Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I was first prescribed Fosamax for osteopenia over 3 years ago, which I found irritating to my throat. I have been taking once-a-week Actonel for the past 2+ years with no apparent side effects. I also take 1500+ mg of calcium (500 mg 3 times per day) and I walk 30-60 min. 3 times a week. I have seen my bone mass increase to very close to normal levels. However, I am considering stopping the A...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

For a year I took once a week Actonel and it seemed to help with bone loss, but I got acid reflux. So Then I tried the once a month Boneva and got very sick. Took nothing for a year. Just took the low-dose once a day Actonel and have had severe stomach cramps since two hours after swallowing the pill.

Shared reviews and ratings

Actonel | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2011
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aching bones

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WebMD | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2010
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very satified, my last bone densitometry DEXA, shows an increase in my bones density, without any side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blossom55 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2009
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the drug for 2 doses 1 tablet one a week. The first week I was ok but the second week I ache from my waist up to my neck. I phone my Dr to tell her how I was feeling and she advised me to discontinue using this medication. I will never take it again. I ache for five days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/8/2008
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was first prescribed Fosamax for osteopenia over 3 years ago, which I found irritating to my throat. I have been taking once-a-week Actonel for the past 2+ years with no apparent side effects. I also take 1500+ mg of calcium (500 mg 3 times per day) and I walk 30-60 min. 3 times a week. I have seen my bone mass increase to very close to normal levels. However, I am considering stopping the Actonel due to concerns about jaw problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jayewo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/21/2008
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a year I took once a week Actonel and it seemed to help with bone loss, but I got acid reflux. So Then I tried the once a month Boneva and got very sick. Took nothing for a year. Just took the low-dose once a day Actonel and have had severe stomach cramps since two hours after swallowing the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doryann10 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/6/2008
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best thing about this medicine is that it is very easy to swallow. For someone like me, who cannot swallow large pills, this is a wonderful pill because of the size, nice and small.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/20/2008
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very unsatisfied with this medication based on the active pill only. I look forward to my morning coffee and once a week it is like torcher for me to have to take the medication. Not only am I very unhappy about not having my coffee when I get up once every week I also have to deal with the severe burning in my stomach for several hours, I also have to deal with the diarehea that I suffer with all day which only happens when I take the active pill. I have'nt informed my doctor because I'm afraid if I say anything the next medication the doctor tries on me will only be worse with the side effects. I've learned how to deal with the current side effects and I've chosen not to have to deal with another medication that could potentially be worse with the side effectsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2008
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hace experience after one year of taking this medication(actonel) bone and joint pain mostly on the right side of my body. my bone mass has increased. I rate this a 2 star.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More