Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

Seriously my savor. So many great things about it! Havent had any complaints yet. Until this pill my annoying mild acne would just not give! This pill cleared my face right up and now i dont ever wanna go off! Ha. Also ladies...boobs! Gives u a little extra somethin somethin and doesnt come with the horrible painful tenderness. No nausea, bloating, headaches, mood swings... Seriously a little mira...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

The dr. put me on kelnor to regulate my periods.

Shared reviews and ratings

Causes Dryness! | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control does what it’s supposed to, and has also tremendously cleared up my skin. However, after about a year taking this pill, I am extremely DRY down there. It is the most frustrating thing especially since I’m only 21 years old. My libido went down, and sex was painful because of how dry I am. I’ve never had this problem before. Now, i’m scared to get off of it because the acne will come back. Not worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/23/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven’t had any side effects with this pill other than it completely stopping my period. I spot here and there but other than that, it’s been super effective for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective. However terrible anxiety and mood swings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Veronica Berrong | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had such bad periods! I was on this pill for about 5 years and then switched to another and had to come back to this pill. I swear by this pill. No acne, no bloating, no problems. Also made my boobs bigger haha. Only side effect was more emotional but I’m already very emotional so nothing new to me. 1000000/10 recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelnor 1/35 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for a week, the third day until the 7th I was waking up sweating with heart palpitations, I was taking it in the night. I also had extreme dryness down there. Stop on the. 8th day and when I woke up I didn’t wake up with any problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brynn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/21/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first I was given tri lo sprintec which made me break out like crazy and since I have been on Kelnor for over a year now my skin has been a lot better. Only breaking out on my period. Only thing is I am definitly more emotional now and cry more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artemis719 | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/22/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on birth control pills since I was 20, Iâ??m now 31 so Iâ??m on my 11th year of taking the Pill; Zovia was the only brand of birth control pill I ever took..I started on zovia 1/50 in 2010, took that for about 9 years with no issues whatsoever. It helped my skin and reduced my excessive hair growth, I was diagnosed with Congenital adrenal hyperplasia and the higher estrogen helped me feel more like a real woman!! I loved Zovia 1/50. About 2 years ago I began getting headaches on the 50mcg so my gynecologist decreased the dosage to kelnor 1/35 (they discontinued Zovia 1/35). I liked kelnor 1/35 (no side effects and my body adjusted well to the decrease in estrogen) until recently Iâ??ve begun getting â??menstrual crampsâ? without any bleeding even on active pills. So I basically live my life in discomfort and take Advil to help me sleep at night so the cramps donâ??t keep me awake. I talked to my GYN she said when youâ??ve been on the same Pill for 11 years that can happen (my body is too used to the hormones and I need a change of Pill.) thatâ??s why I have cramps with no bleeding (I basically ovulated) on active pills. This pill has been great for a decade but unfortunately itâ??s not effective for me anymore. My GYN is switching me to the pill brand Apri. If you take one kind of Pill and get too attached to it itâ??s normal for it to begin causing side effects!! If I could stay on Zovia/Kelnor I totally would!! Itâ??s a great Pill!! It saved my life for the entire duration of my 20â??s!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ber | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/27/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is horrible! I’ve never been sick when taking birth control and this stuff is terrible. I take it at night but still feel horrible the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hayday019 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kelnor 1/35 has all together stopped my periods after 3 months of consecutive use. Before they stopped they were very light and I never experienced the extremely painful cramps I had before using. One thing is, I cry a lot more now that I started this pill. Haven’t experienced any weight gain from this pill, I only get acne around the time i would Usually get my period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/16/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 21 years old, and I’ve been taking kelnor for I wanna say about a year. I feel fine, no clotting experiences. No migraines. I don’t think this is the reason for some weight gain I’ve had, that’s probably just me haha. Can’t really complain about this pill. I’m not pregnant so I think it’s working lol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickermoo5509 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started using Kelnor I noticed that my breast would stay very sore at times and very itchy. I also had horrible headches later on, about 4 months, using Kelnor. Last week I experienced pain, swelling, and redness in my left leg that spread from my knee to my inner thigh. Turns out Kelnor made me develop a blood clot. I have stopped taking it right away. I would not recommend this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from sprintec to kelnor because i2ad having vaginal dryness and pain with sex. Two weeks after starting I was hospitalized due to a stroke from a clot in my brain. I've been taking birth control for aw years and have never had issues with clots until now. I think this birth control is dangerous. FYI if you're someone who gets migraines with auras, you have an increased risk for having a stroke with estrogen supplements. Stick to progesterone only.