Show ratings & reviews for

1.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

This medication was a nightmare. It not only caused mental health issues, but caused neurological issues and increased pain. I had adhesive arachnoiditis and the side effects that Prialt was causing was believed to be my diagnosis until I went off Prialt. Caused nereve pain, loss of function from waist down(including bladder, bowel, and loss of feeling in leggs). I am now doing great with anot...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/11/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother whom has been taking this for about 3 years. Until the last 6 months, this drug has been wonderful in reducing her pain associated with MS. However, about 6 months ago they increased her dosage and she is currently in a mental hospital due to her psychotic episodes. They have taken her down to the lowest dosage, so time will only tell how she will react. Please use caution when taking this drug. It did significantly help her for sometime, but it is amazing that she is still alive after all of the instances psychotic episodes that she has encountered.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ripken | 35-44 | Female | Patient
7/12/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prialt has been the best medicine to help me deal with my pain so far. My doctor is increasing my dosage very gradually. I have not had any extreme side effects like losing my mind or feeling suicidal but have experienced some of the others. However, the benefits of the drug outweigh the side effects by a longshot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zicontideguy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/17/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ziconotide (Prialt) patient since 2008. Diagnosed with CRPS in 2005, left leg amputated 2007 after work accident in 1999. When they 1st started with the pump, I encouraged them to increase it as fast as possible. Mistake, a few months into it, they had to cut it in half. That was down to 4ug per day,I am up to 17.291 as of March. Before this drug I was in horrible, horrible pain and strung out on oxicontin and percs, huge doses every day and suffered not only with pain but withdrawals running out too soon etc., you've heard those stories. I've only been getting 1/2 mic increase per day recently and close to having to stop increases. They say you don't acclimate to the drug, but you do acclimate to the side effects to a point, take it slow enough and you can avoid side effects entirely.Any of you thinking about having a pump installed and trying this, especially those strung out on opiates,GET ONE at all costs. Suboxone will detox U WITHOUT any side effects what so ever. You have to be under psyc care for this prescript but well worth it. Y'all suffering for no reason, while not(and never will be)totally pain free, not by a long shot, it is tolerable. The burning pain was worst, like pouring boiling grease on your legs and just sitting there, trying to think, or do any thing at all. I was thinking of ways to off myself, now just regret all the living I could have been doing. No ones fault,this is a Great drug, no high's, no drunken feeling, just some pain relieving miracle, brought to you by a little cone snail in the Philippines, and an intrathecal pump. And that big needle every 2-3 months for refills.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chronicpainggrl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2011
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not tried this BUT PLEASE report these side effects to the FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088. Unless you do this nothing will be done with this drug, nothing will get done just by posting on here but helping others, you want it off the market, tell the FDA!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carrriej | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2011
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was a nightmare. It not only caused mental health issues, but caused neurological issues and increased pain. I had adhesive arachnoiditis and the side effects that Prialt was causing was believed to be my diagnosis until I went off Prialt. Caused nereve pain, loss of function from waist down(including bladder, bowel, and loss of feeling in leggs). I am now doing great with another medication and feel that I lost 3 years of my life do to this drug. I curious if there has been any studies to the effects of Prialt on dental and eye health. Both have severely been affected in a short time, and I suspect Prialt may be connected. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rnomore | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2011
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine should be taken off the market! You can go psychotic while on it. Also, it seems most of the reviews from this and prialt (the same thing )many people have side effects of going crazy, severe memory loss, mania and suicidal thoughts... in which I wonder if there has been death related suicide due to this horrible stuff. I will never recommend or go on this medication again and I hope I don't have permanent memory loss from it! I'm sure a class action law suit is in effect because of this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rsds2hrd4me | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/26/2009
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently receiving Prialt(ziconotide) in implant pump for RSD/CRPS full body. I can not distinguish the effectiveness of this medication because of my RSD progression and sensitivities to opoids given for breakthrough pain. The mental changes have been most tramatic/dramatic since initial dosing. While I am funtional I suffer great memory loss, confusion, anger and depression.. For this reason I DO NOT recommend use of this med without strict discplinary psychiatric evaluations and intervention. I was told of the symptomatic paralysis in case of overdosing and that it would wear off. I was told jokingly that prialt could make me crazy..I smiled confusingly and commented, "it can't be as bad as RSD" and the PM laughed that day. Today I cried. My miracle snail has poisoned my mind and that doesn't go away.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mdelicato | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2009
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used this drug, I'm looking for the type of treatment this drug will do for me. My insurance company, BCN, wants to send me to Cleveland Clinic for a trial in it's use due to the failure of many drugs and procedures I've undergone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More