Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have been having severe stomach issues - cramping, acid reflux, unexplained rapid weight loss, and completely unpredictable diarrhea - for months now. I was tested for a variety of conditions, and even had a colonoscopy, but all the tests came back negative/normal. My doctor decided I must be having a serious bout of IBS and prescribed this medication. I've only been taking it a few days, and it...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have IBS. So far symax has worked pretty well. I would like something to handle the pain associated w/ IBS and stomach crampings/gas.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/20/2020
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Basically taking this drug for IBS. Like the previous drug before, this hasn’t really done any good for me. Hope others are getting relief at least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bridget | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello, I have been taking this for a couple months and it really really works, I have gastritis and kink in colon. I have lots of pain if I get upset or overly excited. doc told me to take it 2 times a day. I had to go down to 1 because really bad dry mouth and sleepy. I work and need to be alert, so I take 1 a day as doc told me to. I went on a surprise vacation didnt know where we were going untill we got there wow amazing and that morning waking after breakfast and bike ride , got back to the condo and started throwing up and going to bathroom at same time...:| it would not stop, The person I was with is a doctor he was going to take me to the ER! I told him I will take this, if it does not respond then lets go. After taking 1 and it staying down and laying down for 20 min I was better. That night I was good enough to go swimming and the vacation time was saved by symax! I will not leave home without it:) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had painful GI spasms after an appendectomy and this drug took away all of my pain. Fabulous drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/1/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My GI doctor prescribed Symax Duotabs for irritable colon. I have had trouble for many years with my stomach, incuding IBS with constipation. Symax has reduced the spasms and some of the pain, but I also have many of the side effects: trouble sleeping, blurry vision, dizziness, dry mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having severe stomach issues - cramping, acid reflux, unexplained rapid weight loss, and completely unpredictable diarrhea - for months now. I was tested for a variety of conditions, and even had a colonoscopy, but all the tests came back negative/normal. My doctor decided I must be having a serious bout of IBS and prescribed this medication. I've only been taking it a few days, and it's already made a huge difference! I have had mild dry mouth, and some mild drowsiness and light-headedness, but the benefits have far outweighed those minor annoyances. I had been starting to dread the fantastic anniversary vacation my husband and I had been planning all year, but I feel confident now that I'll be able to go and really enjoy myself without any (or with very few) stomach problems. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/7/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/7/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS sometimes sever, at the first sign I take this and the problems are gone. It does make me drowsy but that is mild I have used this as need for the last 5 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vltaylor | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/26/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been the only medicine that has helped my IBS. Just found out they are taking it off the market. I don't know what i am going to do now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gym regular | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had IBS moderate to severe for over a year almost daily; this is the first effective treatment; I can tolerate the dry mouth better than the IBS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wobba | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for edema in my chest, helps dry me out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
symaxisbad | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with crohns disease and my doctor prescribed this medication to me, after taking it for 5 days i ended up in the hospital for three days with bladder retentions, this medication made me feel horible!!! i would never recomend this to anyone, i feel worse now than i have since i was dignosed with crohns and noone would give me answers why i was so sick, they just kept telling me they didnt know why!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
landman | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/8/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a God send for me. I suffered from cramping, bloating, chronic diarrhea condition. This pretty much got me back to 90% normal. Taken 2 times daily with double dose of sugar free fiber supplement I purchase at Walmart.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jersey_Devil | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS and this drug has helped alleviate the symptoms. It's harder to urinate and causes slight constipation. Also vision is not 100% but I have had no problems with dry mouth. And overall the relief that it provides make the side effects worth bearing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried two other medications for IBS, but neither were effective. Symax is working! I no longer have to worry about as much gas. Have much less bloating. And my colon does not go into sudden spasms as often. Has definately eased the pain when there are spasms. Overall a decent treatment for me. Only drawback is dry eyes and mouth about 30 minutes after taking it. So drink plenty of water with each dose! Also gives me soar throat for the first few days each time I start taking it. Small annoyances are nothing compared to the relief this medicine provides!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have relatively severe IBS and this medication is the most effective I've taken. I take it as needed and at the very first sign a problem begins. It's been a blessing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kenny | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/1/2008
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other then a dry mouth I experience no problems taking this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
runner | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/18/2008
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horrible headaches, dry mouth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pain in the right upper quadurant of the stomach. Its not my gallbladder or an ulcer so my GI dr recommended Symax. Now the LEFT side of my stomach hurts. Its better without this medication. It also gave me dry mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More