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Kelnor for 3 months now and I rate it a 6. I used to be on Zovia for 7 years with no issues until the Manufacturer changed from Watson to Mayne. Re: Zovia the packet used to be pink and now it is blue. The Zovia pills manufactured by Mayne caused daily acne and I stopped taking after 5 days. Now I’m on Kelnor, which causes small bumps that clear up for a few days and then reappear in various locations on my face. With the Zovia pink packet my period lasted 4 days. On Kelnor my period last about 8 days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hospitalized because of this birth control. I do not recommend anyone takes it! After 3 weeks/a month of taking Kelnor, I experienced severe fatigue, malaise, near syncope, vomiting, diarrhea, and shortness of breath. I know it does not affect everyone this way, but if you start to feel any of these symptoms, it is most likely Kelnor that is causing it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chyann | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got switched to Kelnor from Sprintec. This is my third month taking the pills and my mood swings are terrible. I've also gained weight in my midsection even though I exercise regularly. This birth control has given me acne, breast pain/growth, moodiness, and I've missed periods. Tired of having to take pregnancy tests to make sure I'm not pregnant because of all of these stupid side affects. I want off of Kelnor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SmaeB | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/11/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kelnor has been my miracle pill. I would get a bad migraine every month right before my period and it would last through almost the end of my period. Within three months of taking this birth control, the migraines disappeared. I have a couple pounds of weight gain, but it feels like it's all in my boobs. Acne improved too. The only real side effect is that I cry more easily now. Still worth it to be able to function without the killer migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mollywantstoknow | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/15/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kelnor was an absolute nightmare for me. I had been using another brand that right now I can't remember and decided to switch, my gyno put me on Kelnor and I took it and went out to the bar with my boyfriend at the time. I was feeling a lot of discomfort and then started bleeding at the bar. We went home and I laid crunched over with severe lower abdominal pain in bed the next morning. I called my doctor and they had told me that it was normal and that I needed to adjust to it. I took Kelnor for 6 months and bled 3 weeks out of four every month. This was last year my weight had spiked to 230 from 180. I constantly felt lethargic on this medicine, I was moody, and had anxiety attacks. I stayed on the birth control until my boyfriend at the time and I broke up (last December) Since last December when I stopped taking Kelnor I went from 230 to now 150. I am VERY turned off from birth control pills because of this experience and now in a situation where I need a form of birth control but not wanting to have this horrible side effects especially the weight gain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aysia :) | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/17/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ran across this thread because I was just curious about my placebo pill "Kelnor" I actually take Sprintec. I did notice some reviews that said they have gained weight while taking just Kelnor and I can relate because when I'm taking Kelnor for my placebo week I have quite the appetite. I mean HUNGRY all the time and I gain weight that week. As for Sprintec however I have managed to lose 30 pounds so I don't see the little weight I gain from the placebo Kelnor as a loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for a few months now, and I've definitely experienced weight gain in the stomach area. It cleared up most of my acne, but I still do get pimples. My boobs grew. Around the 3rd month I started to get really sad for no reason. I really want to stop taking this pill because of the weight gain, but I like that my period is only a couple days long. I'm also annoyed that I still get acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Siobhan | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on kelnor to get rid of my acne. I've been on it for four months now and I've experienced weight gain, mood changes, constipation and hair loss. I did notice and improvement in my acme but it hasn't gone away and ive decided to stop taking this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More