Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

Truly a "miracle drug." Have used it for thirty years due to Crohn's disease with short-bowel syndrome. As for the cost, contact the manufacturer: Marathon Pharmaceuticals for assistance --- get the contact information from the "Oley Foundation" [excellent non-profit ogranization in Albany, NY serving patients and families who need to supplement their nutrition via intravenous and/or other means ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

nerve pain

Shared reviews and ratings

Ang Chris | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have short bowel SYNDROME w no gall bladder and a high output ileostomy plus HIV. I've been using this for 12 years now and it has been what has kept me out of the hospital quarterly for dehydration. I also take lomotil, imodium, and octreotide injections for my extremely high output. It's a LOT I know but it's better than spending a week in hospital every couple of months trying to avoid kidney failure as well. It's getting harder to find a provider as chain pharmacies no longer can order tho so get contact info and any assistance with cost from your doctor if prescribes for you. Give your body time to adjust to the groggy feelings as they do fade with time. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Col. | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/25/2020
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this saved my life. Dea is making things so hard for doctors to prescribe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2017
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After suffering for years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lostom1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2016
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take HIV meds and this is the only thing that works for my diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
llc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2014
Condition: Diarrhea caused by Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm allergic to most anti-diarrhea medication so was pleased that this one worked so well. They are not kidding when they warn you not to drive. It plays havoc with my perception.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poopoo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2012
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medication for Crohns disease and it is a miracle medication. After 12 years nothing has worked but this. It's disgusting but oj hides the taste well. Truly the most amazing med. I'm off pain pills and finally have a life! My kids are so happy to have mom back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/28/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jayman | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/4/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before using tincture of opium I used lomotil which did not stop the many and frequent blast outs of diaharia.It works very well for me. I did not like the horrible taste of it in water so I put my 3 drops into a gelitin capsule and swollowed with water eliminating the contact with the tongue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
craig | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/2/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nerve pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pixiedust | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from 20 + BMs a day to 2-4. I can finally live my life! Tastes best with Arizona tea with lemon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | Patient
4/4/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it keeps my backside from hurting..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerri1031 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/5/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Truly a "miracle drug." Have used it for thirty years due to Crohn's disease with short-bowel syndrome. As for the cost, contact the manufacturer: Marathon Pharmaceuticals for assistance --- get the contact information from the "Oley Foundation" [excellent non-profit ogranization in Albany, NY serving patients and families who need to supplement their nutrition via intravenous and/or other means of non-food supplementation. Phone number for Oley Foundation: 518-262-5079] - Just ask the Oley Foundation for the contact information at Marathon Pharmaceuticals for assistance in regards to paying for the tincture of opium. Keep the faith & may God bless all of you! -- "Jerri1031"Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this drug for severe diarrhea following Gastric Bypass surgery. My surgeon thought my problem was my gallbladder and removed it, but it didn't help. Was taking up to 20 Lomotil pills a day and Percocet for pain. Would be late for work because of having to stop to use the restroom 3-4 times on my 20 minute drive from home. Went through several different meds before doc tried this. I am estatic! No more accidents or nasty gas station bathrooms. Still have problems here and there, but nothing like before. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BettyBoop1950 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering for over 15 years with bowel incontinance, colorectal cancer in 1994 taking a large section of the large colon, bowel obstruction in 2009 taking a large section of my small intestin. I have taken every drug known to man during all of this, both perscribed & OTC, I was living on boxes Imodium AD & Lomitil. Last Dec 2009 I was rushed to the hospital with sever dydration and low potassium from all the chronic diarrhea not mention the 98 pounds lost in 7 months, I was hopitalized for 4 days and was put on Opium Tincture, the taste is so nasty but you get used to it, this actually started to slow the diarrhea down. It was working really well and I was able to leave my house without wearing a depend diaper, but this past week the chronic diarrhea has return and the opium is not slowing it down as well as it has been. Also the cost is outragious, it is shamefull that the only drug that helps people with this disability has to cost an arm and a leg. Not having medical Ins. it cost me over 300.00 for one small bottle, so I feel for the people who can not afford this and have to still live in a horrible amount of pain and are a prisoner in their own homes cause they can not go out with out having a major attack of diarrhea, you have no warning at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dugiedog | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/24/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had colitis for 40 years. It got much worse after radiation for uterine cancer. Diarrhea at least 30 times in a 24 hr period.I have been taking this drug for almost 10 years. I tried everything before my doctor tried this one. Finally I have relief. Diarrhea still breaks thru every couple of months for days then I get it back under control. I now take about .4 ml approx 8 to 10 times a day. Works much better than a few larger doses. I take it in the morning when I wake up, at night before I go to bed and before and after every meal. Also in the middle of the night if I can't get it under control. I wouldn't be able to leave my house without this. Its wonderful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jboyle10 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
james2 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/7/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this after having the J-pouch surgery for colitis after my small intestine was removed. Tried the over the counter stuff without any success till a partner of the Dr. I was seeing prescribed the tincture of opium. Helped a lot more than anything else and made daily living manageable. Never really stopped the diarrhea but slowed it a good amount. Used it for 6-7 years daily at a fairly high dosage. Stopped recently due to addiction/cost, sort of wish it wasn't necessary but the addiction/dependance was a drag...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Ulcerative Colitis for 8 years. I've been through high doses of prednisone and been hospitalized for weeks on an IV. I have had to use up to 50(fifty) Imodium pills per day and than went to lomotil(prescription) and took 4x the amount my G.I. specialist prescribed. I was always dehydrated(feels like the flu) with muscle pain and fever. Tincture of Opium .06ml 4x a day is a miracle. I am totally normal and there is no 'high'. It is an extracted part of opium I believe. I had 50 bm's a day, now one!!!!! maybe 2. Feel great, no noticable side effects. I did have to up the dose fron .06 3x per day to 4x per day. Sometimes I will take 1ml 2x a day and I'm good. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flo | 75 or over | Female | Patient
6/3/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My excessive diarrhea resulted from surgery to remove part of small intestines. Surgeons did not give me anything to help my situation. My primary physician prescribed Opium Tincture which helped my problem considerably.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sporttrack | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/31/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has helped me immensely. However, the cost has increased by more than 500%!!! In 2008 the retail cost was $91.43 for 140 ml...in 2009 the retain went up to $552.57 for 140 ml. This is unconscionable. Cannot something be done to reduce the cost of this effective medication?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More