle sleep cocktails, this seems to help the most at the most important poart. wen im frfting away. thags when o trallu start thinking i can sleep in a hour or 2 or do a 3milr elk snfft. alslo hepls neuroglogical problems i have ALLOT, is it reallt that distant from a bzno? just bit less evil, more happy, bu maybe smarter nerve pain, eh it not as much but it gives me a

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bananas Foster | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love Lunesta. I was tossing and turning all night with little or no sleep mainly due to stress. With Lunesta, I'm out in 30 minutes, I sleep all night, I go right into REM and have amazing dreams, and I wake up feeling like I just had the best sleep of my life. So what if it doesn't taste too great. It's medicine, not Bananas Foster, lol. I highly recommend this. Lunesta that is, not Bananas Foster. Well ok, I highly recommend Bananas Foster, too. Be well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken Ringwood | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on 3 MG of Elevil since its Introduction in 1977 and Mfg by Sandoz,It was used for "Shift Differential Use" as I was a Corrections Officer working 11:00PM to sometimes 3:00 PM the next day and Daytime Sleeping didnt cut it.today June 2022 its Generic and used for Chronic Pain as im a Totally Disabled Corrections Officer since 1990.i take it at night but here I am writing this at 12:15 AM,my usual start of my day,i also take 10mg of Valium,Medical Marijuana,300mg of Lyrica all at Bedtime just to get some sleep,my next move is to Hire Conrad Murry MD,Michael Jacksons DR and search for Him in Bimini, the Caribbean......this is no life for a 64 formally active Male.Sexlife is non existant for 4 years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bridget | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug had terrible side effects for me that got worse the longer I was on it. I felt mentally impaired and extremely exhausted and depressed to a degree that terrified me until I realized that the medication was causing it. By mentally impaired I mean I had trouble walking, concentrating, and finishing even the most simple task. My limbs kept going numb and at times I disassociated. I was unable to stop crying and couldn't feel positive emotions for weeks on end. I saw my psychiatrist about my worsening mental state and she didn't mention that these could be side effects of Lunesta - so instead she prescribed me adderall and I kept taking the lunesta. The adderall helped with energy a bit but I was still feeling so mentally impaired and depressed. Eventually it clicked that my symptoms had gradually gotten worse the longer I had been on lunesta. I stopped taking lunesta 10 days ago and slowly have been getting better. Today is the first day my normal energy levels are back and I can feel positive emotions again. This drug is really really scary to me. I would not recommend this to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
La Holt | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this me on May 18th, I tried it several times and no results, only a bitter taste in mouth which would last for a couple of days and agitation from being now groggy and tired, BUT HERES THE GOOD NEWS!!!, a few days ago, I tried taking 2 and sticking them in marshmallows to avoid the aftertaste of bitterness, well that night I almost got some sleep, but I kept getting out of bed, so the sleep sensation went eventually went away and I was up all night, well for those of you , who are about to give up DONT! last night I said I'm going to try one more time, so at about 6 pm I ate a full meal To make sure I was full, I limited what I ate to the bare minimum and I read the ingredients to make sure that what I was eating didn't contain a lot of fat, I wrapped 2 lunesta in the marshmallows as someone had said to cut the bitter aftertaste. I took them at 9 pm and got in the bed, turned off the light and waited, I don't know when but I fell asleep and slept all night, I feel so relieved and energized. So there's hope to those who has taken it and had no results, i finally encountered a good night's rest, I'm excited to see what tonight brings, I hope it wasn't just a one time thing, I will keep everyone posted, but yes I have had bad results, but I kept reading suggestions and reviews of others and have had a positive result from lunesta. Do Wrap them in marshmallows for bitter taste, DO NOT eat after large meals, and lots of fatty foods, DO get in bed and ready to sleep after taking them. The only thing is I had to take 2, but whatever works, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lunesta worked well for me but my DR. took me off of it due to links to dementia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eli | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On 3mg for over 10 yrs now, nightly. If you EAT A LOT OF FAT OR A BIG MEAL IT DOESN'T WORK. I occasionally take a drug vacation and cut them in 1/2, then 1/4s, over a few weeks, but I've never been able to sleep since I was attacked, eventually I start them up again, which is preferable to sleep deprivation psychosis hospitalization. I have had great luck in finding an easy med, but you sometimes have to consider if you want to sleep so much that you can overlook a bad taste (suck on a lozenge), and you cannot eat for about 3 hours before you take a pill, so no midnight ice cream, no alcohol, at all, it's really up to how you use it that makes it fully effective. I know many people who take it that still eat late at night, then complain it doesn't work. The instructions make that very clear. After it kicks in I might have a protein bar. But you need to be IN BED, READY FOR SLEEP, with 8-9 HOURS available. You can't take it at 2am to get up at 6am. I think it's great, good luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M E | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My heart rate dropped to the 40s- 20 below normal. Horrible sleep for 2 nights taking it and felt horrible with low heart rate. Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaN | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug needs to be taken when you are in bed and ready to fall asleep. I was averaging 4~5 hours of sleep every night and now it’s 8. Not habit forming and no grogginess in the morning. A + for me. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tolernance insreases fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Billyg | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/16/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use twice a week will be probably problem free but longer risk it will fail to work and then you have to wean off slowly over several months or longer you have to be sure you can only use it 2x a week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More