Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I was on this med for 42 days after an aortic valve replacement. My incisions opened up in a few places and were oozing puss and were having a hard time healing. The initial instructions to administer this med through infusion were a little vague but once we got the hang of it my wife and I didn't have a hard time doing it. Cleanliness is very important as it is infused through a tube about 40 inc...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have found that the drug causes pain to all the bones and joints throughout my body - just a deep aching that can't be readily alleviated, even with Oxydocone/acetaminophen. Severe nausea that isn't alleviated by oral medication such as phenargen. Nobody but the pharmacist seems to believe me though. It has been tough persuading anyone about my plight.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2015
Condition: Infection Occurring During or Soon After an Operation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to use this medication for 39 days 2X a day via IV through a PICC line. It really isn't hard to do, it's just an inconvenience to have a PICC line. I have been experiencing some nausea and that is what brought me here to check out the side effects. Starting to wonder now if my weakness in my joints and drowsiness is also being caused by the medication. I had a spinal fusion and after a week my incision started draining fluid. A month later I should not be feeling this weakness in my body. I see the infectious disease doctor next week, I am starting my list of questions now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mons | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/13/2013
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this med for 42 days after an aortic valve replacement. My incisions opened up in a few places and were oozing puss and were having a hard time healing. The initial instructions to administer this med through infusion were a little vague but once we got the hang of it my wife and I didn't have a hard time doing it. Cleanliness is very important as it is infused through a tube about 40 inches long inserted via a pic inserted below your bicep. From all blood tests the med seemed to work but I am still taking an oral antibiotic for two more weeks at the doctors orders possibly as a precautionary measure. Because of the wide range of infections this med treats I am not sure whether the doctor was able to pinpoint my problem but while using it four of my five wounds closed up. The last one is still a bit stubborn but seems to be coming along. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2011
Condition: Diabetic with Foot Infection due to a Specific Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Patient
1/20/2010
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sara | 35-44 | Male | Caregiver
11/10/2009
Condition: Infection of an Artificial Heart Valve
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

anaphylaxis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Bacterial Infection of a Heart Valve
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not for sure how this is going to turn out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
degirl | 19-24 | Female | Patient
6/23/2009
Condition: Skin Infection caused by Anthrax
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after five mins of the iv i started itching uncontrolably all over my body.. the medication had to be stopped

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiger2sons | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2009
Condition: Skin Infection due to Staphylococcus Epidermidis Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Appox. 6wks ago I had an freak accident. While working out in the yard I bent over and I was struck by a tree limb that pierced a hole in my tailbone. From that I got MRSA. I was placed on several different antibiotics and my symptoms persisted and worsen. Two weeks ago I was placed on Vancomycin in Normal Saline IV. My symptoms have improved, my wound is shrinking and the redness and infection under the skin is improving as well. This antibiotic has literally saved my butt! I have been in the hospital sufferring with this for the entire month and now Im at home with my family, still taking the Vanco with the assistance of our local home health services.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2009
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found that the drug causes pain to all the bones and joints throughout my body - just a deep aching that can't be readily alleviated, even with Oxydocone/acetaminophen. Severe nausea that isn't alleviated by oral medication such as phenargen. Nobody but the pharmacist seems to believe me though. It has been tough persuading anyone about my plight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
labluver | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2009
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was very effective for treating my staph infection. i did have some reactions. the first round it was infused in 1 hour and i became very itchy and i got the "red mans syndrome" my doctor changed the infustion rate to 2 hours and it worked much better. i was on the medicine for 6 weeks. i experienced some insomnia, dry mouth and still tired all the time. i think the tiredness was due to more from the infection. but overall i was very happy with the medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blake | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/14/2008
Condition: Severe Infection caused by Staphylococcal Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

how long will this stay in your system after you quit using it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lharris | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2008
Condition: Infection of the Brain or Spinal Cord caused by Anthrax
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am still on the medication and the side effect I have experienced is loss of taste. I had MRSA and so far this treatment is working for me. It pretty easy to use, only thing is taking it every 12 hours can throw off your schedule because mine is adminsiterd by my wife and home & family life had to be adjusted around this treatment plan. But all in all it work fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RAGGEDYMOPS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2008
Condition: Infection Occurring During or Soon After an Operation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jasonwhitted4677 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works Great For MSRA

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More