Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

I refused to believe I was bi-polar until a new psych suggested I try Lamictal and I am so much better than I have ever been before. Thank God I found this doctor. Lamictal saved me from suicide; I was getting very close!

Shared reviews and ratings

healthymomma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2013
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lamictal for 5 weeks and have had 0 seizures! I have had no side effects except maybe irritability and anxiety but these are things I struggled with anyway before. They just maybe feel a little worse. I was a little headachey and tired in the beginning but feel better now. In general, I really love this medication, I feel like my normal self again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

insomnia,erectile dysfunction,restlesness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RETTA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2011
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I FEEL THAT MY CHEST/STERNUM PAIN HAS INCREASED.MORE IRRITABLE.DOCTOR CHANGED ME TO ANOTHER MED, STILL IN THE TRIAL AND ERROR PROCESS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DAVIDHSBC | 45-54 | Male | Patient
12/2/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ok, very expennsive..i dont have insur coverage!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lamictal going on 4 weeks, I have noticed a positive difference. I am happy more than normal. I am really hoping and praying that this works because I am tired of switching meds and gaining more and more weight... I do have headaches everyday though, but so far its worth it. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm almost finished with my starter pack(orange)and my symtoms are worse.I'll be driving down the road and all of a sudden want to just ram other cars out of the way,within a few minutes I'll start joking with others in the car.When I'm alone I sometimes think about having an "accident".Will talk to the Doc about this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Lamictal 150 mg to treat depression. It took almost 4-6 weeks for me to feel the effects. That was such a relief. I was on Zoloft few years ago, and I loved it too. I was so worried when I read the sideeffects of Lamictal especially those related to the rash, so i used to check my whole body for rash everyday. I frove my brother and BF crazy:) after a while i stopped doing that, but today I had a very bad allergic reaction on my face, arms and hands, and when I called the doctor he informed me that there was an interaction between Lamictal and Tylanol. After two hours I was back to normal. The doctor advised me to wait 2-4 hours between both. Best of luck for everyone. I'm so glad I am feeling MUCH better than few months ago..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
csmith | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i do not feel any differnt

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i felt fine on this medication untill i started the 100mg dose. after two days on 100mg i started having thoughts of dying and all the different ways it could happen. i was just really sad for no reason what so ever. i even contemplated jumping out of a moving car on the highway. i stopped the medication right away without notifying my psychiatrist which probably wasnt my BEST idea.. i had really bad like withdrawl symptoms.. i was sick to my stomach for a week and my mind felt fuzzy.. it was not cool at all!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AngieCJ1974 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I now know and understand why and how people function through out the day. I was taking Seroquel and I was always tired and passing out. For once in years I am able to stay up for 16 hour days! It has helped with my moodswings and triggers. I am very satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

headaches, post menopausal bleeding, anxiety, feelings of rage, sleeplessness, decreased appetite, nightmares, -- however, decreased thoughts of suicidal ideation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/16/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has been on this drug for 2 months and it has made an amazing difference. I can actually live w/ him. Lamictal has saved our marriage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nmbrown | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for about 4 weeks with reasonably good results for my anxiety and mood swings. I have a sore throat without any other cold symptoms that seems to be a side effect. During the 2nd week I noticed some dizziness and a slight disorientation but that has passed. Overall I am hopeful that this may be a good drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was just diagnosed with mild bipolar. I was prescribed Zoloft by my PCP. Then my Phsyc. added Lamictal to that. I was on day 9 of the orange starter pack when when I noticed a rash on my arms. Didnt think too much of it. But by that night it had spread to my abdomen and legs. I stopped taking the medicine that night. But by the morning the rash was everywhere and got much worse in the areas that it had started (arms and legs). It is unfortunate. I was feeling better on this medicine. Now Im prescribed Abilify. Havent started it though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ayallum04 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Headaches every day and would crash very hard and nausea or upset stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2009
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the med for three days, I hvae been very dizzy and fill like I am going to have more seizures. I would rather flop with the seizures then fill like this all day long. Doctor no help just take half the pill. still same feelings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tshelley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For 10 years I have been on drug after drug and Dr. after Dr. and over and over again I just kept saying something is wrong with me I don't feel right. A few months ago a new Dr. asked me to try Lamictal and it's been a slow process but the dose is finally right and I feel like a normal person.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/11/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for over 2 years to treat my very strong bi-polar condition. I am doing great, have insurance and is still pricey but hey it keeps me able to function and work. I am so glad the doctor steered me into this medication. No one would ever tell I suffer from BP or mood swings of any kind. I do not take any thing else except for Busphar for my anxiety that I still occansional get.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More