Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

141 People found this comment helpful

Hi....I have been on Lyrica 200mg 3xday for 3 months now....at first, I experienced all the same side effects I am reading about in further posts here....bllurry vision, WEIGHT GAIN - Uggghhh!....confusion, appearing drunk, severe confusion, memory loss, etc. BUT.....the reason I made this post is to share that now, in the end of my 3rd month of treatment, almost ALL has gone away, including the W...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

i am addicted to this pills and would like some one to be brought to task for this as this is called pregabline or gabapentin in UK it dangerous it can cause you to try to kill or self harm more fact as am ion I am hoping to get off it asap as I am not happy with the weight gain the inn fact the whole drug is nasty as well as it made me look like over weigh...

Shared reviews and ratings

JoAnn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/24/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 10 years for neuropathy in my feet (not caused by diabetes). This is a miracle drug. My pain level has gone from a 10 to 0. However, the side effects are not pleasant. I can live with the side effects. I can't live with the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kmo1418 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/21/2023
Condition: Nerve Pain from Spinal Cord Injury
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lyrica 100mg for around 7 years. It was originally prescribed due to depression. Over that time period I also developed neuropathic pain in my face, back, and arm (all one-sided). About 3 months ago, I decided to try tapering off Lyrica as I didn't feel it was treating my depression adequately anymore. Tapering down was HARD...I had to go by tiny increments over periods of weeks and months. I guess I wasn't too shocked because I had experienced terrible withdrawls from Cymbalta, and had taken it for a short period of time. When I got to 25 mg, I noticed a sharp increase in my nerve pain. I wasn't sure if it was coincidental or not (and probably nobody is because our bodies all work differently)....but I decided the strong correlation was worth me edging back up to see what happened. After two days back at 50 mg, there is some reduction of pain. So, maybe it wasn't the perfect script for me for depression (as it has been for others), but I am starting to think it was improving my neuro pain more than I even knew. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2013 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/17/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking care of a patient who was taking lyrica for fibromyalgia and it was the only medication that helped with the pain. However, after taking the medication for years, she began to have these conditions that were never fully diagnosed but were labelled as something between a "non-epileptic seizure and a state of psychosis." She was observed for well over two years before we were able to correlate the episodes with some of the side effects of her medication and since then she has had no issues. It was unfortunate because the Lyrica was the only medicine that helped with her severe fibromyalgia pain, she developed a dependency on it and it was difficult for her to come off of it but if she hadn't, neither I nor her loved ones know if she would be alive today. Please be careful taking and prescribing this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marion Gregg | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug had very adverse effect on me. Extremely weak on legs,could not walk without legs buckling resulting in me falling 3 x onenight.. Depression extreme and drowsy. Some difficulty in talking No.more for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DisneyCate | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im an Epileptic and have chronic nerve pain. This med has been a life changer. My pain level has gone down and my seizures are under better control(also being used with two other seizure meds.) This was an add on for seizure control and so far its made a huge difference!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mariya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking prescription medication for chronic pelvic pain. a week later I had symptoms of polyneuropathy all over my body. Half a year has passed, but I still suffer from pain in the limbs and on my face. the pain is like an electric shock. a very dangerous drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prudence | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this after my BPD and Bipolar Disorder acted up real bad to the point my partner couldn't leave the house without me having severe symptoms at home. It became unbearable for me so I tried Lyrica - worked wonders! I don't worry as much as I used to, I've started hanging out with friends again, I am just a happier human being and feel much more like myself by now. Still, I've been experiencing side effects such as confusion and blurry vision, but nothing I wouldn't sacrifice for mental stability. I'm on 100mg three times a day. It's just the very beginning for me but I have high hopes and am pretty sure I'm finally on my way to fewer symptoms of my disorders! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tryin2behappy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: Diabetic Complication causing Injury to some Body Nerves
