Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

49 People found this comment helpful

I have been suffering from chronic pain and nerve damage in my groin for three years. I have had 4 surgeries and going on my 5th. I have been on all kinds of narcotics and nerve medications and nothing has touched the pain. After some research I found out about MARINOL and I've been taking it for about 3 months. It's pretty much been a maricle drug i can get through a day pretty much pain free i...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Does reduce some inflammation and pain, It does give you gas and some bloating, the worst thing its man made. I prefer to use medical marijuana as its organic and without chemicals. I do not trust the FDA or AMA they are connected to the government and illuminate.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jay Zee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have neck/back pain and blind in my left eye due to a car accident when I was 17 years old. Also, I have sleep apnea and have been on and off of many medications including smoking marijuana on a daily basis to control the pain. Oxycodone 5mg which I break in half depending on the level of pain up to 4 times a day. Sometimes I take 2.5mg of valium to help with muscle aches and pain. After taking 10mg once a day of Marinol for 2 weeks I have completely stopped smoking marijuana and cut in half all the other medications including over the counter stuff. It is different and I don't get the really high feeling but just relaxing and calm. Really helps with the muscle spasms and overall constant pain and lasts almost all day long. This has really been a life-changing drug for me. I do believe I will ask to get the 5mg dose so I can take it twice a day to balance it out. It may not be good for everyone but it is working for me. I have had sleep apnea for 30 years and use CPAP nightly. Never have I had sleep like this I actually went into REM sleeping and dreaming. I have not dreamed in years because I never reached REM sleep. I feel so much better in the mornings and all day just because I was able to sleep all night. Absolute the best medication I have ever been on period! I hope this helps everyone as this is the truth it works for me. More Doctors need to give this a try on their patients for sure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ari | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2019
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While undergoing chemotherapy for Triple Negative breast cancer, I had a lot of nausea. I wasn't able to take Zofran, because my potassium would drop below normal levels which led to a trip to the hospital. At the suggestion of one of my other doctors, the oncologist agreed to prescribe Marinol and it stopped the nausea. For any of you who have had success with Marinol, but can't afford it, conduct a search for prescription assistance programs and/or locate and contact the makers of Marinol to see if they have a program to assist qualifying patients with medication. Another thing you may want to consider is learning what the law is in your state about low thc CBD oil. If there is a state program, look into it, because depending where you live, you might be able to get it with no problems. Look for anything dealing with Low THC CBD oil, with a THC amount of approximately 5%,or whatever your state allows. Hopefully, this will help some of you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2016
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helps with the pain very much. sleep iseasier. Ovall, more then satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Battling ALS. This drug coupled with the only approved drug to treat ALS, Riluzole. Has I feel been of great service. Kept the appetite up...the depression down. Given me much more time to make ready. And look for a great place that has easy to eat and swallow Burgers....would love to have a burger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UsedToSmokePot | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been under Pain Management for 18 years as a result of a neck surgery gone bad. Although I have been prescribed MANY narcotics over the years, the most effective and least incapacitating treatment - hydrocodone & marijuana. I no longer smoke pot & find dorabanol (sic) an acceptable (though not NEARLY as effective) substitute. There needs to be more research on the pain relieving properties of marijuana - not just THC. There are many other elements in marijuana that will prove to have as many if not more uses than just THC. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patti | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic pain in my eye due to shingles has been a real struggle for me for about 10 years and Crohn's Disease for about 30 years. Tried all kinds of treatments, drugs, cognitive, meditation, healer... Finally my constant nausea has improved, eye pain is less. Also on the Butrans patch (10mg). Pain management doctor was the one that helped me. I take 2.5mg 4 times a day to keep the level of medication steady. So fat so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drkain | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic migraine & associated neck pain GONE thru marinol's decrease in very high blood pressure (165/110 down to 130/85). WARNING: Machine-measured BP needed if no history of hypertension. No side effects. More active, better sleep, mood stabler, stopped 2 benzo's. Lowest dose every 6 hours. Note: other BP medicine categories caused me migraines & did not drop BP. I am PhD scientist. Neurologist & I reluctantly tried it just to get rid of pain after I asked about marijuana & migraines (no scientific proof). Both surprised by results. As a scientist, I do not recommend for migraines unless history of machine-measured high BP (or high intercranial pressure). For researchers: I suspected problem with overall BP control system as I have zero risk factors (familial, weight, exercise, diet, sodium, etc), over 10 yrs data, eval by Mayo & Cleveland Clinic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FAITH | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/30/2014
Condition: Increased Hunger
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication save my mothers life. She had become anorexic after a Whipple surgery gone wrong, she went from a healthy woman 165 pounds to 102 pounds. It was a long road, my bother started giving her mariguana to smoke and it worked for a while but even that was failing, she lost all muscle mass and started retaining water due to severe nourishment, she ended in the hospital for a month and had to be tube fed, I was really afraid my mother would not come out of the hospital alive but after a lot of talks with the doctors and a lot of faith in the one above they gave my mother this little pill that has her asking for food five time a day, shes eating meat which was stranged to her for the last two years, lost the 30 pounds of water that kept her from being able to walk or even move in her own bed, she is gaining her healthy weight back,and now she is able to walk around the block thing I though would not be possible again. JUST TRY IT AND YOU WILL SEE Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
derell jordan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/3/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite with HIV
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

keeps me from being sick after chemo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uol | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps severe chronic migraine pain and nausea. Reduces PTSD symptoms and increases comfort in social situations. Restores creativity and logical thinking. Clears fog of depression and focuses mind to task at hand. Driving has become easier. Some anxiety symptoms when first adjusting to dosage, which clear after two to four weeks. Improve appetite and weight. Use with caution when driving or using power equipment while adjusting to comfortable dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
proud Mary | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have rheumatoid arthritis, and have been in chronic pain for years, especially my feet. When taking marinol I have no pain at all !!!! This is the first prescription without serious side effects that I have taken. It is a wonderful feeling to be pain free!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rtrupp | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite with HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marinol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

kills cancer tumors cells

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall Feeling of satisfaction and contentment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2013
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after taking marinol for about a week I am experiencing a great deal of nausea to the point for dreding the take the marinol. I'm hoping these will disappear as my body adjusts. Any chance of this happening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gdmenta15 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rapid weight loss with no appetite in 5 months. Helped me gain my weight back. I don't look anorexic any longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this for depression Works great !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2013
Condition: Increased Hunger
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Slight appetite increase. Problems I've noticed are pain in calves, and ankles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2013
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More