Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

I was on the shot a few years ago...never had any problems no bleeding that lasted for months nothing....I got off of it and had my 3rd son and then got back on it....I never did lose all my baby weight and by being on the shot now seems like I'm having the hardest time ever to lose a pound. Of course mydoctor told me thatif I can control my urges I will not have a problem with gaining any weight....

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This medication made me lose weight substantially anorexically and depression set in plus affected my nervous system and mild zeisures came with this medication and hot flashes...it affected me psychologically..it made have periods periodically so i will stop after one dosage of 3 months..

Shared reviews and ratings

Caslew | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/20/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All in all it has been a good source of birth control. The only downside for me is weight gain and likeppl said before it's on you not the drug and I've been on it a year and 4 months and have a period Everytime for at least two straight weeks but this is the only one I would consider.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
feliciam1987 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2013
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the depo works great I have endo and have no pain while on it have not had problems with weight gain either and moderate moodiness my only problem with it is the acne o its so horrible never broke out before now I look like the before of a proactive commercial I could cry.. no pain but ugh my face

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made me lose weight substantially anorexically and depression set in plus affected my nervous system and mild zeisures came with this medication and hot flashes...it affected me psychologically..it made have periods periodically so i will stop after one dosage of 3 months..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn Davis-Lenoir | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/27/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is nice that I don't have to worry about taking a pill everyday.....BUT I had mood swings when I was near that time of the month! It is not worth my sanity!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
w.k. | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/19/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Was on this medication for about 9 maybe 10 months and i didnt like it at all. i was moody all the time. and i gained so much weight.. i started eating less, but i felt bloated and hungry all the time. and i just felt everything i would eat i gained weight. i constantly bled for 9months straight on the shot. i personally did not like the depo provera, and will never get it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meganm | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/14/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this contraceptive because my period lasted for for 13 months and I think its the best birth control out there!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cajuntink | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/13/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this birth control method. I feel great i have no problems wit it and it works. sure, yeah you'll gain a little weight but thats your responsiblity to keep your weight down dont blame the drug. and i barely have a period which is what i love most and the fact i cant get pregnant(but always use condoms no matter what). Otherwise its a great drug, use it. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the shot a few years ago...never had any problems no bleeding that lasted for months nothing....I got off of it and had my 3rd son and then got back on it....I never did lose all my baby weight and by being on the shot now seems like I'm having the hardest time ever to lose a pound. Of course mydoctor told me thatif I can control my urges I will not have a problem with gaining any weight. Gotta learn self control....Other then that I love it!!! I do ge my period around the week before my next shot it's not heavt at all and lats for about 3 days....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had horrible mood swings a constant heavy flow period for 4 weeks straight and the cramps were not worth the convience...dont do it girls!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one dose of this, which lasts for three months. In the last three months I have had more problems than ever before. I have had major emotional/mood swings, acne problems and breakthrough bleeding that has lasted over 35 days. I called my dr. after a month and a half and demanded to be put on something different. I will never again use a drug that lasts for three months and I have no control over! Do Not Use This!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/14/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for 10 years. I only stopped because my husdand has ED with no real help in sight in the near future. I had no periods for 10 years. I loved it. I could not justify spending to money any more. I never thought about it ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ultrasound | 35-44 | Female | Patient
5/31/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

switched from lybrel to depo.spotted for two weeks. nothing major. haven't had any side effects. this drug affects everybody differently as with any drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried this a few years ago. Spotted for the whole three months. NEVER again will I try something I can't stop at will...you can't take the injection back out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/28/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More