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 46 yr old male with fairly severe nerve pain in my feet and hands from diabetes as well as bouts of gout. I'm taking 75 mg 2xday now for about a year. It does give me a moderate amount of relief for the throbbing pain but not the shock type pains. I have to see about increasing but am scared of side effects and to be honest, I have had an addiction to opiates about 15 years ago and am afraid of getting addicted to Lyrica. I've been very careful at making sure I have not taken more than prescribed! I have had some side effects that seem to subsided to a degree. I have experienced weight gain but I've also been thru a lot of depression relating to my personal life so it's hard to say exactly why. Diabetes also adds to my desire to eat sweets which I try my hardest to control. I also have noticed a decrease in libido, which again diabetes does as do other meds I take so it wouldn't be fair to blame Lyrica directly. Overall I think the medication can help to a degree but definitely not a cure all or if you suffer from an opioid misuse disorder, please be honest with your doctor and be honest with yourself while monitoring and taking this medicine. Good luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AG | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Acute Pain Following an Operation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been given this after 2 unsuccessful spinal operations . But have been experiencing lots of nerve pain and they increased my dose of 225mg a day, I take one in the morning and 2 at night and my pain still here.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JosieML | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain from Spinal Cord Injury
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was advised to take one pill, then two if one did not work and then max at three. One did nothing, two did not reduce the pain but I felt like I had a hangover the next day along with a migraine headache. I tried three = good for pain but horrible hangover and disorientation the next day and one half. I felt like I was losing my mind. This was a HORRIBLE option for my nerve and arthritis pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped with tendinitis pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blossom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's a dangerous pill.i was walking into walls and just everything.when it was offered to my elderly mum...no way.. all you want to do is eat the weight game was so bad..lyrics should definatly be banned world wide..if a little child got this I don't know if they would survive.evil pill..get rid of it for good.one more thing it causes terrible mental problems .depression. suicidel thoughts.no it's got to go..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain from Spinal Cord Injury
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 75mg at night to help ease nerve pain in my leg from a spinal stenosis. It provides around 6 hours of relief which enables me to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kris | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dx MS young age, after a car accident during COVID developed strange pain/swelling we still are in the process of figuring out but I do think lyrica has helped. I take 150mg+ plus baclofen, topamax, alpha drugs, modafinil. I have severe chronic fatigue which I've had basically my entire life but until the car accident it was manageable. At first lyrica gave me horrible swelling on top of what I had but now I do not notice. It does not affect my fatigue, I take 150mg in the morning in fact. It has made my mood better and I assume that has to do with less pain. I imagine if my energy levels were better I'd be a happy, normal, human being. I've been on so many drugs over the years I can stop and start anything without withdrawal. And I have no dependence on any drugs including opiates even after long term prescriptions. I know others who personally had mixed reviews about this medication but I like it better than topamax. I have virtually no side effects in comparison.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BMcK:-) | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found that this medication gives me approx 4 -5 hours of varied levels of pain relief. 2 hours of good pain relief 2 hours into the 4-5 hours. My anxiety is reduced. Reduced craving of smoking. The pins and needles remained the same. It's been 5 days and I have not noticed any bad side affects. I do plan on going to the doctor to up my dosage as I can still feel the sharp pains in my arm. Overall, it works and helping me with a number of issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Back and leg muscle spasm due to bulging disc, this product didn’t touch the pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SuicidalLyrica | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes suicidal thoughts! I've been on this for 10 years, I have gone from 75mg to 600mg a day. I can confirm that the drug causes suicidal thoughts and depression. I literally spend two hours a day thinking of ways I can end my life. I am aware that it's the drug so I am aware not to act on it, No previous history of depression or mental illness. It's definitely the medication. Be very careful. The drug works wonders for nerve pain. It also causes impotence & no more sex drive, gone. This is a genuine review and I warn all parents especially to inform your kids about the possibility of this symptom, the suicidal thoughts are intrusive and feel totally justified in my mind, but I can tell that it's just the medication, others may not realize this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GW | 65-74 | Male |
6/9/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain from Spinal Cord Injury
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using this for years works fair for what is wrong with my bad back and neuropathy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimberly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If it wasn’t for this medication I wouldn’t be able to walk due to severe neuropathy from diabetes and several foot surgeries. I take 200mg 3 times a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drc2022 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After stroke neuropathy pain. Was on another med and had become immune to it. I've been able to get relief of the pain. I'm on a lot of meds, I have had to be prescribed something for anxiety but I have had issues with depression and anxiety most of my life anyways. Lyrica has been so helpful but seems like I get used to the dose fairly quick. Most of the listed side effects are similar to most of the meds I also take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More